We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopover in a very quiet little town”
Review of Le Lion d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Lion d'Or
Ranked #2 of 2 Ecouche B&B and Inns
Marigny Marmande
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stopover in a very quiet little town”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

M 66 & J 68 stayed 1 night for the 2nd time 11 Nov 2013.
The twin room was again very well presented and spotlessly clean. The inclusion of soaps and toiletries is always appreciated and not available at all establishments. Breakfast consists of your own bread basket at your table with either tea, coffee or chocolate served to you. You then help yourself to cereals, fruit juice, cold meat, cheese, fruit salad, jams, butter etc at the buffet table. If you are hungry after all of this then you aren't trying hard enough!! We took dinner here as well and the chef/proprietor is a very gifted cook - always something out of the ordinary and extremely tasty with excellent service. Do not be put off by the rather clinical reception area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnomes37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had an overnight stay here on our way to Le Havre. Ecouche was badly bombed in WWII and unattractively rebuilt. A 2-star (not more) hotel on a street corner. Unpleasant room although bathroom was OK. There was a decent garden but the railway ran alongside it. the redeeming feature was the evening meal surprisingly tasty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeNW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ecouche hotels

Saumur, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We thought it was a very quiet nice little hotel. If you want to shop around this is not the place to stay better off in Argentan. The breakfast was very basic and we had to share a croissant between the two of us for 3 mornings during our stay and the biggest disappointment was the evening meal. for 21 euros my husband had a delicious onion soup but sadly the lamb was not accompanied by any vegetables or side dishes. I had a soup too as was not very hungry and asked if I could have 6 snails which were 8.5 euros but they charged me 21 euros which made the soup 12.5 euros which must be the most expensive soup on this planet but they insisted it was the price and i reluctantly paid , so beware

Room Tip: Probably an up grade may be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njkswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Our ferry arrived into Cherbourg two hours late due to bad weather conditions. We quickly realised we would not arrive at the hotel until 9.30 so telephoned the hotel only to be told the restaurant closes at 8.30 but she agreed to prepare us a light supper to be eaten in the room. So unfortunately because of this, we cannot comment on the restaurant.
Although the hotel is situated in the centre of a village, it is a quiet location.
We considered the room rather jaded with very old furniture which gave it a dismal feel and very much earned itself the 2 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-FIZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ecouche
4.1 mi away
Aries Hotel Argentan
Aries Hotel Argentan
#2 of 3 in Argentan
49 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hostellerie de la Renaissance
13.7 mi away
Ibis Falaise Coeur de Normandie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Le Pavillon de Gouffern
Le Pavillon de Gouffern
#1 of 1 in Silly en Gouffern
127 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel des Voyageurs
Hotel des Voyageurs
#3 of 5 in Argentan
23 reviews
12.3 mi away
La Petite France
La Petite France
#1 of 1 in Le Chateau-d'Almeneches
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Lion d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Lion d'Or

Property: Le Lion d'Or
Address: 1 rue Pierre Pigot, 61150 Ecouche, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Ecouche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ecouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Lion d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing