We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place in great location”
other traveler has booked this property
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Backyard has the sun from 0800 - 16:30 each day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Atouguia da Baleia, Peniche, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FleddyFun...
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place in great location”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week in Peniche, lots to do and eat...

Tom's place was very comfortable and homely, it really felt like a home from home. We found everything we needed and didn't want to leave... I wondered if they'd notice me hiding in the basement ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: BBQ with squid on it
Liked least: BBQ when said had gone
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L0uis3x
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect house in a great location”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in April with my partner and a few friends and there was room for everyone very comfortably especially that it has a bathroom downstairs and upstairs. The house is immaculate and had a great feel to it. Love the fact it has Netflix so you can watch movies. The beach is opposite and a lovely walk along to the bakery which sell amazing fresh cakes and pastries. Love the fact it has a BBQ in the garden which was a perfect in the evening after a day at the beach.

Close to the supermarket and loads of great restaurants Also not even a minutes walk to the local surf school who take you to the local beach For a surf lesson which was great.

Tom was very friendly and could not do enough for us. Beds were extremely comfortable and duvets were amazing!!

Defo recommend to anyone great place and would not hesitate to come back. Cannot wait to come back again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline0...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The most perfect House in a perfect location”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived and were met by our super friendly contact at the house, everything was perfect. The house itself is immaculate with every possible amenity you could ask for, from the fridge freezer to all the cutlery, plates, glasses - just everything!

The house itself has a very warm and friendly feel about it, the host has created a cool, contemporary feel with personal photographs on the wall and a collection of surf books and coffee table books.

There are three bedrooms all with very generous storage areas and obviously brand new beds, mattresses and bedding. The beds are a big deal for me, travelling with my partner who is 6'4" tall, sleeping has always been a problem with beds either being too short / too narrow / too soft or just uncomfortable.

The bed in the second bedroom was definitely a king size bed and the one in the master bedroom really felt like a super king - so we were very happy. A good night sleep in a huge bed with a firm mattress, expensive bedding and a duvet that felt like you were sleeping wrapped up in a marshmallow. Wish I could afford bedding like that!!

The host also left fabulously detailed notes about where to eat, drink, walk, surf and visit all in a set of maps, and I have to say that every recommendation was worthwhile, from the local bakery which was a lovely walk along the beach in the morning and sold fresh bread, pastries, cakes and sausage rolls (very nice) and wonderfully strong coffee (oh and beer) to the cool bars on the beach and the inland trip to Obidos where there is an old Roman settlement and a well preserved castle walls that you can walk all the way around (no handrails - sounds tame but is very exciting).

The house is less than a ten minute drive from Peniche, Portugal's capital of seafood with all the fine (and cheap) fish restaurants you could ask for including an all you can eat Sushi restaurant.

Peniche and the beaches reaching up to the house are known as the best surfing beaches in Europe, and the waves are awesome. Sadly I don't surf but I would go back and stay in this house in a heartbeat - in fact I could move in, put the wine in the fridge and just stay...

It was just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of everything in the house and it's relaxed feel.
Liked least: Coming home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steph D
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ultimate surfers paradise”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house has recently been refurbished and has everything that you need for an enjoyable stay in Peniche - fully stocked kitchen, bbq, towels, wifi, Netflix etc. Tom was an extremely accommodating host and was able to offer great recommendations for local restaurants, surf school and board hire.

The house is a two minute walk over the sand dunes to Supertubos surf beach and a five minute drive to the main town of Peniche and Baleal,

I would definitely recommend this place and would stay again in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melissagQ...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday home!”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

House is just like the pictures! Very homely and comfortable for our long weekend away. Perfect place for a beachy escape on the beautiful Portugal coast. Close to the beach for sun bathing and watching surfers during the day (or partaking if that's your thing) and great entertaining areas for a bbq and few drinks at night. We had a group of 6 adults stay and it was a great space for us all.
Would stay here again for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali_Royal...
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect pad for a superior surf trip”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is simply outstanding. I have visited Peniche 9 times now and this is by far the best accommodation we have stayed at on so many levels! The house is an hour drive from Lisbon airport and check in was quick and easy. It is newly renovated to a high standard, all appliances and furniture are brand new and the decor is modern. The front and back yard are a huge bonus for sitting in the sun and making the most of the BBQ. Wifi and Netflix were great for watching a couple of evening movies. The location is perfect, quiet and only a few minutes from Supertubos which gave us some awesome waves. There is a gem of a bakery a little walk down the road and there are also beach bars and in my opinion the best restaurant in Peniche just a short walk away.

We will defiantly be heading straight back to the Supertubos beach house next time we are in Peniche, I couldn't recommend it highly enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
younghr
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot and excellent house”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and the furniture and beds made it a very comfortable stay. The gas BBQ was amazing and the xbox helped to entertain the younger guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful beach and the stunning house
Liked least: The fact I had to go home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing