We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The holiday home from a Ladybird book!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Brierydean

Fully enclosed rear garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully enclosed rear garden
Modern well equipped kitchen . Livingroom with cosy log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Fully enclosed rear garden
Modern well equipped kitchen .
Livingroom with cosy log fire
A warm welcome awaits in the lovely St Abbs
Spacious upstairs double bedroom
Twin bedroom -  PS2 and games in this room.
A quiet spot in the garden
'Life is better at the beach'
A beautiful morning on Coldingham Sands
Dining in the conservatory
Coldingham Sands has again been awarded a blue flag for 2012
Fun on the beach - surfing , boogie boarding, rock pools or just relaxing!
Rock formation close to house
A view toward St Abbs from the fabulous coastal walk to Eyemouth
Beach Cafe for hot and cold snacks!
St Abbs Head - fabulous walk with stunning scenery.
Newly fitted kitchen
Bathroom with overbath mixer shower
The lovely village of St Abbs
Coldingham Bay is just a short stroll away
The ancient Creel path- another walk from St Abbs to Coldingham
Surfing lessons are available on Coldingham Bay even in Winter!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
St Abbs, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
The_Blues...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The holiday home from a Ladybird book!”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Emmerson family, all three generations, has been holidaying in St Abbs and Coldingham for short breaks every year, sometimes twice a year, since 1982. Most recently, we've stayed at Brierydean on seven occasions and would have no hesitation at returning yet again. The house is beautifully-presented and maintained and is highly-adaptable for a family holiday. The conservatory is a boon.

Over the years, since we first starting holidaying in St Abbs, we have seen the steady increase in the local provision of cafes, museums, markets, galleries, play park and putting all within easy walking distance of Brierydean. St Abbs' harbour, Coldingham beach with its beach café and huts and the St Abbs Head clifftop walk, Coldingham village with the Priory and friendly bars all combine into the kind of holiday illustrated in a Ladybird book. Local buses get you into Eyemouth in ten minutes (visit Giacopazzis for ice cream and fish and chips!) and Berwick in half an hour for more urban pleasures. As a holiday it's quiet , restful, maybe a bit old-fashioned, and we love it.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheoNick
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Has Everything You Need”
Reviewed May 24, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This kind lady offered her house for rent on the Bedlington Terrier Rescue Association site for a charity auction being held. I was the lucky bidder. I visited here for two days last weekend. The house is comfortable, clean, well equipped and is in a great location for exploring St Abbs and the surrounding area. It has a downstairs bedroom and downstairs bathroom and two good sized rooms upstairs. Masses of games and dvds to keep the kids entertained. An added bonus is that it is pet friendly. We have fallen in love with St Abbs and can't believe it has been here on our doorstep and we have never visited before but we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pimlett
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Brierydean is the perfect home from home ,everything you need for a comfortable stay. Loved having our meals in the conservatory looking out to an enclosed pretty garden which is ideal for our two dogs. A few minutes walk away you have the breathtaking views of the sea and a lovely walk to Coldringham Bay. Everyone is friendly in the area. On our last visit we were lucky to see dolphins swimming but missed out this time. Hoping to stay there longer next time so we can explore more of the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sachith D
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely Christmas holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

It was a lovely Christmas holiday spent at this accommodation. All facilities were perfectly available and the fire place added more life to the holiday spirit. The house is well maintained and we enjoyed the time spent there very much. The view from the surrounding is breathtaking and glad we were blessed with a few days of good weather, despite the stormy winds on Christmas day. Thank you for a memorable holiday you let us enjoy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernadett...
1 review
“Dh.”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A lovely weekend in a beautiful place with excellent accommodation. We will definately think of returning next year. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad3055...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfy and cosy cottage”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in St Abbs. The village itself is very quiet, quaint and unspoilt and the cottage ideally situated for a stroll to the harbour or a cliff top walk of only 10 mins to the lovely bay at Coldingham. The clean and homely accommodation suited us very well as grandma slept in the downstairs bedroom across from the bathroom and the two younger members of the family were upstairs. The beds were comfy and the conservatory light and warm in the daytime. The nearby post office was an added bonus as we could top up with basic provisions. There are two good eating places in the village and a good grocers in Coldingham. It was useful to be able to pull the car off the road onto the front gravelled area. The owner was very pleasant on the phone and all the arrangements for keys,directions and refund of damage security payment faultless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing