We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect holiday venue for the family with ages...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Les Roses

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vimoutiers, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, BUT.....”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The property is located on an estate with 3 others (the first inaccuracy with the owner's website; which states that Les Patis consists of "three county cottages" ) approximately 1 mile outside the town of Vimoutiers. The town has several shops including 3 bakers and a fish shop, a doctors surgery and there is a supermarket on the outskirts of town.

We were welcomed to the property by on-site staff. The property was comfortable and we liked the open plan layout of the ground floor. There was a large kitchen and large dining table, plenty big enough for the number of guests that could stay in the property.

The furnishings could have done with a wash / clean, although I see from a previous review that these are cleaned once a year at the end of the season, so maybe their annual wash is approaching....

When I refer to the inaccuracy of the owner's website, it is worth noting that although the website states that the outdoor pool is heated, it is not. We booked this property on the understanding that the pool was heated, as a family with 3 young children this was important to us. However, when we tried out the pool it was 'freezing'! We expressed our dissatisfaction over the pool temperature with the onsite manager, whose response was "no, it's not heated". We questioned this with the owner, who responded to us on the 4th day of our holiday to say that there is a pool heater but it is turned off during the warmer months. We were told that the onsite manager could switch it on for us if we requested. However, a heater in a pool of that size had little effect over the few days remaining of our holiday.

On raising the issue of the non-heated pool with the owner on our return to the UK, we were told that we should have specified that we wanted the heater on in the pool before our stay!!!....something I would not expect to have to ask for when the property is advertised as having a heated pool...so beware!

The website also fails to mention that Les Roses is attached to staff accommodation. Below the main / ground floor of Les Roses is an apartment for staff. Attached to the side of Les Roses is accommodation for more staff. Below the main bedroom of Les Roses is a communal utility room / shower room for the staff. At the time of our stay, we believe some staff had guests staying. In total there were approximately 9 adults on site (in addition to the families staying in the other 3 properties) sharing the use of the facilities and living next to / below our accommodation. We were kept awake on 2 evenings due to the noise from the staff and their guests, but the owner did apologise for this and it didn't happen again after we raised the issue on the second occasion.

The website advertises Les Roses as having a third bedroom with bunk beds and a single, suitable for 3 children. I have 3 children, and when we arrived at the property we discovered that the third bedroom actually only has 2 single beds, so my youngest had to sleep in with us.

There was a terrace with a BBQ, but this was directly outside one of the apartments for the staff, so did not feel very private.

There's a lake within the grounds, which is well stocked and my son had great pleasure fishing most days. There's also a tennis court, which my children also enjoyed. In general, the grounds could have benefitted from some work - brambles and weeds were growing through the fence surrounding the tennis court so my children were often losing the tennis balls! The grass was long overdue a cut when we first arrived, we could not walk down to the river because the paths were too overgrown and bushes overhanging the swimming pool provided too much shade....I've been told by the owner that several staff are needed on site as it is such a large estate to maintain...not a lot of work seemed to be going on during our stay, but surprisingly the staff seemed 'pull their finger out' after we'd complained to the owner towards the end of the week about the noise!! And when we returned from a day trip on the Thursday the grass had been cut and some bushes were being cut back.

The location of the property is good - it took us approximately 1 hour to travel to Deauville and 1 1/2 hrs to Arromanches.

Owner took 10 days to return my security deposit.

In summary, we were disappointed with the property and in particular the swimming pool because they did not meet our expectations following what we'd read on the website, but overall we had a good holiday because of the location and the fishing lake on site!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fishing lake
Liked least: Swimming pool
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
This Property is under new management since March 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M
Ross - on - Wye
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday venue for the family with ages ranging from 4 -13”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

As well as renting Les Bambous I also rented Les Frenes for my two sons and their families - four children, ranging from 4 to 13. The thank you cards I have received prove just how much they enjoyed their stay and how much fun they had, especially in the pool. As with Les Bambous, the younger children needed supervision because of different levels and steps but it was a lovely natural and unsophisticated home from home for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity of the pool, tennis courts and table tennis areas.
Liked least: I received no complaints from any of the family.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesy197...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent place to stay.....”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to Les Frenes for a 1 week stay with my fiancee, our 16 month old son and 3 other couples and I have to say that, for the price paid, the accommodation was very good. In all honesty, I think the place could do with a lick of paint and a bit of an update in decor and furniture, but overall it was a nice, comfrotable place to stay with a great pool (which was 10 steps from the front door) and amazing grounds to explore.

We originally booked to go with 4 couples, but one of the couples had to cancel due to a complicated pregnancy. However, although the property was advertised as 5 bedrooms, the "5th room" wasnt really a room at all, just a couple of single beds put into a room at the bottom of the stairs.

Its in a lovely part of the world so it was easy to get out and about to different places. And although we didnt see the interior of the 3 other properties in the grounds, they looked very nice from the outisde.

Deborah (the owner) could not have been more welcoming - although we didnt see her that much she always had a cheery demeanour and she or her staff were on hand on the occasions that we did.

A solid 3 out of 5 but if Deborah is reading this, then a bit of a spruce up could go a long way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and grounds
Liked least: Decor
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
This Property is under new management since March 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewEnglan...
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice for a memorable family holiday”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Our extended family, including 4 grandparents and two kids, had a fantastic stay at Les Frenes in June, 2012. The house is big and the 3 floors allowed for flexibility in room arrangements so we could spread out and have privacy; the large room on the main floor was a great gathering spot. There was a large dining table and plenty of seating; some of it is older but it is clean and comfortable. We loved the historic nature of the building with the thick walls, wooden beams and stone but the skylights and open staircase kept the main and upper floors from feeling dark and closed in. The lower level is built into the hillside so it is darker but there are nice patio doors to a terrace. There are a lot of levels which could be difficult for those who have trouble with stairs (our group had no problem). The baths and kitchens (there are two actually, with a basic kitchenette on the lower level) are simple but clean. There were plenty of dishes for our group of 8 and we appreciated having a dishwasher and full size fridge! The beds are comfortable and the wifi worked perfectly.
The owner was available and responsive to requests both before and during our stay but she allowed us our privacy. The grounds are wonderful—we enjoying walking the trails, fishing in the pond, sitting by the pool and casual tennis (court condition best for non serious play). Vimoutiers was the perfect sized town for our vacation—small enough to feel like we were truly in the French countryside but large enough to have a good supermarket, a huge number of fantastic bakeries (we walked in to buy bread for breakfast every day) and several restaurants for when we wanted dinner close by. We particularly enjoyed L’Ardoise Gourmande in town, and La Cambertiere and La Maison du Vert within a short drive.
Vimoutiers is a great base location for driving to the coast (Honfleur, Deauville, Normandy beaches), seeing beautiful villages (Beuvron en Auge was a favorite), exploring part of Swiss Normandy, tasting cheese and calvados (fantastic visit to Pierre Huet on the Cider Trail) and sampling weekly markets (St. Pierre sur Dives was incredible). Both the house and its location created a truly memorable week for our family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Flexible space, relaxed atmosphere, grounds, location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty, house - do not stay there!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
6
people found this review helpful

The all pervading smell of damp and mould on the ground floor almost had me walking straight out before our holiday had even begun. The double downstairs bedroom had mould on the junction between the walls and ceiling and was very cold. This was rectified in part by the provision of an electric heater and an extra bed cover. The twin bedroom on the ground floor was very dark and damp smelling. The downstairs bathroom was filthy with ancient grime on pipework , the radiator and some sanitary ware. We had to clean this room as much as possible before using it. Upstairs was rather better although the upholstery needed dry cleaning & the curtains were thick with dirt. The cooker was excellent and in good condition. The wall behind the cooker was greasy.
Some of the crockery was chipped or cracked & was dirty. We had to wash everything
before we used it.. Some of the carpets were stained and torn in places. Wallpaper and paintwork were either dirty or damaged. The laundry room was infested with mice.

We had booked for 2 weeks & expected clean bed linen to be provided for the second week but were advised this would only be possible if we paid an extra fee. Eventually we were allowed (FOC) clean sheets - but not pillow cases nor duvet covers.
. This property is totally unsuitable for children under 5 due to open stairs and gallery.. The grounds proved to be very unlike the lovely pictures in the advertising. They were overgrown and neglected.
In all this was our most disappointing French holiday experience in more than 30 years. Once all the problems have been addressed perhaps Les Frenes will return to being a delightful place in which to holiday with family and friends. Sadly at present this is not the case.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the sun - outside.
Liked least: Having to clean the house before being able to use it.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2012
This is a detailed and damning review, and we are saddened and sorry that these clients found so much wanting in our much loved holiday property. We responded fully and immediately to the letter received from them and I can do no more than publish it below.

Dear Mr & Mrs P
We are in receipt of your letter about your recent stay and are very sorry to discover how very dissatisfied you were with your holiday experience. I spoke to Mr P on several occasions during your stay and never once was any dissatisfaction expressed, in fact he said how much the youngsters were enjoying the pool and the sunny weather during the first week. I understand from my colleague that on the penultimate day of your holiday Mrs P did raise many of these concerns, much too late to give us the opportunity to attempt to put things right. As it was, we had another cottage we would have gladly offered as an alternative for your second week, had we known.

Your comments are strongly expressed and are directed for the most part at the smallest, lower ground part of this large property, which is on three levels. The property is built into a hill, and it is true that the lower ground level part of the property, where you stayed, is much cooler than the upper floors. Being built into a hill, it can feel chilly in cooler weather, although this is a welcome feature of the property on hot summer days. As you say, we provided a heater and extra bedcovers for you on request.

You may be aware of the fact that I broke my ankle at the start of August, and as a result have been unable to fulfil my usual level of vigilance and inspections in our properties. Had I been able to do so I would have been aware of some of the cleaning issues you have brought to my attention. Whilst I accept that this should have been right for you in the first place, had you mentioned your dissatisfaction at the outset, we would immediately have called in a member of our cleaning staff to put this right. I have inspected the ceiling area to look for signs of the mould you mentioned, and it appears that there is a small patch of staining in one part, which has now been cleaned. Your comments about the curtains are, I feel, exaggerated. The curtains are washed each year at the end of the season, as is the upholstery. We have almost reached the end of a very busy season and this is due to take place again shortly. Nevertheless, it is difficult to imagine curtains being ‘thick with grime’. The carpets are newly fitted in many parts of the cottage, and we replace these on a rolling programme of refurbishment. It may be that one or two carpets are beginning to show signs of wear and tear and I am sorry that this was a problem for you.
Regarding the mid-stay linen change, this is specifically mentioned just above your signature on your booking form. We are glad to offer a mid-stay linen change at extra cost, on request. At the time of your enquiry, this property was listed for rent at its low season price of £990 per week. As Mr P had flagged up a pricing error on one of our other properties, for goodwill and as a last minute offer, we quoted Les Frenes at £690 per week. This did not include extra linen, but nevertheless, we offered you sheets free of charge when asked.

At no time was suitability of the property for a three year old mentioned when you enquired, but nevertheless, the property is equipped with a sturdy safety gate to put across the entrance door and the galleried landing balcony is built to 1.20m height, with vertical struts. This conforms to French building regulations for the purpose of preventing a child from climbing up. The open staircase has never before been mentioned as more unsuitable than any other staircase for a child, and most families who stay have young children.

Regarding the laundry room, when you mentioned your concerns to my colleague the day before you left, you also pointed out that there were mouse droppings in the laundry room. This leads to the boiler room and the door is often open. It seems that a mouse had come in to escape the cold and rain which was unfortunately a feature of your second week. This area was immediately thoroughly cleaned and disinfected and the door closed. This was an isolated incident and the room is certainly not, as you suggest, ‘infested with mice’.

Regarding the gardens, late September lacks the lovely flowers that bloom abundantly in May and June and through the summer, and it is too early for the beautiful Autumn colours which now adorn many or our trees. I am so sorry you were disappointed. I generally do much of the work in the grounds myself with the help of students who require close supervision! Of course I have been unable even to supervise under the circumstances, and less work than usual took place this September. Nevertheless, this was our problem and it should not have affected your holiday.

I very much appreciate the time you have taken to let me know your thoughts and impressions of our property, and very sorry indeed that you did not find things as you might have wished. We will endeavour to bring things back up to the standard we hope for and you expected, before the start of next season. Kind regards,
Yours sincerely
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, Tennis Fishing and the Countryside.
Liked least: Going Home
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chrissych...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed September 14, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Farmhouse, which was set slightly away from the other gites. It was beautiful. There were beautiful touches in every room. When we arrived it was spotless and I felt like a child again, running from room to room, only to discover more beautiful rooms! So many nooks to hide away in! My daughter and I enjoyed a few games of hide and seek on the first day!
The gardens are wonderful. So spacious and well kept. We were all sad to leave and wished we didn't have to, but all good things come to an end. France is such a lovley country and the locals were all so friendly we felt like we all belonged. There was a housekeeper on sight who was always very discreet but if we needed anything she was always happy to help. There were 9 of us and there was plenty of room. The only downside is that we couldn't stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing