We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm coming back”
Review of Hunter Valley YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hunter Valley YHA
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'm coming back”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A very friendly, well located and comfortable hostel.

A group of 4 girls and 4 guys came to stay for one night in December. The staff were great and the hostel was clean and well maintained. It's more like a large cabin than a hostel.

We also did their wine tour which was fine. We visited (in order) the following cellar doors: Lindemans and Rosemount Wines, Brokenwood, the Smelly Cheese Shop (next to Tempus Two), Constable Estate, and Savannah Estate. My personal favourite was Brokenwood.

It's located amongst vineyards and is a short walk from the Potters Brewery, which is a great place for dinner and beer after a day spent tasting wine.

There are a few private rooms other there a four bunk beds in each room.

The kitchen and bathrooms are centrally located in the middle of the building and a very tidy and clean (a big relief compared to many other hostels I've stayed at).

Also offered is woodfire pizza which I missed out on but would have loved to try next time I visit.

As the balcony surrounding the building is wooden expect to be awoken by thumping footsteps in the morning though.

Overall I'm very happy with my stay and experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM2759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our group of 5 girls stayed for 2 nights in February, as part of a winery tour from Sydney. The family that runs the YHA is lovely, they do everything from driver, to guide, to cook. The tour description said "multi-share accomodation" and we got a dorm to ourselves, with 3 sets of bunk beds. Everything was quite clean (for a youth hostel) and the common room had some interesting board games such as a "Transformers"-themed Monopoly set. There are places to sit and chat with other travellers, either in the common room or out on the verandah. It was really hot so we had to have both upright fans on for the whole night. A service station is about 15mins walk away (towards Cessnock), so is Potter's Brewery in the other direction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

My first YHA stay and only for a night. I travelled alone so I took the room with the ensuite. I was given a room good for 3 person, a double bed decker. The washroom is rather small but was sufficient. It's a simple room with no tv and even aircon, luckily I was there in the cold weather. YHA is a DIY concept, from making yr own breakfast to removing your own bed linen. So if you are there for ppl to wait on you, this is not the right place. I travelled by train and bus from Sydney, Nigel picked me up at Cessnock. It was a fuss free trip up and you get to enjoy the nice scenery along the train tracks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desire348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I suppose we should have thought about this when we booked, but a 40 degree (celsius) day and no aircon in rooms, combined with no check in until 5pm meant we bailed and found somewhere else, which ended up being the equivalent price!

The photo on the YHA site needs to be taken with a grain of salt.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank titanium_geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This hostel is perfect. On arrival we were offered a cheaper dorm with less people - staff are really friendly and helpful. We arrived without food - as we didn't have car we thought this might be a problem but recpetion sell the essentials and for once they are not over priced. It is a beautiful setting and I had a great stay. Bathrooms are large but clean and overall this is pretty good for a hostel. Worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

The YHA is the what you would expect from a YHA backpacker. It´s clean and fun could be had. This review is mostly about the wine tasting tour that the hostel sells.

I had previously stayed at the H.V YHA on two separate occasions, I returned 3 years later to find that it was under new management. We paid about $300 for two for a package that included pick-up/drop-off from Sydney central, accomodation in a dorm for one night, one free dinner, and a half-day wine tasting trip.

I had chosen this trip because I has been very happy with the wine tasting tour on two previous occasions, however taking the tour the this time around was very dissapointing, especially considering the steep price.

The new owner is British, and though I didn´t meet him I did meet his sister, who was lovely and knowledgeable, and his Aussie wife, who sad to say, was horrid.

His wife took us on the tour. The vineyards were different then the ones we had visited with the previous owners. Those were fantastic (Hanging Tree, Iron Gate). The vineyards on the new tour were underwhelming, as was the wine. I had no inclination to buy anything, even though I really wanted to. Furthermore, she provided us with minimal information on the region and wine tasting and production. She mostly talked about herself for most of the trip and even made some remarks that weren´t professional. My partner and I were thorougly dissapointed with her. The trip might have been better if someone else were the tour guide, however if she is the person who would be taking you on the trip, I would give it a miss.
The YHA facilities, however, are very nice. Though this wasn´t much changed from previous owners.
Carla

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The hostel needs improvement and supposedly the new owners are beginning to do it. My husband and I reserved a long time in advance when there were other owners. We ended up in bunk beds that were very uncomfortable--squeeky metal frames every time you rolled over. The rooms are extremely hot--there is only one window and no air flow, also very little light at night--one tiny bulb in the ceiling. The owners should put ceiling fans with lights in the rooms. Actually, without spending a lot of money they could add value--like towel racks and hooks in the rooms, a nightstand, etc. The room was very basic but clean and the pool was refreshing, although it seemed a bit cloudy. The location is great by the vineyards and compared to hotels it is very cheap but it is really just a place to sleep and not really relax. Very friendly owners.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nulkaba
0.4 mi away
Potters Hotel & Brewery
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Wine Country Motor Inn
Wine Country Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Cessnock
342 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cessnock Motel
Cessnock Motel
#1 of 16 in Cessnock
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hunter Valley Motel
Hunter Valley Motel
#12 of 16 in Cessnock
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley YHA

Property: Hunter Valley YHA
Address: 100 Wine Country Dr, Nulkaba, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Nulkaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nulkaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunter Valley YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the wine region of the Hunter Valley and stay at this superior budget accommodation close to Cessnock. With great rural views, relax on the verandah, enjoy the outdoor seating and BBQ area, have breakfast at the cafe, enjoy a swim or just unwind. Choice of multi-share and private rooms. Full self catering kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hunter Valley YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley YHA Greater Newcastle/Cessnock, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing