We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suf lesson” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf's Up Surf School

Surf's Up Surf School
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Polzeath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As on of the UK's longest established surf schools based here at Polzeath, we are a family run private business offering surfing lessons for young and old, beginner and pro alike. We operate all year 7 days a week. Come and learn the sport of kings!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suf lesson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Three terrified middled aged women went for a surf lesson this March, with Surfs Up! in Polzeath.
We were most scared about getting cold. Avian and Wail, had to listen to us whinging and complaining as we got into our wetsuits/hats/gloves/boots.... we looked FABULOUS, especially in our rubber hats. Lipstick on, we braved the waves.
We had the BEST time, we laughed and whooped for 2 hours. Wail (our instructor) was a saint: patient, kind, patient and a very good teacher.
I can't recommend these chaps highly enough. If they can tolerate me and my friends AND manage to teach us something, they must be good. AND we stayed really toasty in our outfits! Go and give it a go! It makes you feel glad to be alive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsUpSurfSch00l, Owner at Surf's Up Surf School, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for the review... sounds like you had a memorable time! How are the muscles? Did you find any new ones the next morning?! Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked myself & daughter to a week of surf school, was dreading it but absolutely fabulous week. Instructors were great. & learned loads. Went back for just 1 day in October half term & staff recognised us. Going again this summer but hubby & younger daughter booking in too. Great fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin_dasmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsUpSurfSch00l, Owner at Surf's Up Surf School, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write and thanks for the feedback. And you're coming back again with the whole family....are you going to be showing your younger daughter a few tricks!! Pete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great team, excellent lessons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Signed up for a weeks surf lessons with my daughter in the summer. Was a bit nervous but staff friendly and put me at ease. Made good progress and already planning on booking again next summer but hubby and younger daughter going to have lessons too

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lin_dasmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsUpSurfSch00l, Manager at Surf's Up Surf School, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Lin,

Thanks so much for taking the time to put your review on. Thrilled you and your daughter had fun with us in August! Really looking forward to getting you both in for some more tuition this summer and hopefully we can get your younger daughter and husband up to speed too! We'll teach you a few tricks to wow them with your skills though!!!! See you when the storms are gone and the sun is shining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service and a great time with Surfs up.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Dear Avian,

A very big thank you to Surfs Up and Wailin for looking after us so well on Sat 23rd Nov and making my daughters 21st a fab, fun event. It was a beautiful day and Wailin kept everybody in great spirits throughout the whole lesson. He was brilliant. The photographs are fab (thank you Anna and 360 photography) everyone enjoyed looking at the photographs on a big screen before our evening meal. It really couldn't have been better. Thank you so much.

Kay Edwards

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kay e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsUpSurfSch00l, Manager at Surf's Up Surf School, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Kay, thanks for taking the time to post your review. Delighted everything went well for your daughter's birthday!!! Wailin is chuffed everyone enjoyed the day! We hope to see you all back with us again soon and help take the surfing to the next level! Avian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

First time surfing for my 13 year old. Very organised, small groups. Enthusiastic, happy instructors. He loved it. Would definitely do this again.

Nutters on Polzeath beach trying to park all over the place, it was very busy by mid morning .Good value beach café.

Horrible public toilets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePlanters_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurfsUpSurfSch00l, Manager at Surf's Up Surf School, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi guys!

Stoked your 13 year old loved surfing! It's what makes everything worthwhile for us. Be great to get him back in this year and push his skills and confidence on! The cafes are pretty good aren't they, can't wait till they reopen for the year as I really miss my morning brew!

The state of the public loos is always a shame, they've been closed all winter and the car park has been charging this year so hopefully, they'll have had time to sort them out for this year! Come on council!!!!!

Maybe we can get you in the ocean this time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf's Up Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Surf's Up Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing