We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta spot for the whole family”
Review of Hunter Valley Zoo

Hunter Valley Zoo
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Nulkaba
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hunter Valley Zoo is a private run zoo supported by its local families and business'. Set among the beautiful Hunter Valley it has 10 acres of land with everything from Native Australian animals to exotic animals such as monkeys and meerkats. Hunter Valley Zoo has picnic areas and free BBQ facilities so come and make it a family day out. We have special feed bags which can be used to feed our farmyard animals and our walkthrough kangaroo and bird aviary. Want something more? Hunter Valley Zoo now have encounters with Meerkats and Marmoset Monkeys and a species sponsor option. Visit our website or call us for more information.
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greta spot for the whole family”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We took our kids out there for their Birthday parties and it was great, they have very good seating and BBQ area's.
All the kids had a blast and they even got to see the croc's get fed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lachlan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    63
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had never heard of the zoo before we purchased discount tickets online (CUDO) so went with no expectation.
It was great and would recommend to anyone wanting to see a good cross section of animals. Alligators, monkeys, birds, Tasmanian devils, kangaroos, emus and even deer! Echidnas were really active! The koalas came out and we could pat them and took photos with out own camera at no extra charge! then two staff wandered around with a snake and baby alligator. Again photos and a Q&A. Lots more animals too!
Very interactive. Friendly staff who seemed knowledgable and easy to approach.
FREE BBQ AREA and lots of tables and chairs, so take a picnic as food to buy was very limited.
Would absolutely recommend to anyone heading that way with small kids (ours were 1 and 4) or even international guests doing the winery tours!
Easy to drive there. We spent about 4 hrs there and that was ample time. Regular entry $19 adults very good value

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Any parent or overseas traveller visiting the Hunter Valley, should see this . Fantastic .
All the Aussie animals, including talking parrots, in a super clean and very friendly environment.
The staff are lovely and very informative .
The koala's and kangaroos can be petted and are great for photo's , so is the animal farm.
A wonderful experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Boofy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect little zoo!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Based on other reviews on tripadvisor, we decided to visit this zoo. This is a quite small zoo, but it is really a great zoo! We petted and took pictures with the koalas and kangaroos (free), and saw a lot of other exciting animals. Absolutely recommended if you are in the area! The entry fee for adults was $19.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank eriso82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle, Gävleborgs Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I got to pat the koala”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We got to see many fun animals - talking parrots, kangaroos and wallabys and then we even got to pat the koala Desmond. Totally worth the low entrance fee!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Zoo also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Kurri Kurri, Cessnock
 

Been to Hunter Valley Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing