We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is very charming, but needs more cleanliness and love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plantation House Salento
Ranked #19 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Salento
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. All days we spent trekking around Salento - Cocora Valley, coffee tour, so we came back just for the rest to this hostel. We lived in private rooms with shared bathroom. The room is very basic, but for the sleeping it's normal. The rooms near the kitchen are quieter, so sleeping quality is good. But the cleanliness in the bathroom (with hot water) and in the kitchen is terrible. There are all facilities in the kitchen, but you should clean all dishes, because everything are dirty, cockroaches are everywhere.
There are communal area with fireplace in the kitchen and nice terrace where you can eat you breakfast. The coffee, internet is for free.
The staff is helpful and friendly, can speak in English a little bit. The location is very good.
There is one good benefit in this hostel - coffee tour in English. As more you stay in this hostel, as less you pay for this tour.
This place is very charming, but needs more cleanliness and love.

Room Tip: The rooms near the kitchen are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daiva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had the private room with shared bath. I left after one night. This place is horrendously under-maintained. The bathrooms have no mirrors. My hook rack had 7 of 8 hooks broken and not repaired. My room smelled like mold. The kitchen was the messiest I've seen in many years of travel. There are much better options in Salento for a lot less than what Plantation house charges. Avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonfromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Dirty shared bathroom. Rude owner and rude staff (the owners family). They really didn't care. When you asked the staff about something, they giggled and put their face into the computer or cellphone.. The rooms are loud, so you can hear everything your neightboors are doing..

Room Tip: Don't choose room number 208. The hardest bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in the dorm of the hostel for a few nights. The rooms are pretty basic, but clean, hot showers and all you need. It has a nice garden, and its easy to meet people there. We did the coffee tour which was insightful and lost of fun, and the owner was very helpful in guiding us through the sights. I recommend renting a bicycle and exploring the region that way!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLDTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Good luck getting wifi here! All you're going to get is excuses about it being out everywhere else in town as well (not true).
The overall tone and atmosphere of this place is somewhat somber, and no where near as nice as some other hostels that I've stayed at.
The rooms smelled of old things, and pine sol, the floors were creaky wood.
The only real redeeming factor of this place is the coffee tour which is a gem and a half (costs extra). The owner seems like the old guy off of Jurassic Park.
Overall, I was highly recommended this place by other backpackers I've met, but would not pass that recommendation along.
Go on the tour though, you don't have to be staying there to go!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardcoreworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The rooms are dirty, damp, linen old and unclean and the wifi poor. The hostel is divided into two halves on two sides of the road, the side i was on was the worst side. Staff unfriendly. The owner is rude, patronising and very unpleasant. The owner who takes the coffee tour is also very dismissive towards the local people and appears to not be liked within the local community. Definatly many more affordable better options in town. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1sarah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The hostel is divided into two sides of the road, the Side we were on was very run down and uncared for, bedding could really do to be upgraded and the room smelled rather unpleasantly. The owner (foreign) who also took the coffee tour seemed very dismissive of the locals and seemed to enjoy making their lives hard, we had multiple issues with the staff and booking and regretted not staying at one of the many nicer places in town. Very overpriced for what you got.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here make sure you say you want to stay on the newer side, not all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1elle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salento Real
Hotel Salento Real
#1 of 6 in Salento
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#4 of 6 in Salento
138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mochila Hostel Salento
Mochila Hostel Salento
#5 of 80 in Salento
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffee Tree Boutique Hostel
0.2 mi away
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
0.1 mi away
Casa La Eliana
Casa La Eliana
#1 of 45 in Salento
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation House Salento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation House Salento

Address: Calle 7 No. 1-04, Salento 631020, Colombia (Formerly Plantation House)
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Salento
Price Range: $25 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Andes, halfway between the towns of Armenia and Pereira, Salento is in the heart of Colombian coffee country. Conveniently located some 6-8 hours by bus from Medellin, 7-9 hours from Bogota and 4-5 hours from Cali, Salento is the perfect stop off point to explore Colombia´s coffee country. And when you are in Salento, Plantation House (only 5 blocks from the main plaza) is the best location for you to stay. The original Plantation House (PH 1) is a 100 year old coffee plantation house that offers small dormitory and private accommodation with and without ensuite bathrooms, lounge and kitchen facilities. Plantation House Two (PH 2) is a renovated traditional style farmhouse set in 2 acres of land and is literally across the road from the original Plantation House. This also offers both small dormitory and private accommodation with and without ensuite bathrooms. Both Plantation Houses have gas fired hot water systems. Amongst the many services we offer our guests are WIFI, free internet, kitchen facilities, free coffee, book exchanges and book shop PLUS the best most current and accurate tourist information in Salento. In both the Plantation Houses new kitchen and social areas with fireplaces have been constructed. The Plantation Houses have extensive gardens, with a myriad of flowers and native trees and of course a few coffee plants, hammocks and WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Plantation House Salento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation House Hotel Salento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing