We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, lovely service, a perfect evening in Alsace!”
Review of Au Soleil

Au Soleil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $57
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 17, 2018

This restaurant was recommended by a local vitner in Wettolsheim, and we absolutely loved it! The price was reasonable for the amazing food and wine we had. Our dinner included escargot, foie gras (2 types), 6 types of meat, local sauerkraut, creme brulee, and more! Don't be alarmed by this restaurant being connected to a hotel - it was 100% worth it! The food was some of the best I've ever had, presentation and flavor were perfect. The owners were pleasant and the service was friendly and attentive. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2018

We were in 2018 February in the restaurant. The food was very abundant and the welcome great.
I recomment it

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Yves1342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017

Situated in the outskirt of Colmar, this family run restaurant also has lodging attached. We visited last winter for lunch/ brunch and the decor was quite festive. The dining room is higher than the street so it was nice to look out to the crisp and grey winter sky.
The portion is big, and the presentation is flawless.The wines, the food, and the hospitality was done in such familiarity you only find in a place like this. We were greeted by the owners both which made you feel like you were there not just a customer, but old friends. I have never had experienced restaurant quite like this one.
They have menu du jour that serve the wild boar that was "kill of the day" courtesy of the owner's son. I had the veal's head stew. But my favourite was the entree which was Foie Gras Poele which was another hit with me. Alsace is the region of sweeter wines like Gewurztraminer and Riesling. We undoubtedly had all that throughout the meal :)
I would definitely come back to this restaurant, for it was priced quite reasonably for such special meals and service.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vinaboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

This is an "Out of the way" family owned restaurant with hotel. However it is only minutes from Riquewihr and Eguishiem. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 course meal with a small soup that was complimentary. We had pate, scallops, veal and a plate of small desserts. The meal was like the "best of" the chef had to offer. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for something special.

The proprietors do not speak English although there was a very nice young lady who spoke English and helped when needed.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank U7512ZKsharonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015

Delicious delicious delicious and so relaxed! After spending two days helping out the local wine producer with grape picking (exhausted!) we were told to visit this restaurant. It was packed with locals on a Tuesday! Sensationally tender veal fillet covered with an intense buttery herb packed breadcrumb topping, served with the best polenta I have ever tasted. It's great to be eating maize in an area that grows so much of it. The 1/4 serve of pinos Gris was sublime and the service excellent. If you are brave, and happy to travel 15 mins out of colmar, this is the restaurant for you. A very relaxed family restaurant with superb food!

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodieheaven00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Soleil also viewed

Wettolsheim, Haut-Rhin
Eguisheim, Haut-Rhin
 
Eguisheim, Haut-Rhin
 

Been to Au Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing