We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Salento!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Salento
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best in Salento!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed with Luis and Enrique at Segorbe hostel for 3 nights and it was a fantastic experience. They are wonderful hosts and really made us feel at home, and comfortable in their hostel (which feels more like a quaint bed & breakfast). They were so helpful in recommending restaurants, day trips around the area (Valle de Corcoras and Coffee Finca), etc. and we always felt that we were in good hands with them. The room was a good size, everything was clean, the shower was hot, and complimentary breakfast was served every morning in a peaceful courtyard with a beautiful garden and even hummingbirds. We highly recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Salento as there's no where better to stay (and it was our favorite during our entire tour around Colombia as well).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    50
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
44
191
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nogales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

the rooms are a bit small, but the location and overall building are great. But- the best part are the owners who give incredible attention to detail and the guest's needs. The two owners (Luis and ?) are veritable fonts of information related to the area, even providing specific maps for hiking and walks in the area. Great restaurant recommendations too! Probably the best attention we've ever received in terms of providing guests with information about the area- and its good to have precise information in Salento, even though it is a small town.

Room Tip: it is a small place. less than a dozen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mltb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Hello,

I stayed at Segorbe a few weeks ago and felt as though I was taken care like I was family. First of all, the owners stayed awake because they were expecting my arrival on a particular night. I wasn't able to let them know that I would be coming the next day instead and they emailed me to make sure I was ok. The following night I arrived late at night and they were attentively waiting our arrival. They made us tea and discussed our plans for the next day, even though it was past their normal bedtime. Our room was very clean, spacious, with a remodeled bathroom. The bedding is more European in style, and more comfortable.

In the morning our breakfast was prepared and waiting in the cute courtyard and we were given detailed directions on the hikes in the Valle de Cocora which were spectacular and I do not have words for the beauty that lies in this area. I definitely recommend completing the whole hike, but be prepared to spend the whole day. Brings snacks and water!

During our departure, Enrique (one of the owners who lived in Spain for many years) arranged a taxi for us to explore other areas nearby and made sure we had obtained a good price. He also followed up to make sure that the his taxi driver friend indeed found us at the bus station in Armenia. They really went above and beyond. And I would recommend their hostal with full enthusiasm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirabhakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were very pleased with our accommodations at Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel in Salento. The reception area, the outdoor garden/dining area and our room was very clean. We also were pleased with the cost of our three night stay. The location is perfect for exploring Salento. My only complaint is the noise. The streets of Salento are very noisy. The town is FULL of dogs that bark at all hours of the night. There are loud motorcycles and trucks that rip by the hostel. I usually travel with noise blockers, but this time I didn't. The hostel provides you with a nice city map that is marked with restaurants. Our favorites were Alegra, La Mojiteria and Lucy (6,000 COP for a traditional Colombia lunch). They also can set up tours for you. I enjoy the amenity of breakfast. Toast, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and cheese, a nice little treat to get your day going.

The Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel is not quite a hotel and it's not your typical backpacker hostel. They have a set of rules that make it a safe, comfortable, quite place to stay while visiting Salento.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colombiatraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is a model hostel. They have all the essentials, but they also are genuinely passionate about pleasing their guests. The owners Enrique and Luis are incredible guys who seem to truly love the house, the city, the business and the guests. I had a wonderful 3 night stay in this amazing city. One of the best travel experiences I have had, and I’ve been to many places. What more can I say. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookine, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We visited Salento in late May, 2012 for a few days and could have stayed much longer. Our hotel was charming, thanks to the hosts and their hospitality! Great location, comfortable, pleasant rooms, lots of good information and suggestions....plus a very pretty, mountain ringed town of Salento. A few more touristy stores than expected, but more artsy vs tacky. Enrique, one of the guys that runs the hotel, helped us with plans for the cloud forest, gave us great directions for hiking and helped arrange a custom horseback ride for us with Gloria, of Alquiler de Caballos. All in all, we'd have loved to stay longer and as we told Enrique and Luis, we hope to come back soon. Good breakfast and lovely courtyard gardens, fast internet, wireless and just a good place to chill. Hope you enjoy as much as we did.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was a charm.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMGBrookine_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

You are dealing with professionals at the hostel Ciudad de Segorbe. Enrique and Luis are not only friendly and nice people, but they are always there to answer your questions and make suggestions, recommending daily trails and trips and providing little maps of the city and the surrounding area which are exceptionally helpful. They even have Wellington (rubber) boots for rent (for a minor cost), which turned out to be life-savers when we went on a very muddy hike in the Vale de Cocora. In addition to amazing hosts, when you stay at hostel Ciudad de Segorbe you also get a nice, clean and authentic room with hot water, and it's a 2 minute walk from the main plaza. The WiFi worked well which was a very nice bonus. All in all, it's a very good place and excellent value for money - I highly recommended it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelena81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Salento Real
Hotel Salento Real
#1 of 7 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel EL Mirador Del Cocora
0.1 mi away
BetaHotel
BetaHotel
#3 of 7 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Shambala
Hotel Shambala
#6 of 7 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa La Eliana
Casa La Eliana
#1 of 37 in Salento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Borbon
Casa Borbon
#3 of 37 in Salento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento

Property: Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento
Address: Calle 9a 5 4-06, Salento 631020, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Quindio Department > Salento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Salento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel in Salento Colombia, welcomes people from places all over the world. Peaceful and spacious seating areas especially suiting those looking for tranquility amidst unbelievable landscapes and friendly people. Set amongst the magical and unique forests of the "Wax Palms" (Colombia's National tree, and one of the highest species of the world). The Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel in Salento allows visitors to explore one of the Colombian first destinations for ecological tourism. It is highly recommended for people to enjoy nature and to discover something magical and different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ciudad de Segorbe Hostel Salento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing