We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horsley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$93
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$83
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
$72
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveler rating
263
78
35
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
263
78
35
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teathe barnwedding receptionmr and mrswedding venuewedding photoswedding breakfastlooked stunningfantastic weddingevening buffetsconeslovely venuefor sunday lunchchampagne breakfastfunction roomvintage teabridal suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 395 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Haven't been here for a number of years and wasn't expecting a lot based on past experience, however was pretty impressed.
We were there for Sunday lunch which had a decent choice of meats (lamb, pork, and beef), and competitively priced considering the location. The starters were great as well, nice variety, and impeccable presentation.

The eating area itself is bright and quite airy, felt like a very large conservatory with plenty of space between tables, certainly didn't feel as though we were crammed in.

The only minor gripes were with the roast potatoes (not particularly crispy), and the fact that our empty starter plates were not cleared from the table before we started our main courses.

However, would recommend to other people, and am sure will visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jackburton30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks for contributing a review for Horsley Lodge and Im pleased we were a pleasent surprise.
As a restaurant now in our 23rd year, we are constantly evolving and hopefully improving both style and presentation. We are always trying new ways of serving and hope you will come back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

had a fab day everyhing went well ,food excellent room excellent had loads of great comments, we did advice our son to get married abroad to save all the both but you know what we were wrong this was the best wedding ever worth every last penny and we would recommend this venue to anyone nothing was too much trouble

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

I love this review, so much so i'll repeat your words
" this was the best wedding ever worth every last penny and we would recommend this venue to anyone nothing was too much trouble" just to make sure couples looking for a wedding venue come and view Horsley Lodge. Glad we made your day first class!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

recently had our wedding reception there. the staff were all very welcoming and could not do enough for us, they even opend early for us to start setting up our room! its in a lovely location with stunning scenery. the building and rooms are also of a high standard. would recomend for anyone to visit

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thanks Adam for the great review following your wedding here. The staff hope it was a day to remember and enjoyed looking after you and your guests
Enjoy married life together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here on an overnight stop off. Nice hotel and excellent cheerful staff when I arrived in the evening.
Room was comfortable, clean and peaceful.

Went for breakfast in the morning and was greeted by a lady on reception that looked like she hadn't smiled in a decade, why these people work front of house in a customer facing environment never ceases to amaze me.

Breakfast was nice but considering there were only 3 people in the room I'd expect service to be of a much higher standard, I wasn't offered a choice of eggs so I presume they can only fry them.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something quiet on a business trip as its tucked away miles from anywhere in nice surroundings and provided you don't mind the occasional grumpy host its ideal. For couples or families consider upgrading to a luxury cottage as the rooms are comfy but hardly inspiring.

I stayed here on a late deal, had I paid the rack rate I would have been disappointed and my feedback far more critical.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Sonnic55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

A pleasent stay, but it appears we did well to achieve 4/5 here from this senior contributer to this site. We are surprised to hear of the "grumpy receptionist" as all our staff are always very cheerful, even early in the morning.
The breakfast menu offers eggs cooked to your choosing along with eggs benedict and harlequin, so we don't just fry. However, a pleasant stay Im glad you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just had our third meal in a few months at the highlander restaurant in the last few months and it was superb. The quality of the food, service and surrounds are faultless. I am fed up of going to local pubs serving microwave and frozen food with poor service at a price that is marginally cheaper if not the same at Horsley Lodge. The service is attentive without being overbearing and the quality of the food really is outstanding. I would recommend this to anyone and will certainly be coming back on a regular basis to enjoy in my opinion the best restaurant in the area by a county mile. We have a seven year old daughter who never stop talking about how good the food is and how much she likes the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IDC1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rammey88, Owner at Horsley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of the restaurant, I too find it baffling why so many people choose microwave pubs to go for a family meal when there are independants offering quality food at great value like us. We look forward to seeing you and the family here again soon. Thanks for your recommendation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews