We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spondylus Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spondylus Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ayampe
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a great place for surfers, couples and everybody who loves to detach from the noise of big cities. It is really close to the beach (1 min walking), surrounded by nature, and managed by a young couple (Florian and Majo) who take well care of their guests.

I can warmly recommend Spondylus Lodge. I've met many people there who spontaneously decided to stay longer because they liked the place so much. I had to leave after 1 week unfortunately to catch my flight back to Europe, but I'd have loved to stay much longer!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C. If you don't care about A/C you can save some money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
24
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks. My first impression on this lodge is "super clean". Secondary, I felt like I was at home. It was so comfortable and I forgot how long I stayed there. The owner is a surfer and me tambien, and we had a good wave together. His mother and girlfriend cook well and if you are lucky, you can enjoy the dishes some time. If you like nature or like to surf, here is really worth a stay! There are cute dog and cat here. So lovely place!

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masa_I2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

So i dont realy know how to make Kritik but anyway its my First Review.

I was being and living with These guays owners like 4 weeks. I have to explain that the hotel was opening in january 2013 but i came already in december 2012. It was amazing time there, Majo is Petty nice person and can help you figure out what ever you want. Flo is just in Background making Executive Things. But they live there and i have been a gast of this small family including gato diego and perrita saphira. I have been traveling alone, but they took time to let me feel like home, and that in the hardest time - preopening of the hotel.

Guys i Love you so much!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel für 2 weeks and did not want to leave. Really nice garden, 2 sweet puppies (1 Cat Diego and 1 dog Saphira) and the beach is amazing. You get down to nothing in that place, just relax....
For all who want to surf is it also the best place to stay. Florian help you in all stuff belonging to surf and show you also nice spots. Gracias Majo tambien por recommenda una esquela de espanol a mi ;-) Aprendo mucho ;-)

Room Tip: all rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spondylus logde is really a nice little hosteria: the rooms are clean and neatly decorated, the beds are superb and the whole location produces an intense atmosphere of easyness and well-being. Moreover Ayampe is lying on a pristine and highly surfable beach strip - It is a big attraction while at the same time being quiet and laid-back.

For me it was for sure the best value I had on my whole trip through Ecuador!
Come here - and reckon to extend your trip!

Best wishes to Flo & Majo
Wolfgang

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gruener0wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've been traveling the world for over a year straight and have been to many hostels, hotels, homestays, etc and I have seen the good, the bad, and the ugly. So here's a quick review of this spot which I really like.

I was going to stay in this area for 3 nights, but today will already be my 7th night and there's a reason for that. This place Spondylus is good, really good. Its brand new, super nice and the couple that runs the place Flo & Majo make it warm and inviting and make you want to stay longer. I think there's 3 or 4 private rooms and one 4 bed shared room in the main house and then there's 2 private rooms in another building on site. There's a really nice kitchen to use, we've actually already shared many meals since I've been here. There's also a good living space just to chill in w/ stone fireplace, good size flat screen TV, etc. Everyone that has stayed here that I've met stays longer than they planned for good reason.

Spondylus has a good vibe and Ayampe is beautiful. I was actually reluctant to even write a review because I don't want a bunch of people coming here, I want it to stay just the same, but I decided i needed to give some props to Flo & Majo for creating such a cool spot and sharing it with others.

If you stay here, you'll be happy you did and that's my quick review of this spot!

PS If you want to find the place its right across the street from La Buena Vida which is also a good spot, but I actually like the way this place Spondylus is set up, plus you have the option of using the new kitchen here to cook meals if you want and they actually just built a cool bbq grill too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustFreeYourself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayampe
0.4 mi away
Finca Punta Ayampe
Finca Punta Ayampe
#1 of 11 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
0.0 mi away
La Tortuga
La Tortuga
#9 of 11 in Ayampe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Campito Art Lodge
El Campito Art Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Orishas
Hostal Los Orishas
#2 of 6 in Ayampe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Viejamar Hostel
Viejamar Hostel
#1 of 5 in Las Tunas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spondylus Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spondylus Lodge Hotel

Property: Spondylus Lodge Hotel
Address: Ruta del Spondylus KM 86, Ayampe 00001, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Ayampe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Ayampe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spondylus Lodge is a small lodge ownered and operated by an Ecuadorian/German couple. It offers six modernern rooms each with a private balcony. Four rooms are air conditioned and two have fans. We have a large common area where guests can watch TV, play table soccer or just sit on the couch in front of the fireplace and read a book,listen to music or play a board game. A modern community kitchen is also available for guests to use. Each morning fresh brewed coffee or tea and fruits are available at no charge. Nature lovers, surfers and travellers of all kinds are welcome here year round. During our high seaason, December through May, discounts are available to guests staying six or more days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Spondylus Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing