We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful food: Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge de Cartassac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarrazac
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful food: Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here one night on en route between Chenancou and St Cirq. It's hard to get to if you haven't got a car. But I think that's the beauty of it! It's sits on rolling hills and has very modern rooms. Rooms are small but sufficient
The host husband & wife, and the meal were highlights. The husband speaks English & is a fab chef. He cooks a 3 course meal for a good price. He's a very good chef! His wife speaks French only but very helpful & warm
Breakfast was included and sufficient
Price of room was good value for money & lovely people

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EatBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    4
    6
    0
See reviews for
16
63
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night here en route south. It's a lovely small hotel, nice rooms, clean, comfortable and welcoming. The resaurant is fantastic, with gourmet French food at a reasonable price. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

Made to feel at home at once, owners and staff very friendly. Very good cuisine, we ate in every evening (except Sunday evening, restaurant closed). Rooms were spotlessly clean. Although quite close to the main road, we were never bothed by noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

The people who run this place were very helpful indeed. They handled our booking clearly and efficiently. They were v friendly and welcoming on arrival, and during our stay.

The rooms were clean and newly furnished. The shower worked well and plenty of hot water was always available. Free wifi throughout and a free internet terminal in reception. The pool was a good size for swimming and very clean.

The food was excellent. The owners were incredibly flexible and imaginative when asked to cater for a coeliac/ gluten free vegetarian with only 60 mins notice - a delicious three course meal was served. Locals and visiting French folk use the restaurant for lunch and dinner - a good sign methinks. Breakfast was more average, but plentiful and perfectly adequate.

English spoken, and staff helpful and sympathetic with those trying to practice their French.

The only slight downside is that you can hear passing traffic when you're using the pool - but that would not stop me recommending this hotel very highly.

The hotel does not serve dinner on Sunday evening. We ate at Le Vieux Sechoir in Turenne Gare, just 1-2 mins drive or a short walk away; despite its less than encouraging appearance from the outside, there was a good atmosphere inside and the food was good - I would recommend it. Friends and locals also recommended La Bonne Famille in nearby Sarrazac for dinner on Friday when Cartassac's restaurant was closed - they were fully booked so we did not sample.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank univ0754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We spent 3 nights in the Auberge after finding that the hotels we had identified in Alistair Sawday were fully booked. The Auberge cost a lot less but we were not disappointed. The room though small, was clean and comfortable and had the all important WiFi. The bathroom floor was wet when we arrived and after a quick word with the owner this was immediately rectified. (We learned that the chambermaid departed the next day.) The coir matting in the bedroom was perhaps a bit aggressive on bare feet There was a rather cool outdoor pool. The hotel caters well for disabled people.

Dinners were imaginative whilst breakfasts though palatable lacked the baguettes we associate with a French breakfast.

The owners were a very pleasant couple who had taken over the hotel after 17 years of disuse and converted it into a crisply modern and comfortable place to stay. Very competent English is spoken though they put up with my French.

The inn is very near the delightful medieval town of Turenne.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

We found this hotel extremely good value, exceptionally helpful and friendly. From booking to checking out the owners could not have done more. We were travelling with 2 small children, and although their family room was booked they arranged for us to be set up in their largest family room which was fine. Their half board rate was great value and the food was lovely.

The building is newly refurbished and very nicely done with a nice ambiance. It also has a pool.

The hotel is not situated within a town or village but is superbly located to explore the local area which is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarrazac
3.7 mi away
Relais du Quercy
Relais du Quercy
#1 of 1 in Meyssac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Bastidie
La Bastidie
#1 of 1 in Noailhac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
15.2 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Hotel Victor Hugo
Hotel Victor Hugo
#1 of 4 in Saint-Cere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel de la Tour
Hotel de la Tour
#2 of 3 in Aubazines
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Cartassac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Cartassac

Property: Auberge de Cartassac
Address: Lieu Dit Cartassac | Route departementale 720, 46600 Sarrazac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Lot > Sarrazac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sarrazac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de Cartassac 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the heart of a cheerful region rich in history... The Auberge of Cartassac is located in the north of Lot department, at the heart of a luxuriant countryside, at the crossroads of Quercy, Correze, Perigord and Dordogne, a region rich in history and traditions of the south-west of France. It is an authentic traditional family-owned house of great charm, arranged in a comfortable hotel restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de Cartassac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing