We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in the Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Potters for 3 nights for a friend's wedding. It was the only accommodation in the Hunter Valley we could find that was under $200/night, so we jumped at the opportunity to stay there! When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised! The staff were exceptional, and the premises was beautiful! The rooms were clean, and spacious, and the beds were extremely comfortable.

The wedding was held at The Hunter Valley Gardens - which was only a $20 taxi ride from Potters. Very close to vineyards, and conveniently close to Cessnock.

You pay for what you get, and in comparison to other accommodation in the Hunter Valley, this is definitely excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabsy1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PottersResort, Front Office Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi gabsy1984, We are delighted to have your recommendation and thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are proud of our 3 1/2 star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests. We hope to see you again next time you visit the region!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    134
    81
    35
    31
See reviews for
64
170
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Beautiful premises, great playground, a huge jumping castle, wonderful beer but terrible food. Spent $50 on 2 adult meals & a kids meal & couldnt eat any of it! If we hadnt eaten tre it would be 10/10!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Andrea P,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback. Sounds like the kids enjoyed the playground and jumping castle. The jumping castle is FREE on the front lawn every Sunday, so the kids can have fun while their parents can sit back, relax, eat,enjoy the live music (family friendly).
I have passed on your comments regarding your meals to our head chef and he will be following this up.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters Hotel Brewery Resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We also stayed in king villa room and the taps were loose in both kitchen and bathroom. No cord to open the vertical blinds so had to do it by hand. 5 broken light globes which was reported to receiption on the saturday morning. Response from receptionist was "i will see if someone from housekeeping can fix it". Got back from all day at the wineries and surprise surprise no new light globes. Room needs to be repainted. the only positives were breakfast was very nice and the close proximity to the wineries. By reading previous reviews the Guest Relations Manager does not respond to all comments.

Room Tip: i would be checking that everything works before settling in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsandy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Rsandy43,

Thank you so much for your review and we appreicate you taking the time to make us aware of matters regarding your room.

At Potters Hotel Brewery Resort we are constantly aiming to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and we apologise that on this isolated occasion we did not. We wish to assure you that these matters are being dealt with immediately.

We hope you can return soon and enjoy our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We bought a deal and travel with our 2 kids and baby. Despite not many travel dates available as they sold hundreds deal, the resort gave us extra 2 beds for our children and baby cot for free. Deal supposed for King Villa, yet they gave us Queen Villa to accommodate our children. Further they try arranging it thus plenty room. We drove after my work on Friday night for 3.5 hours journey thus arriving bit late and their reception would be closed. Yet they assigned one staff, to give our room key. The breakfast were so good and well-priced. Brewery tour was fun with Billie as our guide. Beautiful resort, good food, friendly staffs and beer cocktails for $4.5 !!! The only downside we only stayed for 2 nights, wish stayed longer. DEFINITELY WILL GO BACK AND STAY LONGER.

Room Tip: Queen Villa is better for families, King Villa is better for couples as have private courtyard. Shou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Ingridm,

We are absolutely delighted that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay with us recently.

Feedback such as yours is encouraging and our staff thrive from hearing such wonderful reviews.

We look forward to you all returning to stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived early but as our Villa was ready we were able to check in. As we stayed midweek only Continental b/fast was supplied but more than adequate. The only downside to our stay was the outside sitting area of the King Villa (59) was extremely dirty with leaves & dirt over most of this area, a quick sweep by cleaners when they prepare the room for occupants would only take 5 minutes. I have complained about the lack of cleanliness in these areas before (& on my customer satisfaction form) where I had to clean extensive bird droppings off the outside furniture before we could sit on it. I also had to clean a lot of hand marks off the inside of bathroom door so a bit more attention to detail is needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Buffie46,

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is through constructive feedback such as yours, especially because you are a return guest, that we can deal with these issues.

Please accept my apologies that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice place for weekend away.
Rooms were in fairly good condition.
Staff was helpful.
Breakfast was nice with hot food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank DineshHunterValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your Family Weekend with us at Potters Hotel Brewery Resort .

As you know we are very child friendly, with 2 swimming pools, tennis courts, playground, boules court and 11.5 acres of grass to run around on, the kids will always be entertained.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 51. King double. The blinds were broken so it was difficult to open & close them. Two of the three lamps worked. Shower was mouldy with flaking paint. Walls dirty. No fly screens so if you wanted fresh air mozzies came in. It was a pity because the staff were lovely. Nice food at the pub & interesting brewery. Handy to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersowner, Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Halbarn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We are proud of our 3.5 star Hotel Brewery Resort and we really appreciate your feedback.
Our staff are constantly aiming to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations and I apologise that on this isolated occasion we did not. I wish to assure you that these matters are being dealt with, It is through constructive feedback such as yours that improvements can be developed.

We will pass on your positive feed back to our Brewery and Restaurant Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
329 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.6 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Property: Potters Hotel & Brewery
Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle/Cessnock, Australia
Potters Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing