We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot to halt and take in Hunter Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Potters Hotel & Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed for just one night at Potters, coz we had planned a full day wine tour and needed a place to chill for the night, before taking in some more Hunter Valley and The Entrance on the next day.
We landed up there on the wrong day (2 days earlier!) owing to a miscalculation of the planned dates on a 3 week Australian holiday, but the staff were quite understanding and got us the same room type we had originally booked. That was really great, else we would have been in a bit of a fix.
It is a very comfortable place, with a very large pub and restaurant. It has the old world charm, plenty of wood in the decor. The beer is excellent and the food quite good too. The room was spacious too and comfy. It is also a kid friendly place with a secured play area, next to the restaurant.
We did not use the tennis court or pool as the weather was cold.
On the whole, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnuGummaraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you for such a fantastic review! Our staff go the extra mile to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their time with us. We are a family friendly venue, and are pleased that you enjoyed our great food and beer. We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit our wonderful region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 390 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just had lunch at the restaurant. They have a great selection of beers brewed on the premises. Try a 'paddle' 4 or 7 tasters of the beer. The who,e place has a lot more welcoming and warm feel compared wi my last visit here that was over 3 years ago. The house special Brewery beef pie was fantastic - just right on a winter's day and chargrilled lamb rump served with lemon oregano sauce was different and very tasty.
It you haven't been here for a while, give this place a try when you visit the Hunter Valley

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are proud of our great beers and fantastic food and are pleased that you were able to experience them both (you have to watch our beers though, as some of them are 6% or stronger... this may lead to errors in judgement, as our tasting paddles only take 4 glasses). We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit out wonderful region!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at potters for 2 nights in a king room on a scoop on voucher, which was great value and I was very impressed. The room was really nice open and clean it was too cold to use the courtyard out the back but I think it would be nice in summer. Also very quite room. The bathroom was large with a shower over a bath and heating lights which was great because it was so cold. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially at the brewery which has a great atmosphere and lovely food. We grabbed a hunter valley guide from the Airport which was extremely helpful. The location was great just outside of cessnock and within a 10 min drive of pretty much all the attractions. The lady at the hunter valley gardens British lolly shop was very helpful and pointed us towards some great attractions and yummy lollies. I would also recommend visiting the smelly cheese shop at pokolbin village it was amazing with great sales people

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Develished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters when ever you many next visit this beautiful region. Thank you also for your comments on our staff - it is important we recognise the impact they have on our guest's experiences. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The rooms are clean, simple and are great for a 'no thrills' place to stay.
Not a place for a 'romantic weekend' per say, but good for a girls and guys weekend away.
The food at the restaurant was okay, the beers are good however.
We had an air conditioning malfunction in our room, so the next night they upgraded us free of charge and threw in a nice bottle of red too, so we were very impressed with the care and service.
The reason I have given it an average rating, is that the price is too high for what is being offered, especially as it is not in the centre of the vineyards. If you can get a room for two there under a $100 including breakfast, then I would go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipitysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We at Potters are proud of our 3 ½ star rating, and pride ourselves on customer service. We are proud of our beers and the quality of our food - check out our upcoming 5 course beer and food matching dinners. Hunter Valley Wine Country Tourism has recently launced an new app, and this shows how close we are to the wineries and attractions in the Hunter. We look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit our wonderful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We purchased our accomodation through Scoopon with a voucher at a reduced room rate including breakfast and a bottle of wine on arrival. The advertisement for the Scoopon stated "Stunning King Villa". Well they are not stunning. They live up to a 3.5 star rating only, which is what the hotel claims, and we were disappointed in the use of words to describe the villa.

Actually it's not stunning and technically not a Villa. A definition of a villa is:

noun
1.a country residence or estate.
2.any imposing or pretentious residence, especially one in the country or suburbs maintained as a retreat by a wealthy person.
3.British . a detached or semidetached dwelling house, usually suburban.

Ok enough of the bagging. The room was comfortable albeit a bit noisy as we had a room with adjoining doors to the "stunning villa" next door, but we cranked up the television so we couldn't hear them. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Actually it was good value for money even though we expected a little better standard (yet again back to the misrepresentation on the Scoopon).

The location is excellent and the brewery has good,.....no excellent, beers and food. The pork belly on the last night was the best I have ever had at a very reasonable price. Breakfasts were good and the service staff were all friendly and helpful.

We had a nice time and would consider again now that we have more realistic expectations.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Auroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are proud of our 3 ½ star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing, and enjoyable experience for our guests. We are passsionate about our beers brewed on site here at Potters and are pleased that you managed to have a sample of these! We love to hear great reviews like yours about our food, and look forward to welcoming you beck when next you stay in our lovely region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for a conference.
Everything was excellent - staff very helpful and friendly.
Accommodation excellent

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newcastle_nswAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

We look forward to welcoming you back to Potters when you next visit our wonderful region. We are proud of our 3 1/2 star rating and aim to provide a clean, relaxing and enjoyable experience for our guests. Conferencing is a large and important part of our core business. We are delighted to have your recommendation. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Potters brews a variety of beer and there are many different styles to sample. The food for the conference was well prepared and tasty. The rooms were clean, well appointed and comfortable. We come for a conference regularly and I don't mind seeing it on the venue list!

For travelers to the area it represents an affordable option from which to base your tour of the wineries just up the road.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank FromNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, Guest Relations Manager at Potters Hotel & Brewery, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

We are proud of our beers and the quality of our food - check out our upcoming 5 course beer and food matching dinners.We are committed to continually maintaining our room facilities to ensure your stay is a comfortable one.Conferencing is an integral part of our business, and we are constantly receiving return bookings. We are pleased that you took the time to write your response, and look forward to welcoming you back when next you visit our wonderful area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
2 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#4 of 16 in Cessnock
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Hotel & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Hotel & Brewery

Address: Wine Country Drive, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia (Formerly Quality Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nulkaba
Price Range: $76 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Potters Hotel & Brewery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Hunter Valley Wine Country, Potters is a relaxing getaway. With new ownership since late 2008, Potters is home to the Hunter Beer Co., a fabulous Brasserie and Resort-Style Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Potters Hotel & Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potters Hotel And Brewery
Potters Hotel & Brewery Greater Newcastle/Cessnock, Australia
Potters Brewery

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing