We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive curry”
Review of Cafe India - CLOSED

Cafe India
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“expensive curry”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The curry was average for the price, I guess you can't blame them for taking advantage of seasonal trade but I would have expected a better standard for the money I probably wouldn't go back in a hurry. the beer was particularly pricey house wine was about right and reasonable quality. On a positive note incredible spot to watch the sun go down over the bay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    7
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A curry with a view!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have eaten at Café India for the last 3 years -and twice this year - whilst on holiday in Polzeath. Coming from Luton where there are many good Indian restaurants - we think this is one of the best we have eaten in. Each dish is distinctive, the portions are very generous, and the staff are very friendly - and of course the view ........

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views with a Superb meal.....”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've dined here on numerous occassions for the past two years . The service and quality of the food has always been second to none - I would have no hesitation in recommending Cafe India

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgiesmuggler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pricey takeaway”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As a group of 10 people we had a takeaway from here early one evening. The staff were very polite and service good but the takeaway was extraordinarily expensive (almost £200 for 10 main dishes, rice, naans and a round of drinks - which accounted for about £40). We had a 15 minute drive home, by which time my naan was stone cold- so clearly hadn't been heated through properly, and my tikka dish consisted of 5 small pieces of chicken swimming in a sea of sauce. Overall the dishes went down well but really not good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pridecols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great food excellent service, even though it was packed the staff were very friendly . Great views over Polzeath, I would highly recommend it

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psb21972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe India also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing