We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for service, food and surroundings at a busy wedding celebration”
Review of Red Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“10/10 for service, food and surroundings at a busy wedding celebration”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent a lovely day and evening celebrating a wedding and we were blown away by the sheer professionalism of all, yes all, the staff under the direction of attentive management. The main room and bars were welcoming and beautifully decorated, the food and drink service without fault with nice touches like each course for a table arriving at exactly the same time for all the guests at that table. Younger children were served first with their own menu. The quality of the food and wines was very high. We didn't stay over but I'm sure breakfast would have been brilliant! A real plus for those driving is that iced tap water was readily available for free, and that a cafetiere of coffee, with mints, less than £2.50. Overall the atmosphere was great and you could see the guests were enjoying a very happy occasion. Well done the Red Hall Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    122
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
127
145
14
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here as I had been treated with vouchers to eat at The Fishermans Retreat not far away. The hotel was lovely, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had a choice of everything you can think of. We are planning on returning again for another night with the view to dining in their restaurant as well. Fantastic night.

Room Tip: We were in room two. The room was comfortable and well presented. A little cramped between the bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungoers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Good Evening,

Thank you for your recent review of the Red Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall pass your comments onto the relevant staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Had a fabulous night in Legends Restaurant last Friday where they held an authentic Spanish night. Sangria or Spanish beer on arrival, canapés, beautiful guitar music playing in the background, this was the start of a very good evening! The whole restaurant had been styled in true Spanish style. The Chef produced amazing food accompanied by fine wines to match each course. We took friends who had never been to the hotel before and it blew them away. We are looking forward to the next one, ole!
Ali & Rob Nuttall

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hi Ali & Rob,

It was great to see you back with us at our Spanish night, it was a great night of fine food and wine.

I hope to see you both back with us on 28th February for our Italian night in Legends Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We attended the Spanish night on Friday 1st November in Legends Restaurant at Red Hall and it was great. Pepe did a fantastic job as did all his team. The chef and his kitchen team put on a great show with all the courses tasting yummy. Great wines with each course. It is great value for a fabulous night out. Our table had a lovely night the restaurant was full of atmosphere and ambience. Thanks guys see you soon for the Italian night! xx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the Red Hall Hotel.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Spanish evening at the Hotel, the food was superb on the evening and we are looking forward to our Italian Evening on Friday 28th February.

We hope to see you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I have recently got married at the red hall hotel . The day was wonderful and everything went to plan. Unfortunately my dad died 8 weeks before the wedding and I had to leave a lot of the organisation to the staff. They were so supportive and really looked after me and my husband to be. Food great and DJ played everything we wanted- we danced all night.
I would like to thank all the staff- warren wedding organiser , will on reception and the young lady who helped me on the Saturday before the wedding plus the night porter who helped us find missing items during the night .
I can recommend the breakfast plenty of choice and good sized portions . Will definitely return for a meal in the near future

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hotel.

I am happy to hear that your Big Day was a great success and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a very basic hotel with extremely small rooms and very thin walls separating them from the other rooms. As a result, you can hear the guests next door talking, showering, etc. Thus, don't expect a good night sleep unless you have ear plugs. The deco of the room was ok but there was absolutely no space to breath, only to walk around the bed. The bathroom was not very clean, with some hair on the towels, and mold around the shower. The restaurant is disappointing: no fresh juice despite advertising it on the breakfast menu. No cappuccino either. The buffet had a very small selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raver10, Guest Relations Manager at Red Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hotel.

I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us.

I was wondering if you could email me the details of your stay including your room number to richard@red-hall.co.uk so that I can properly investigate the issue with cleanliness in your bedroom, I was quite shocked to hear this as we are very thorough in our cleaning process.

I was also wondering if you had informed anyone at the Hotel about the noise or cleanliness issue, if we had have known there was a problem we would have been able to rectify it immediately. We have varying sizes of bedrooms all of which are ample and again if you had have made us aware that the room did not suit your needs we could have looked into moving you.

With regards our breakfast menu, I feel your comments are unfair.

We offer a very extensive range on our buffet which includes various cereals, Porridge, Prunes, Grapefruit segments, Fresh Fruit selection and fresh yoghurts.

Danish pastries and croissants. Sliced meats and cheeses available on request.

A selection of fruit juices including, grapefruit, orange, apple and cranberry. Cappuccino is also available on request as stated on the breakfast menu.

On top of this of course we offer a large amount of freshly prepared hot dishes. All of the above is priced at £10.95 per person which we feel is very good value for money and certainly not a small selection.

I look forward to hearing from you so that I can continue investigate the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed for one night, myself, hubby, 12 year old daughter. Staff on reception lovely, very helpful. Arrived hour and a half early expecting to have to wait to check in, but ten minutes later the room was ready. Much appreciated after a two hour journey. Room spacious, very modern, spotless, probably the cleanest room we have ever stayed in. Bathroom spacious and modern. Breakfast well worth the money. Good selection of cereal, lots of cold drinks to choose from, fruit, croissants, jams, marmalades, full english, or poached salmon with eggs. We asked for more toast, and it was with us in minutes. Lovely ladies in restaurant and bar. Very friendly. Decor gorgeous. Full English outstanding, piping hot and plenty to fill you! Bar area relaxing, again young lady who served us was very friendly and chatty. Felt very welcome. Tea and coffee making facilities in room. King size bed, very comfortable, camp bed for daughter a little uncomfortable, but plenty room in king size bed for us all! Flat screen tv. Lovely thick, lined curtains. Only tiny faults I would pick, only two tea bags in room, but to be fair, the booklet states that you can request more if you would like them...I didn't as didn't want to put anyone out for a tea bag! Two tiny hairs in the bath, but these may have just come off the cloth when cleaning, as it was sparkling clean, and only hotel bath I have ever used due to this. Doors are lovely, but very heavy, so you do hear them when people come in at night and they bang, although there was no noise from any rooms. Again, you get this in any hotel. Gets very hot in the room at night. We opened the window, but were near the main road so could hear the traffic. Overall, the hotel is very, very good. You can pick fault with anywhere if you think about it! We enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road if you are a light sleeper. No noise with the window shut, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walmersley
2.6 mi away
Best Western Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
3.3 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
1.3 mi away
Best Western Old Mill Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Bury
Travelodge Bury
#7 of 7 in Bury
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Hall Hotel

Property: Red Hall Hotel
Address: 319 Manchester Road, Walmersley, Bury BL9 5NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Walmersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walmersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was originally a farmhouse and converted into a hotel over 40 years ago. From 1978 up until 2008 it was owned by the Wright family. In early 2008 the hotel was put up for sale and bought by the present owners who took over the hotel and submitted their improvement plans for the existing building. Then in April 2009 the ‘new’ Red Hall Hotel was officially opened by Sir Alex Ferguson. Sir Alex is a good family friend of the owners who was more than happy to nip down one Saturday morning, to cut the ribbon before making his way to Old Trafford for the game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Red Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing