We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay !”
Review of Finca Punta Ayampe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca Punta Ayampe
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ayampe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

beautiful property and cabanas! totally peaceful and relaxing ...the sounds of birds in the morning will stay with me for a while .. the food was FAB as well ! thank you Aldo

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
3  Thank GlynENewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALDOR005, Propietario at Finca Punta Ayampe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Glyn,

Thank you a lot for the positive message! We work very hard to bring our customers the best posible.

Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 173 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a wonderful place, terrific view and great experience! Staff wonderful and very accommadating, food excellant! Thank you Aldo! Do use the mosquito nets and don't be afraid of stairs. Loved our stay this past January 2012. Would highly recomend. We don't speak Spanish but everyone understood each other!
Fred and Pat

Room Tip: If you are over 50 or don't like walking a lot of stairs, stay in the main lodge. No AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patfredLakeSuzyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We had 3 lovely days at Punta Ayampe. We stayed in one of the cabanas with a beautiful view, and had some great meals. The staff was really helpful. Nice surfing, yoga only 5 minutes from the hotel, quiet beach and couple of Nice restaurants in the small village. I cannot imagine people go to the overcrowed montanita ..

Room Tip: Ask for a cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALDOR005, Propietario at Finca Punta Ayampe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Nicole,

We are very glad that you liked your private bungalow. And thank you for your nice comment. Finca Punta Ayampe is waiting for you to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I stayed at Finca Punta Ayampe for 5 days and it was absolutely wonderful! I had no idea what to expect since I was on an archaeology study abroad trip, but after one day I knew this place was amazing. Mariscal, the manager, and the entire staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Anytime we needed anything Mariscal was there to assist with a beautiful smile on his face! I have been all over Ecuador and this place honestly has the best food I have ever tasted! The cabins we stayed in had beautiful views of the ocean and the stars. I would love to come back and visit again because I really feel it would be like coming home. Thank you so much to Mariscal and the entire staff!
With much love,
Lisa from Santa Fe College

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisakinn218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALDOR005, Propietario at Finca Punta Ayampe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Lisa,

We are very glad that you found here what you were looking for! Come back soon, the paradise is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Wonderful place to be! Got the advice to stay there from close friends. After staying short time in heavy Montanita we drove to the Finca - and everything there war quiet and relaxed. The wooden house we got was on a very pleasent spot and wew had a very beautiful sight. It was very calm and safe. Of course you don´t have luxery there but I guess you don´t need it in Ayampe. Everything is there and Marsical, the Manager as well as Aldo, the owner are very interesting guys. They give you lots of good informations. There´s a lot you can do there. Even if my horse fell down - riding on the beach is great and the beach is lovely and there is almost noone around - even if the current is very dangerous. Also the food at the Finca is good. When we paid I had to pay with traveller checks because there was NO BANK in 100 miles around that could change my checks or change USD or Euro bills. Aldo took them and didn´t get money as well so he had to send me the checks back to Germany and I had to send him the money again. No word from him complaining.
A very chilly and lovely place. If we make it to Ecuador again we come back - no doubt.
Friends of mine went there later and say the same!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirschpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALDOR005, Propietario at Finca Punta Ayampe, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear hirsh

Thank you very much for appreciating our service and magical place. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

The good: excellent personal attention from Mariscal, the manager; superb food, including fresh home-made bread, home-grown vegetables and fruit; friendly and interesting fellow-guests, and a wonderful location with good views of the long, empty beach. Ayampe is a bus-ride away from either Puerto Lopez to the north, or Montanyita to the south, which means you are well away from any crowds, suiting us fine.
The bad: despite two emails confirming the agreed price, this was increased by 33% on our arrival, from 60 to 80 dollars a night, spoiling our otherwise positive impressions of the hotel. 'A mistake' was the only excuse offered. The hired transfer from the airport also wanted more than the agreed price as 'he had to wait for the plane' (which arrived on time).
The cabin was basic, with bunk beds and nowhere else to sit, so don't come looking for luxuries. We had to borrow stools from the main house. One hammock in the balcony in a cabin for 6, and a small bathroom.
Overall, this is an OK place to stay for a relaxing few day;, the view and the location make up for the negatives above.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clive b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Found this place...thanks to the magic of tripadviser.... and after a long and torturous journey...made our way to this little piece of paradise tucked away in a verdant hill facing the majestic pacific.
Finca Punta Ayampe turned out to be beyond our expectation... exceeding everything we'd hoped for... surprising us at each stage with wonderful touches.
The main lodge is an architectural delight...wood & glass...and wind chimes... perfection. You can sit outside at the balcony meditating to the sound of the waves...while at the same time being stumped by the sheer ingenuity and resourcefulness of the kitchen menu! Everything we tried was fresh, homegrown, and absolutely delicious!!! (Btw, we empirically tested their claim at the gate that their pizza was the best in the world...it is!!!)
The Cabinas at the other end, hidden like little jewels in an emerald necklace, were even more of a treat! Lying in the hammock on the porch, reading, watching the diverse and rich bird/wildlife, experiencing stunning sunsets...and much much more!!!
We could live here forever....and that is precisely what this place inspires in you...a feeling of peace and tranquility.... a feeling of being at ease with the world...and all its creatures.
Isho, our host at the lodge, took such good care of us that we often forgot that we weren't at home! Lorenzo the house-cat kept us entertained with his antics... and the staff made sure our creature comforts were well attended to!
We couldn't recommend this place any more if we wanted to! If you're the kind of traveler that enjoys nature and harmony, this is THE place for you... if you're looking for an impersonal hotel with all the trimmings, its perhaps best you wander elsewhere...

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank himalayan_gypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayampe
10.4 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 9 in Montanita
562 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ganso & Buho
Ganso & Buho
#5 of 15 in Ayampe
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Campito Art Lodge
El Campito Art Lodge
#3 of 15 in Ayampe
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spondylus Lodge Hotel
Spondylus Lodge Hotel
#4 of 15 in Ayampe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Punta Ayampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Punta Ayampe

Address: At the End of the Cementery Road, Ayampe 131401, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Ayampe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ayampe
Price Range: $56 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Punta Ayampe 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Punta Ayampe is a natural paradise set in a peaceful tropical forest hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean (only 190m./600 ft. off the beach) where you may well witness the spectacular views of the immense sea, our white long sandy beach and the mystical Islet of Los Ahorcados. Finca Punta Ayampe is your ideal Tour Operations Centre for several activities such as surfing, sea kayak, SCUBA diving, HBR as well as hiking or trekking the preserved Frailes Beach or the dry forest trails of Aguablanca. Our surf hotel’s surroundings are filled with magic and nature charm like Ayampe River’s estuary or the inland route to tropical rain forest Guale. The evening entertainment is guarantee as we are so very close to Montañita and its renowned night life. All these activities can be easily accessed from Finca Punta Ayampe Surf Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Finca Punta Ayampe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing