We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
China Sea Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Bauang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have stayed several times in this hotel and will definitely keep coming back :)
Positive:

The rooms are spacious, clean and with equipped with the basics (lockers/hot and cold shower/TV). The resort is generally quiet and peaceful. The restaurant operates 24/7. It serves delicious western/Filipino meals at affordable prices. There is also a pool for you to dip after a tiring day.

The staffs are all accommodating. So if there is anything you need just ask them and it will be granted so long as it is allowed and in line with the resort's policies.

Negative:

You can't swim at the beach, there is no shoreline...

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidiliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
12
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is a relatively small quiet hotel but a real gem in terms of the seamless check in/check out, the fabulous food and attentive staff.Our food was understaed but appetizing. The other guests appeared to be family groups leaving much of the poolside to us alone.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelescitypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Having grown up in Baguio City, we frequent the place especially for short getaways.... To escape the stress and bustles of city life...
China Sea Beach resort provides ample relaxation. They offer comfortable rooms for a fair price.
The pool though is small- just right for a quick swim. Beach area has been decreased through out the years. Land area is no longer visible especially during times of high tide, unlike the past years where you could still walk through the shore.
Restaurant food is great as there are many options to choose from. I really like their entrees and desserts (most are off-menu though). :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Percuseon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed here with my brother in Oct for about 3 nights. It's a bit out from the bustle of the town - kind of a long strip along the the China Sea, but close to some restaurants, clubs, etc, and you can always get a motorbike or tuk tuk wherever you want to go. There are a couple of excellent restaurants within a short ride. The place itself is spacious and was not empty but far from crowded. The restaurant was pretty good, and open most of the day and evening. Lovely view of the China. It's right on the water, but not a great beach on this whole stretch. It was a good 15 minutes by tuk tuk to get to the really good beaches for surfing or swimming but you can certainly wade or jump into the water here. And there are little boats and canoes that go out from a place next door. The staff was very friendly and relaxed and the place felt peaceful and safe. The room are very simple but clean and fine. The layout of the place overall is lovely with a cute pool in the center, and the open air restaurant looking out on the China Sea. (The place was for sale at the time, but I'm happy to see it's still in business).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eammorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Have stayed 4 or 5 times in past 2 years. Much nicer than surrounding resorts. Unfortunately the "Beach" in Bauang has pretty much dissapeared but this place has maintained a very good appearance and a very well trained staff.

Food is average but "La Cantina" VFW Post Mexican Resto. is 1 km up the road so good food is nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Old_Hoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in this resort for four days around the first week of April 2012. The resort is a nice simple place, with clean pool (but with strong chlorine scent and the pool floor was rough). Staff were nice and very welcoming. They were with smiles and very polite. Stayed in the VIP room facing the pool. The room was spacious and very clean, air-con worked great, but the TV was set too high, showers were working and bathroom was clean. Comfortable bed, clean towels and linens and clean room overall. I loved the room, nice to rest and relax. We had a room with easy access to the pool and restaurant which was okay but at times can hear the noise outside from people having their dip on the pool.

The restaurant offers a great menu but a little too pricey. We had to wait for 15 mins for our orders, but it was okay coz the food tasted good. The staff are great anyways, friendly and nice, so waiting isn't a big deal.

The only downside to this nice resort is the beach (lots of seaweeds and rocky) plus there's no sandy shore to enjoy a walk. From the resort, there's just narrow steps (kinda slippery too) leading to the waters, and it's waters already. How we'd love to take a nice walk in the early mornings but wasn't able to do it coz there's no sandy shore.

Overall, was a great nice and clean resort but hated the beach...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MenchM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The resort is old, poorly managed and maintained. We arrived at this reort during rainy season and as such the resort did not have many guests. We wanted to stay at this resort since its location is close to my wifes relatives. We explained to the reception staff we wanted to stay at the resort for 30 days at a family room (2 bedrooms). We were told the family room would not be available until after one week. As we did not book in advance, we accepted this and left for another resort much further away and returned back after one week. . We checked into family room #25, but in the first night we found a live snake in the bathroom floor, which was removed by security. At this pont we wanted to leave but the receptionist told us we can move to another family room #22 at a discounted rate of P 2,000 per night instead of usual P 2,550 so we agreed. The room 22 was very dusty, cob webs, when we first checked it out, but the housekeeping staff did a good job cleanng it so our stuff could be transferred over. The next day, the duty reception told us, why we didnt move into #22 earlier as it has been vacant for over a month. Imagine that after being told earlier by reception that there were no vacancy for family room. thus having us leave for one week waiting for family room opening. Well this was the first sign of poor management. After one week, one of the recpetionists told us, there had been a mistake and the only rate we would get was P 2,550. By this time, we were already settled in, bags all unpacked. Then the receptionist explained we need to settle the bill in cash only. This was strange as they have stickers for visa and master card all over. They told us, credit card is only good for one or two nights, but for longers, cash only, this was obviously a made up policy since they could not show me anything thing of this nonsence in writing. After the 2nd week staying in room #22, we were told we had to leave as the residents below our room were complaining over water dripping from a leak in our kitchen. The residents below room #22 are relatives of the shareholders (as expalined by the reception) and value themselves more than paying customers. The receptionist told us, we were a inconvience to the shareholders relatives downstairs. Imagine saying that! So much for being a valued customer at this decaying resort. With only 2 days notice to leave # 22, and with noth other family room available, we had no choice but to leave this resort. So instead of staying at the resort for 30 days, we were only allowed to stay there 11 days. We then left for a much better resort in san juan, at cheaper rates. The food at this resort is the only good thing. When we gave feedback to the reception on our last day, the reception and restaurant staff explained it was resort management / owners to blame and they are trying there best under difficult circumstances.

Overall, this resort is terrible. Very poorly managed, falling apart. No wonder this resort is up for sale- my advise is to stay away from this resort, there are penty other better resorts in the area and at better prices..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bauang
7.8 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#1 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Marand Resort & Spa
Marand Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bauang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Circle Hostel La Union
2.0 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Sea Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Sea Beach Resort

Property: China Sea Beach Resort
Address: Paringao, Bauang, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > Bauang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Bauang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
China Sea Beach Hotel Bauang
China Sea Beach Resort La Union/Bauang, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing