We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in the Hunter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
North Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Two nights in the Hunter”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Every member of staff showed exceptional customer service!
The room was very clean, that is dust free and ready for habitation.
The reception was handled efficiently and with no fuss.
This is a good gateway to the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: Chose an end room - only one neighbour and the potential of less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It is always a pleasure to read a guest who has enjoyed their stay with us. Our staff have a genuine interest in ensuring our guests needs are meet and that they thoroughly enjoy their stay with us. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with the service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the Hunter Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    134
    81
    35
    31
See reviews for
64
170
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I and my boyfriend spent a night at the potters hotel & brewery. My boyfriend loved the beer tasting.
Hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Keith was very knowledgable and gave us the best brewery tour ever. restaurant food was very good. Very close to the winery. Will definitely visit again.

Sal

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALRAY02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay. We very much enjoy reading reviews that highlight the positives we have to offer at our resort. Keith our head brewer is extremely passionate about making beer and this feeds through to the entire team in the brewery. As a result, an educational and entertaining brewery tours are conducted daily. We look forward to welcoming you back with us next time you in the Hunter Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arriving at Potters you find yourself smiling as the property looks inviting. Staff at reception are happy to see you and are very helpful. Advised straight away that the restaraunt is very busy so need to book early. We were given our key, a map and directions to our room.

Room 8 has a interconnecting door with room 1 and on placing our bags inside found that the next door room had some very noisy teenage boys (12/14yrs) inside. Even with the door closed you could hear them clearly. We have travelled enough now to know that it is hard to get others to be quiet, especially at 2.00am in the morning. We asked if we could be moved and the lovely staff did so happily, even commenting that " you need to be happy with your room".

So we were moved to room 12, queen and single bed and a disabled bathroom, plenty of space there. The resort is well kept and very clean, however the rooms do need to be updated and the beds and pillows are just a bit too hard for our liking. Housekeeping was great and the girls were very happy and up for a chat about the area. We were not there to watch tv, but after a afternoon touring the vineyards with a great driver Warren (wazza), hubby wanted to tune in to the V8's, needless to say reception was very poor, so no watching done, found this to be the same with the free wifi, non existent. So we could not leave a online review as requested.

Dinner and breakfast was lovely and the service good. Brewery tour is fantastic, very informative and a great price $10 for tour and tastings. Potters is well placed for tripping around the vineyards and has everything you need should you not wish to go out for the evening. You can just stumble back to your room.

The ladies at reception are well worth their money.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that does not have a connecting door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi Cathy, thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We do aim to please our guests are most pleased when guests recognise the extra mile our staff go to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Unsure on the glitch with the signalling in your room but I will most definitely look into that today and rectify it for the next guests arrival. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you decide to stay in the Hunter Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just about to check out of accommodation which was very good, clean comfortable and spacious. Potters is located in a great central location to base yourself for checking out all the winieries & vineyards. What has definitely let this experience down is the brasserie where the food is overpriced however very poor quality. Our dinner of spicy squid was not fresh nor cocked properly. The salad under the calamari was soggy, not fresh either - like it had been sitting in a dressing for days. The breakfast very, very basic. Having said all that, we would definitely stay at Potters Resort again and there. Lots of other amazing places to eat at some of wineries.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yasna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort Yasna. We value the feedback you have provided and apologise for the brassiere not exceeding your expectations regarding your feed. I will pass on your feedback to that department to enable us to review our systems and make constant improvements. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanwal, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nothing negative to say about Potters.
Friendly, helpful staff, clean, good sized rooms, tasty food at the brasserie, some of the best beer we've ever had and a great way to spend a few days.
Do yourself a favour and book in for the brewery tour, Keith is knowledgeable, but not pretentious and the beer he makes is divine.
Convenient location just outside Cessnock and easy access to the rest of the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you Laura for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We take great price in our resort and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The Brewery is unique to the area and we are one of the few brewery's in Australia that you can sit and enjoy a beer with the crew that actually make it. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Overall happy with the potters brewery! We stayed 2 nights - the surrounding area is lovely and it's only a short drive to some wonderful wineries or into cessnock. My partner enjoyed the beer tasting and there was a tour that can be taken but we didn't end up partaking in this.
The rooms were nice, average -comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shezj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you at the brewery tour next time you decide to stay with us at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great place to stay near the wineries of Cessnock. The brewery is an ideal place to wind down at the end of a big day. Food and beer excellent. Accommodation nothing flash but everything you need. If you want extra go to an expensive place closer to the wineries. It's a good base with basic accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank crito2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle B, General Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for posting such a wonderful review of our Resort. We take pride in our 3.5 star rating and aim to please each and every guest that comes to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Property: Potters Hotel & Brewery
Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle/Cessnock, Australia
Potters Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing