We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley(Lovedale)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$161
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$107
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$86
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
$90
$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveler rating
86
151
87
40
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
151
87
40
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking villagreat beeron taphunter valleythe pubtasting paddlejumping castlefriday nightboutique beerscouple of nightspale alebeer tastingbreakfast was includedwine countrymid weekpotterybrewery
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 397 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I dropped in for lunch on the day of our concert visit, well it must have been the busiest day of the year. We were prepared for a wait due to the high turnover but we were very pleasantly surprised by speed of the service! We have eaten here previously and we enjoyed the meal, this time was no exception. I would highly recommend the venue for meal and a drink. PS My wife loved the Chesterfields in the front bar area...a great way to relax prior to a busy nights dancing.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank EddieBeeBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you so much for providing such a pleasant review of your experience with us at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort. We had 1000s of people through our bar and brassiere on that weekend and over 350 people in accommodation. Its nice that our patrons and guests can take the time to share their positive experiences with what we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you’re in the Hunter Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Back again and with the family this time. We booked a 2 bedroom unit and it was lovely. Had everything we needed and more including a full kitchen, living area, private courtyard and spa bath!

Took dad on the brewery tour and he loved the beers! Thanks guys! I would definitely recommend everyone do this!!

I did pay a higher rate as we came for the concert, but we paid for the location and the lovely accommodation was a bonus. Thanks reception and housekeeping for catering to our every need and we'll see you all again soon :)

Stayed: March 2014
Thank kjharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is fantastic for people to hear from guests that enjoyed their stay with us. Often Trip advisor can be used as a tool for negative feedback, therefore, we genuinely appreciate you taking the time to let other travellers know of your stay with us. Having over 350 guests within our resort the weekend of Bruce Springsteen can produce a mixture of reactions. It’s rare the good ones make it to this forum. Being within close proximity to concerts and local events in the area our location is well sought after. With transport to and from the concert from our resort its all to easy for our guests! Our brewery takes great pride in the beers we produce, next time you’re in the Hunter pop in and try one of our seasonals. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Potters Hotel & Brewery during the weekend as we were attending the Bruce Springsteen concert. Talk about price gauging!! $450/night for motel style accommodation with stained carpets, armchair and bedhead. The bathroom was filthy with a dirty hand print above the toilet, long curly hair on the floor and bath hob as well as dead insects on the floor. When I complained to reception, the receptionist looked as me with an expressionless face, no apology and said that housecleaning will attend to our room first.
Not only is was the room dirty, there was absolutely no privacy. There was a blind on the glass sliding door which overlooked the road. There was no screen on the door either. As a consequence, we had the air-conditioner on for a bit of "fresh" air and could not have natural light in the room due to zero privacy.
So, for a 5 star price, you'll get dirty motel accommodation. Yes, I know there was a concert on but really - a clean room and clean furnishings is the very least anyone can expect. I repeat $450!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback on our resort after your stay during an extremely busy weekend. Research is conducted when setting rates for event weekends and our prices are extremely comparable with others in the area for this particular weekend. With breakfast for two and wine upon arrival room, we feel we had packaged our deals up well for that weekend. I do apologise for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion, we do strive to exceed our guests expectations. Potters obtain over 85% in cleanliness from our AAA rating and take great pride in the standard of cleanliness we provide. We did have a maintenance technician in your room cleaning out light shades the morning of arrival. It would appear this may be the cause for handprint and insects on the floor, for that I apologise. Training our quality staff in areas of customer service is crucial to upholding the organisation culture we have here at Potters. First point for front office reception is to send the housekeepers to rooms requiring urgent attention. I apologise if this was not to your satisfaction. I have taken your comments on board and will utilise them to continue to make improvements to our wonderful resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I'll admit I can be hard to please when it comes to my expectations of accomodation,and even so, I realize you can only expect to get what you pay for,so that said lets review our experienceat Potters Hotel and Brewery Resort. First,its a stretch to descibe this as a resort its a tired and dated well and truly worn collection of poorly designed so called villas and suites, more deception in those descriptions as well. We were price gouged on the recent Springsteen concert weekend $450 per nite,usually charged at $140 or there abouts,and whilst No one can blame local traders for trying to make a little extra hay as they say, Potters take this to a new level. The room we had was rank, allegedly cleaned, but obviously not, apologies were forthcoming, and we were given a new, just cleaned room. This was as bad, and without listing all the basic filth, stained carpets, dead insects, ect, this is where Potters shoots themselves in the foot. We referred back to previous Tripadvisor reviews, as far back as June 2013 and the same complaints over and over, basic hygene and dirty stained carpets are still a constant and the management stale old spin about taking on board customer feedback to enhance the service and experience are crap. Here's what the owner who we have heard from a local is an entreprenuer should do, sack the managers responsible, and get some people who can do what they say they are going to do, because surely he can't possibly know how bad this place is, and if he does, Shame on him and his establishment.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank rwf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

I believe the first line is a true reflection of this review.
We take pride in our 3.5 star resort. Our carpets are a cream colour therefore if wet shoes are walked on the carpet from outside can market the carpet temporarily. Our carpets are professionally cleaned on a regular basis and our rooms have received over 90% with AAA Star Rating from our last assessment. With reference to bugs and insects - these can be from doors being left open whilst occupying the room. We are in the Hunter Valley and bugs/insects are very common in this region. Hence the can of fly spray left under the sink in each of our rooms.
Our room prices are $140 midweek stay low occupancy periods. The price mentioned there is no way a reflection of our low occupancy weekend rates let alone any local event weekend. More research needs to be conducted before statements of that nature are put onto a public forum.
I feel this review is an unfair/inaccurate description and I apologise that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

There is all levels of accommodation offered in Australia and generally you get what you pay for and what you reasonably expect for your investment. Also it's understood that under some circumstances, supply and demand dictates you sometimes pay a premium for accommodation when there is high demand and a special event such as the recent Bruce Springsteen concert. However Potters take this to the extreme, with very misleading advertising of their accommodation offered and the exorbitant prices charged. In our case $450 for a night in a room we could only in all fairness give a 2 star rating. Surely its not too much to expect the room to at least be clean, or for there to be a remote control to turn on the television, or for there to be a light working in the bathroom, or for the air conditioning remote to be working so you can at least be comfortable. Not so at Potters. We could list so much more of what you do and dont get at these premises that are tired, worn out, poorly maintained, have stained carpets, dead insects, dust, grime, wall mounted caravan park type dispensers for your soap, having to take a shower in a space about 14 inches wide between the soap dispenser and shower curtain, but the list would be too long. Not so bad if it was portrayed for what it is and not promoted so misleadingly. There is really nothing positive to report on the accommodation here, but the reception staff were welcoming, tried to be accommadating, and were understanding. Whilst if the rooms were clean, and you were charged around $200 per night it would be fair value but this feels like the owners are price gouging and don't care about their customers.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elizabeth2859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding our resort. We are proud of our 3.5 star rating and apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. Thorough inspections where conducted of all rooms prior to arrival for the Bruce Springsteen concert and I am happy to report all remotes were present in rooms prior to guests arrival. Rooms where thoroughly cleaned to our highest standards, having received in higher than 80% for AAA for cleanliness at our resort I do dispute this comment. A quick call to reception could have rectified what appears to be an upsetting situation for you.

In terms of increasing our prices, we were in line with others in the area and still very comparable for the package that was provided to you. Thorough research is conducted to determine a price during concert weekend and we have priced our accommodation given its extremely close proximity to the venues these take place. $200 a night on a concert weekend would have you staying in Maitland some 30km away during that period.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews