We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay in Salento” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plantation House Salento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Plantation House Salento
Ranked #16 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Salento
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in Salento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for several nights and enjoyed the place. It's very nicely situated in the middle of a plantation, and it's just 5 min walk to the centre of the town. We got the private room with a fireplace and they provided us with wood to use it, we enjoyed having that. Downsides: the room was a bit cold when the fire was off, and could have been cleaner.
We didn't use the kitchen so I can't say how well equipped it is.
Their plantation tour is quite good, so I recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ioana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    81
    52
    34
    18
See reviews for
8
105
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's a little far out of the centre but this makes it lovely and quiet. Had a great night sleep here. The dorm we were in was comfy but the door didn't shut so we had to wedge a chair infront of it. The coffee was ok no breakfast was included - a bit far away from decent places to get breakfast. Salento itself is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luwandersaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I concur that there's been enough said about the kitchen to warrant some change here. It's true. There's a serious lack of utensils making cooking for yourself difficult if not challenging. The location is lovely set at the back of town with a great view from the main house up the road. The rooms are rustic and could do with a bit of attention, expect that; but comfortable and fine. Staff were fine if not a little ambivalent at times. But there's a few places to just sit around and enjoy the serenity of the place, the sitting area around the kitchen and on the porch is quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was a very good place to stay. The rooms are basic, but comfortable enough. The same could be said about the kitchen and the showers. The kitchen could be a bit better equiped, but there's still more than enough to cook a decent meal. The good things are the excellent coffee coming from the owner's coffee farm. Highly recommended is the coffee tour that the hostel offers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLinoleum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Overall this is a nice place to stay in Salento. Great views, and the owner, despite some other reviews, is a nice fellow.

I do agree with the common opinion that this place suffers from "top pick" syndrome, in that since they are the only spot recommended in lonely planet they have slipped.

The rooms were vary basic. The kid who checked us in was practically rolling his eyes. Hot water was apotty.

Of course there was plenty of good things: Great coffe tour, really great views, chill atmosphere.

Bottom line, this is fine for the average backpacker, move on if youre traveling as a couple. This place is pretty expensive compared to other hostels in the area and only marginally cheaper than some really nice guesthouses in salento.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Rooms quite good, location a little way from the centre of town but still accessible, owner helpful, generally a good place to stay.
Kitchen has no utensils and not enough cups or plates. Very frustrating!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 1 night on the farm and then quickly shifted up to the main house area because the farm was dirty, noisy (workers using power tools takes away from the serenity that could be), and full of insects (something large landed on my face while i slept in the 6 bed dorm there, i think it was either a moth or a spider). I don't think the beds or bedding were clean at all. No hot water at the farm. Its cheaper there but not worth the saving given the trade-offs. Although the view at the farm was beautiful, it was difficult to enjoy with the sound of a power saw going off nearby.

The main house was better, hot water was good and rooms were clean. Kitchen was pretty dirty and the bathroom sink and shower didn't drain properly. Tim the owner/manager was chatty to a fault.

Room Tip: do not stay at the farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Salento Real
Hotel Salento Real
#1 of 6 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
0.3 mi away
Hotel EL Mirador Del Cocora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffee Tree Boutique Hostel
0.3 mi away
Hostel Tralala Salento
Hostel Tralala Salento
#5 of 61 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Lili
La Casa de Lili
#6 of 61 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plantation House Salento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plantation House Salento

Property: The Plantation House Salento
Address: Calle 7 No. 1-04, Salento 631020, Colombia (Formerly Plantation House)
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Salento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Andes, halfway between the towns of Armenia and Pereira, Salento is in the heart of Colombian coffee country. Conveniently located some 6-8 hours by bus from Medellin, 7-9 hours from Bogota and 4-5 hours from Cali, Salento is the perfect stop off point to explore Colombia´s coffee country. And when you are in Salento, Plantation House (only 5 blocks from the main plaza) is the best location for you to stay. The original Plantation House (PH 1) is a 100 year old coffee plantation house that offers small dormitory and private accommodation with and without ensuite bathrooms, lounge and kitchen facilities. Plantation House Two (PH 2) is a renovated traditional style farmhouse set in 2 acres of land and is literally across the road from the original Plantation House. This also offers both small dormitory and private accommodation with and without ensuite bathrooms. Both Plantation Houses have gas fired hot water systems. Amongst the many services we offer our guests are WIFI, free internet, kitchen facilities, free coffee, book exchanges and book shop PLUS the best most current and accurate tourist information in Salento. In both the Plantation Houses new kitchen and social areas with fireplaces have been constructed. The Plantation Houses have extensive gardens, with a myriad of flowers and native trees and of course a few coffee plants, hammocks and WIFI access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Plantation House Salento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation House Hotel Salento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing