We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique landscape worth visiting”
Review of Bosques de Cocora

Bosques de Cocora
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Private Tour: Cocora Valley and Ocaso Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Salento
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El hermoso paisaje que combina el canto de las aves, la vegetacion exuberante y los caminos de herradura, ofrece a los visitantes el mas maravilloso intercambio con la naturaleza a 2.450 Metros de altura sobre el nivel del mar. El sitio esta ubicado en el Km 11 via Valle del Cocora saliendo del Municipio de Salento y desde la ciudad de Armenia se llega en 30 minutos. El plato representativo de la region es la trucha, dentro de las sugerencias del chef, tenemos nuestra afamada y deliciosa Trucha Mar Adentro, como plato de frutos del mar nuestra Cazuela de Mariscos y como plato innovador nuestro cochinillo a la Cocora.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique landscape worth visiting”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This place is beatiful with the palms and the mountains filling the landscape. Just walking there is a very rewarding experience and is a breath of nature.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    223
    43
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best bit of Colombia”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Of all the wonderful experiences I had in Colombia, this was probably the highlight. The open back truck ride there, the scenery, the satisfying hike, the beautiful fresh air... a must for anybody in Colombia

(bring some food and water - can be hard to come by)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CorconianInGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"Wax Palm" : The colombian tree.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is just a peaceful and beautiful place in the mountains.
You can do a horse ride around for sightseeing.
It is safe and people is friendly.
Located just 20 minutes from Salento.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Do it”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I just wore my shoes and didn't care about any mud. If you're gonna wear the rubbers that the hostel will suggest maybe put your shoe insoles inside. Several that I hiked with had some pretty sore feet at the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice morning walk, wear hiking shoes”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A couple of tips we got from our practical hostel owner. If it has rained steadily in the past 2-3 days, the trail will be a mud hole, so don't bother going on this hike. Compared to other hikes I have been on, this one is not outstanding, maybe rates a 3. So if you miss it, there are other options of interesting things to do in Salento.

As others have said, be at the plaza to get on the jeep for 7.30 am, which takes you to a trailhead. The first part of the trail is deeply rutted from the horses and there is barbed wire alongside it. In some parts there is a ledge to walk along, but some of the barbed wire is electrified. The second part of the trail is forested and there are at least 6 very rickety footbridges, a couple of which are falling apart. The next section is a steep climb / walk up to the top. We skipped going to the "hummingbird" place, since we saw many hummingbirds at our hostel, at the top of this trail and while walking the roads.

When you get to the top and finish the climb, there is a ranger station and restaurant, but it's a good idea to bring your own lunch and lots of water. The last section is an easy walk down a gravel road, with many stunning views of the valley and the remaining palms.

One of the previous posters mentioned that there are no young palms growing because of the cow pastures and farming practices, which is evident from all the posted photos. Once these palms die out, there are none to replace them in this location.

When the four of us reached the end of the gravel path, we came to a barbed wire fence with no way to exit and were confused. We were told all this is private property and we had to climb over a high metal gate or under the barbed wire. Glad we went on this hike and walk down the road but can't compare to hikes elsewhere in S. America.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank atozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosques de Cocora also viewed

Salento, Quindio Department
Salento, Quindio Department
 
Montenegro, Quindio Department
Salento, Quindio Department
 

Been to Bosques de Cocora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing