We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could even stay to eat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crewe and Harpur
Ranked #1 of 2 Swarkestone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could even stay to eat!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I can't tell you much about this pub as we could not bear to stay after walking in and looking around. The place was quiet but looked like a bomb had hit it. Food all over the floor, staff with disgusting aprons and not even a smile. We opened our menus which were on our tables and they too were covered in sticky stuff and food! I just could not stay there any longer and made my boyfriend leave. We might give it another go at some point, not sure. It could have just been a very bad day!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessiesykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    35
    24
    16
    11
See reviews for
30
62
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I would like to say that the meal I had only last visit has put me of for life.. The chicken was barley cooked and swimming with oil my friends stake was overlooked and chips were cold.. The staff did all they could to ensure we were ok 100% for the service but it a shame that the food lets them down !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H_wakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stopped off here on a gorgeous sunny day after attending a bike rally nearby. Beautiful location for a beer garden with a river right next to it and a huge amount of Emperor dragonflies in lovely blues and greens for the nature lovers!
Huge grassy area for kids to play and you can take dogs in the beer garden too.
We ordered the prawn and steak salad and the bbq chicken which was gorgeous! The steak was huge too so you felt you got your moneys worth. Especially seeing as all meals were 241! :-D Service was good too considering it was busy. Im looking forward to going again next time im down that way. Its also an ideal stop off as its literally 2 mins off the A50 J3.
Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight rooms were good value. Large and plenty of facilities. 241 menu which is ok not great. But well worth it as rooms are great value including a good breakfast. Had a very nice weekend. Lady on breakfast was pleasant. Shame you have to cross the road to get into the garden little worrying with children.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

As with previous reviewers pub/hotel in great location especially on a sunny day.
Close to Donnington Park, only 10 minutes down country roads.
Accommodation was OK, with some road noise but was good value with nice breakfast.
Evening meals were usual pub chain type grub but good size portions especially the mixed grill. Chips were soggy though.
Staff friendly and helpful and as part of the Marstons beer group beer choice was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If you require a clean and functional bedroom at a competitive price, chain pub food with no frills, this is the place for you. The riverside setting with beer garden is the best attribute especially with sunny weather. Some bedrooms look out onto the busy road and traffic noise is unavoidable and can disturb a good nights sleep. I did not use the restaurant and went to nearby Repton instead. The staff at breakfast were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulJ367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borrowash, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Booked a table for twelve people for 18/4/14. Arrived at 2pm and were advised meals would be 40mins from order. When after an hour the kids' food arrived we thought "Okay, they're busy, it took a bit longer than planned". After about 5mins during which no more food had been served one of our group went to ask what was going on. This did bring the rest of the food to the table apart from my wife's meal, which they had "Forgotten, it'll be 5 minutes". 15 minutes later still no food so I went to try and sort it out. Meal was served pretty soon after this. The food when it finally arrived was not bad at all apart from the fact three had ordered steaks, none of which were cooked how they'd been ordered. Kids all ordered puddings which took and age to be served and after a 15 minute wait for coffees and teas we gave up and asked for the bill. The only up side was we were not charged for my wife's and my meals or any of the drinks we'd had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swarkestone
3.1 mi away
The Priest House by the River
The Priest House by the River
#5 of 7 in Castle Donington
734 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harpur's of Melbourne
Harpur's of Melbourne
#3 of 3 in Melbourne
163 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#1 of 3 in Melbourne
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
6.6 mi away
Hilton East Midlands Airport
Hilton East Midlands Airport
#2 of 7 in Castle Donington
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crewe and Harpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crewe and Harpur

Property: The Crewe and Harpur
Address: Woodshop Lane, Swarkestone DE73 7JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Swarkestone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swarkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Crewe and Harpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing