We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service and some rooms are poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge du President
Ranked #1 of 1 Cormeilles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This hotel looks very nice and is well situated in Normandy. However, our stay was not one we will be repeating.

We stopped here for a night in August. Our room, a double was fine, though it looked a little like a furniture showroom. We had trouble moving around with it all the extra chairs and tables in there. Our son however had a small room which had a window and a glazed door which looked out into the corridor. There were no other windows. There were several rooms like this which suffered from a lack of fresh air and privacy and security, as to get any air you needed to open the window onto the corridor and anyone walking by could get in or grab something from the room.

The small restaurant was rather full when we arrived (if you eat there, get down early), mostly with businessmen eating on their own or couples. The three of us were placed on the only available table, one for six which was far too big in spite of saying we'd be eating when we checked in. That's fine, though no attempt was made to arrange the seats to make this more comfortable for talking. We were pretty much strung out along one side. In general, the food was good, but the service was incredibly slow. It took over two hours for us to get through three courses. We went in at 8pm and it was well past 10:30 when we finally got out. As the meal proceeded, the waitress seemed more concerned with setting up for breakfast than serving us the rest of our meal. Extra bread or wine requested was brought eventually and sullenly plonked on the table. A glass of wine was spilled by the waitress and she quickly filled it up again from the bottle, but made no apology nor did she offer any discount. She was obviously having an off day, but it is unprofessional to let it affect the service.

Although it seems the hotel is located in a small town off the main routes, it is in fact on a road with lorries passing through all night long.

In general, while the food was good, we'll not be returning as the experience was more negative than positive.

Room Tip: see review about windowless rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du President
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2012

There's nothing flashy about this hotel. It just provides what one needs when on the road: a room for the night at a reasonable (though not cheap) rate, a good evening meal at the restaurant on site, and a generous breakfast in the morning. I asked for a quiet room and got one, which doesn't always happen. Although it's clear the decor has been updated in recent years, some of the furnishings are a bit battered. There was a nice 'local' atmosphere: the restaurant was packed with local parties, celebrating one thing or another.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Six of us visited this restaurant last week (en route to Paris) and found a traditional french dining room, an extremely helpful and charming female maitre d' ,- the owner? who, despite clearly being short handed, went out of our way to explain her food and wine and then serve it with grace. Lovely regional dishes prepared to perfection and reasonably priced wines. What a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elpee182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Conveniently placed for anyone travelling north or south to or from the Channel Ports.
Secure parking, accomodation very clean and comfortable.
Special Offer of Taste of Normandy package offers food of the highest standard. Very pleasant staff.
Pet friendly.
Have already booked for a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoldsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I and our friends spent 5 nights here, exploring the local countryside and coast. The food was great, and we were made to feel very welcome. The new sauna, gym and hot tub were very clean and well-appointed, though they were located just outside the hotel, just a few seconds walk across the small car park.

The hosts did not rush you through breakfast or dinner - so we were able to enjoy the local produce at our leisure, chatting to our friends and taking our time - the whole point of the holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrossL82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We didn't stay - we only ate. The restaurant has pretensions, as well as overpriced art for sale on the walls. Service was slow despite being fairly empty. Parts were good - the 'bouche normande' was delicious. But both servings of tournedos were small, grey and overcooked, despite a request for both to be medium rare, and the butchers cut of beef, which turned out to be a good sirloin, was 'bleu', despite having asked for 'bien cuit' for a seven-year old. The advertised monkfish wasn't available. Puddings were similarly patchy - the ices good, but the others indifferent. Overall, rather a disappointment.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank fuzzy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Stayed for one night with family aug 09. Character-full family room at top of old part of hotel. Good staff with excellent restaurant lovely food, top quality, good breakfast too. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alemanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cormeilles
10.3 mi away
Belle Isle sur Risle
Belle Isle sur Risle
#1 of 2 in Pont-Audemer
569 reviews
9.1 mi away
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
Le Petit Coq aux Champs
#1 of 1 in Campigny
393 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
Hotel et Spa Le Lion d'Or
#1 of 2 in Pont-L'Eveque
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Inter-Hotel Beuzeville Honfleur Spa
13.9 mi away
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
Les Manoirs de Tourgeville
#1 of 1 in Tourgeville
809 reviews
7.1 mi away
Le Petit Castel
Le Petit Castel
#2 of 3 in Beuzeville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du President

Address: 70 rue de l Abbaye, 27260 Cormeilles, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Cormeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cormeilles
Price Range: $103 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge du President 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Auberge du President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing