We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Buena Vida Hotel- Ayampe
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Ancora(Puerto Lopez)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pacifico(Puerto Lopez)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsafiki Hosteria(Las Tunas)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hosteria Pachos House(Olon)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Kundalini(Montanita)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dharma Beach(Montanita)
$99
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveler rating
199
26
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
26
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurf lessonsgreat placela buenafrench toastpancakesdelicious breakfastnon surfersin townevery morningsurf shopgreat hostslaid backmassage therapistgreat surfother gueststhanks guyslearn how
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 225 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had originally booked for two nights and ended up staying for ten! Keith and Marilyn (the owners) deserve the unamimous opinion that this place is excellent. They are true hospitality professionals and made us feel like old friends La Buena Vida will keep a piece of you and you will feel its magnetism the moment you leave. That's why I know I'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tangoalphayank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Where the rain forest meets the beach, there is nothing like this place. We have found paradise and Bungalows La Buena Vida is the place to stay. Can't say enough about the staff and Keith and Marilyn. They made everything possible when we first landed by picking us up from the airport to setting up trail hikes, horse back riding, surfing, whale watching, snorkeling, and what ever we desired. There staff is fantastic, food is great, its ambiance is so relaxing and laid back, you just lose all sense of time. This place is new, rooms spacious, very clean and comfortable. The massages are fantastic. Breakfast and fresh squeezed juice from local fruit served every morning was the best meal of the day. Thanks Keith and Marilyn, you made our adventure a dream come true, I'LL BE BACK !

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanswinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Went here in November and had a great time! Ayampe is a super chill town and very relaxed! had the chance to stay in 2 other hostels nearby and La Buena Vida is by far the best one in Ayampe in terms of service, value and all other aspects. Keith and Marilyn are great and really got to know us and all the other guests. Always tried to get us all together and made us feel at home! The beach is also amazing and only a short walk from La buena vida! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Ayampe! This was the only place in Ecuador where I had a hot shower =) thx for a great time!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We honeymooned here--not a traditional choice, but between the incredibly quiet beach only a short walk away, the amazing and very personal service provided by Keith and Marilyn (they set up excursions for us whenever we needed and make killer salsa), and the quiet safety of Ayampe, nothing could have fit our personalities better. It was a wonderfully relaxing place to spend 11 nights. Hot water every day. Restaurants to try out nearby. Being there that long, we found so many other hostels and hosterias nearby that we could've stayed at. We asked about those others, and every single one we found didn't compare with the service and accommodations of Bungalows La Buena Vida. We HIGHLY recommend this over any other possible place to stay between Montanita and Puerto Lopez (maybe even farther), and to anyone looking for a quiet, comfortable, safe stay with customer service that is second-to-none.

They ALSO have plans to add a pool and fitness center!

Thank you Keith and Marilyn!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you couldn't already tell by the other reviews, Bungalows La Buena Vida is AMAZING. From the hospitality of the owners to the accommodations and food, the whole experience just really makes you realize you've discovered a little gem in the middle of Ecuador.

The owners, Keith and Marilyn, go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay and are doing everything you set out to do. Their knowledge on the area is extensive and they are always willing to suggest a place to eat or your next adventure.

The surfing lessons are a complete blast and unlike other classes I've taken. Keith is extremely knowledgable on surfing technique and is determined to get you up on the board and cruising. His upbeat attitude and support make the lessons an enjoyable memory.

If you're looking for a unique adventure in the middle of paradise or a place that has yet to "blow up" or invaded by thousands of tourists, Ayampe is it, and Bungalows La Buena Vida is where you NEED to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra costs for the upgraded room with AC. Its worth it to sleep comfortably.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristenPilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews