We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful stay at the 12 Apostles Secret Spot B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Princetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
12 Apostles Secret Spot
Ranked #1 of 2 Princetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for one night just before Christmas. My wife and I and two kids, so we booked both rooms. Each room had a queen size bed (the kids shared a bed), and an en suite bathroom with shower. The rooms were comfortable and homey, each nicely stocked with a selection of teas, instant coffee, cookies, and a hot water boiler.
After dinner at a restaurant in Princetown, we headed to the 12 Apostles Secret Spot B&B around 9:00 PM, just as the sun was setting. Robyn and Van Lamme came to meet us at the gate and were very warm and welcoming. We were a little tired from our travels, so she just quickly showed us our rooms, explained a couple of things, and left us on our own. We all got a very good nights sleep.
As others have mentioned, the rooms / beds / bathrooms / towels were very clean and neat. Couldn’t ask for more. Our bed was very comfortable and the kids had a great night sleep in their bed as well. The rooms were eclectically decorated with very good taste and a wide variety of found and purchased items. We loved the style.
We woke to a beautiful sunrise the next day. Robyn asked my daughter if she would like to collect the eggs from the chicken coop for breakfast, an offer which was readily accepted! Soon we were eating a nice breakfast of fresh eggs, bacon, roasted tomatoes, toast, and orange juice. Hearty and delicious.
We spent the next hour or two walking around the yard just checking out all of the interesting and creative ‘recovered / recycled’ art that Robyn has created and placed around her property. Many of the items are things she has collected from the beach… Just like in the rooms, we really liked her style and my kids got some good ideas for projects of their own back at home.
At breakfast, Robyn wrote a list of suggestions for places we should stop along our way (driving to Robe from Princetown). It was a great list, and we highly recommend the stops recommended!
In conclusion, we all give Robyn and the 12 Apostles Secret Spot B&B two thumbs up! We loved it and highly recommend it. (our only regret was that we only booked 1 night here… Two nights would have been nicer, especially with all there is to do in the area.)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeSeetheWorldinStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am still thankful that I found this secret spot to stay during Christmas. Robyn herself was a Christmas joy to me.Her smile and welcoming made the long road trip from Adelaide worthwhile. The room we stayed in was very lovely, from the comfortable bed to the clean room and beautiful decorations...made me regret not staying longer!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvinavoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in December at this quiet, clean and comfortable B&B with wonderful cooked breakfasts, tea and fruit juice. Our room overlooked Robyn's fascinating garden with spectacular countryside views. Robyn is great and provided an itinerary of the best places to see all the way along the Great Ocean Road to Port Fairy.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank oxley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Myself and some friends stayed here for 1 night during our trip along the great ocean road. It was only a short drive from the 12 apostles and on leaving, the hostess wrote us an itinerary of things not to miss during our drive the next day to Melbourne which was great. The rooms were comfortable and clean and lovely gardens with chairs for star gazing at night. All in all, don't have a bad word to say about it and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night on Tripadvisors recommendation and were not disappointed. We were there in winter and Robyn had kindly put the heater on in the room prior to our arrival. Our room was at the back with lovely views. Perhaps the name of the B & B is a little misleading as it's situated on top of a hill about 3 klm from the sea. but the views were lovely. Robyn's home is very nice with lots of quirky knick knacks. Our room was completely seperate at the back of the home with seperate entry. When we got back at night after having dinner at 12 Rocks Cafe in Port Campbell (Robyn's excellent recommendation), it was very dark, but Robyn had left a torch on the post near the letter box. The room basically consisted of a bed in a smallish room, with a large bathroom, but that's all we needed. It was very clean, with good heating in the bathroom as well. Bed and linen was great. We had a lovely verandah with chairs and a table, but couldn't use it because of the cold weather. Breakfast was served the next morning in Robyn's dining room She served up a delicious bacon & eggs breakfast, with juice,but apart from offering more toast, nothing else was on offer. Perhaps we're used to having cereal, toast, bacon & eggs, fruit and yogurt when staying in B & B's. We had enough to eat but were expecting more. Robyn was very helpful in recommending places to see in the area, and we had a lovely stay with her.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My wife and I loved our stay at the Twelve Apostles Secret Spot B&B.

The location is gorgeous (not to mention convenient), the accommodations are comfortable, and the hostess is wonderful. What more can you ask for in a B&B that's a stone's throw away from some of the biggest attractions on the Great Ocean Road?

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0ct0rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night whilst travelling along the Great Ocean Road and we both loved it. Robyn (the owner) is a really nice welcoming person and the location is fantastic being just 5 minutes from the Great Ocean Road itself but surrounded by peaceful countryside.

The room itself was finished in a homely manner but to a high standard and the bed was very comfortable. There were lots of nice little touches such as a jar of homemade cookies to go with the tea / coffee and the breakfast in the morning was very good.

Robyn also told us of several places to go to where we could enjoy the spectacular coastline views without the mass of tourists (as we were there over the Easter weekend) which we really appreciated.

I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csyuk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.3 mi away
Twelve Apostles Motel & Country Retreat
7.5 mi away
Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn
7.5 mi away
Portside Motel
Portside Motel
#1 of 11 in Port Campbell
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Port Campbell Parkview Apartments
2.7 mi away
Clifton Beach Lodge
Clifton Beach Lodge
#2 of 8 in Princetown
27 reviews
10.0 mi away
Southern Anchorage Retreat
Southern Anchorage Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wattle Hill
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 12 Apostles Secret Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 12 Apostles Secret Spot

Address: 2299 Princetown Road, Princetown, Victoria 3269, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range: $78 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a weekend getaway? Need some peace and serenity in the country?12 Apostles Bed and Breakfast awaits you. A country farm house refurbished for comfort, we offer a quiet place to relax and recharge. Minutes away from the 12 Apostles, The Great Ocean Walk, Gibsons Steps & other great surf beaches - there’s plenty of attractions to suit everyone. Get up for an early surf and come back for a cooked breakfast on the verandah - overlooking the Otway hinterland! Sound good? Check out the pics! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
12 Apostles Secret Spot Australia/Princetown, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing