We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay in Benjy's gîte!”
other travelers have booked this property
Le Château de la Motte as seen from the gîtes.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Château de la Motte as seen from the gîtes.
The gîtes as they appear from the road. A view of the lake.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Le Château de la Motte as seen from the gîtes.
The gîtes as they appear from the road.
A view of the lake.
Lakeside, with doggies.
Table set for two in front 15th Century building housing gîtes.
Stone stairwell leading up to gîte.
Looking through open doors from entrance.
The kitchen. Double aspect views through windows that are over two metres high.
Room for four people to eat at the table.
Fitted with all you would expect to find in a well-equipped kitchen.
Salon. Four metre high ceilings and double-aspect windows.
Furnished traditionally, with a large sofa and matching armchair plus coffee tables, etc.
There is a TV/DVD player - a quick knock on the Château door is all that's needed to loan DVDs!
The Salon.
Two doors into the bathroom: one directly from the bedroom, and one from the Salon.
Bathroom fitted with large level access walk-in shower, toilet, hand washbasin, heated towel rail.
Bathroom window looks out over the front, over towards neighbouring fields where horses graze.
Bedroom looks out over the gardens, with the Château to the left.
Furnished with a wrought iron style 5ft bed, bedside tables, chest of drawers, hanging space.
View of Château from window.
View over gardens to some of the park, from window.
View over fields from window.
View of gîte, looking up from outside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ecouche, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Finally_A...
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay in Benjy's gîte!”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our family stayed in Benjy's gîte for 7 nights. The rural location - just outside of Écouché village in Normandy - was exactly what we were looking for!
Mandy, Carl and Sam were incredibly good hosts - their welcome was superb and we received plenty of tips regarding things to do in the surrounding areas throughout our stay. Their dogs (all 7 of them!!) were very friendly and got along very well with our Alsatian.
The gîte itself was stunning - very spacious, clean and well looked after. The garden (including the lake with all the ducks) was very well-maintained and filled with tranquility, we thoroughly enjoyed spending time outdoors as the weather was lovely.
We also visited some of the towns nearby - Argentan, Écouché, Bagnoles-de-l'Orne. The people in the area don't speak much English but are very friendly and welcoming, not to mention the fresh French produce and wine which never let us down!!
TO DOG OWNERS - if you need to see a vet during your stay (which you will do if you travel to UK afterwards for the tapeworm treatment), Mandy can recommend a fantastic vet practice that she takes her dogs to. We took our dog there and they were brilliant. Our vet didn't speak much English and we didn't know much French but he brought a dictionary and made every effort to help us out!

All in all, a fabulous stay and will definitely return in the future with either more family or some friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the huge garden, the owners
Liked least: Nothing, everything was great!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you for such a great review and for being such perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telltheba...
suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb hosts, location and accommodation”
Reviewed August 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Benjy's gite because it promised dog friendly accommodation and unlike some other places advertising the same, this one lived up to that promise. From the moment we arrived, Mandy, Carl and Sam made us and our two Labradors feel welcome, and are excellent hosts. They are such down to earth people that we felt immediately at home as if we had known them for years. The gite was superb and well-equipped with large rooms and huge windows, and the outdoor space fantastic for the dogs, who enjoyed swimming in the lake or playing on the lawns. We too enjoyed sitting in the outside areas, which are peaceful and well-maintained. The chateau dogs are all friendly, and the chateau itself stunning. Though the weather was not the best, we found plenty to do, with good walks nearby and places to visit, and nearby Ecouche has a great restaurant, and an excellent and very reasonably-priced vet. We will be hoping to return next year, and only wish we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the gite and grounds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful homely place to stay; rich in its own history, beautiful land and beyond relaxing.”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Château in April this year for a few days, our stay was amazing. The journey from the ferry was short and very straight forward with the directions from the owners. On arriving at our destination we were greeted by a tree lined avenue that took us to the tall entrance gates of the château. The gates opened and we were met with the gorgeous green lawns and the lake then the beautiful château itself.
Mandy, Karl and Sam welcomed us with a warm, friendly and homely manner; as did Ronnie, Reggie, Albert, Flo, Bee and Winnie! :)
The grounds are stunning, lush green lawns, a huge variety of tall trees and flowers, La Motte, 2 Victorian lakes - 1 with a duck island!, all safely contained within the perimeter wall making it perfect for visitors with children and/or dogs.
Sam has a wonderful and enthusiastic knowledge of the history and events that have taken place at the Chateau and is keen to share it with you. a truly interesting place.
During our stay we experienced a truly friendly, relaxing and fantastic service that the family our offering.
The gites are all completed to a high specification giving a beautiful mix of luxury and homely comforts.
We were given a tour of the grounds and they explained their plans to host weddings, a stunning and intimate wedding venue, the backdrop will make amazing photos!
We visited the local towns, a short drive to the market, the intermarche, amazing bread and cake shops and some very good local restaurants.
I would absolutely recommended the chateau for a safe, relaxing and beautiful holiday, for yourself, a couple, a family with children or dogs, or both! Great value for money to top it all off.
Thank you Mandy, Karl and Sam for welcoming us, for a relaxing and fun stay. Keep up the good work and we look forward to staying again......a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly people and beautiful surrounding. or the cheese! the Brie is amazing!
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampall
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxation of both body and mind and so much more besides.......”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent 4 days in this gorgeous location, I was consumed by the peace and tranquillity as well as the beauty of the area. It is close enough to the local village and shops should you need them, but set far enough away as to feel as though you can relax and appreciate the beauty that nature provides every day. The hosts are a very friendly, dog loving couple and nothing is too much trouble to help you fall in love with this majestic property and all that it has to offer. I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josephine...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A chance to relax in historic & peaceful surroundings.”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Once you enter through the grand cast iron gates, we got a feeling immediately of peace and began to relax straight away. You may get greeted by 6 very friendly pups, we did, who will happily show you around the gardens & you will see ducks on the lake with their very own impressive house. We were completely wowed by the history of the land and the chateau.

The gite is incredible, beautifully (well done to the history of the building) decorated and spacious. Hunting round the local area we found the local village, only a short drive away, where we got supplies of fresh bread, cooked meats and vegetables fresh from the market. There is a huge supermarket also close buy for anything else you may need.

The great thing about this place as well, especially if your like me & can't speak very much French. The owners are fluent English speaking people. The owners son was very helpful in directing us to interesting places that were around as well as filling us in on the amazing history of the chateau.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone. I am happily going to book another trip as I know I didn't see all we wanted to and we enjoyed our stay so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing