We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel London Stansted Airport(Stansted Mountfitchet)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
DeSalis Hotel(Elsenham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Bishops Stortford)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveler rating
357
817
601
237
170
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
817
601
237
170
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstansted airportan early flightper personevery half hourbreakfast was includedper adultpetrol stationshuttle servicean overnight stayyogurtstayed one nightcar parkingshort staybudget hotelfollowing morninghiebus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,180 - 1,185 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Holiday Inn Express are fast becoming our brand of choice for simple overnight stays. This hotel is very well situated very near the airport, plenty of parking and good size rooms. As with each hotel of this brand we have used, the property is modern, clean and well maintained. If you have a Gold Membership card (not difficult to achieve) you get free internet. Staff are friendly and helpful. There are no extra ‘luxuries’, but everything you need, not least a comfortable bed and a large bathroom with shower. Why pay more to stay one night before or after a flight?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. We do love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found all aspects to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

Melwin Fernandes

Guest service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

we stayed for one night in early April, there was 4 of us so we had 2 rooms unfortunetly our room had a non flushing toilet so we had to be moved but it wasnt a problem,also the rooms were so hot even with aircon turned down and no windows could be opened so i wouldnt want to stay there in the middle of summer! it was clean and quite and ideal for our early morning start but when checking in i didnt realize i had to pay a further £8 for parking one night! why wasnt that included in the original price when i booked? also in the morning we got up at 3am for an early flight to find there was no milk anywhere even though the coffee and tea machines where all available (this happened the last time we stayed there aprill 2012)
Having stayed there twice now we will be trying the near bye premier inn next time (sept 2013) as it is cheaper

Room Tip: better view out the front then the back (wasteland)
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We do love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.
I am sorry to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations
We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on customer service, room amenities and breakfast selection. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind Regards

Melwin fernandes
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there due to a very early flight. Service was great and so was the room. Overall I was happy with my one night stay, However was surprised that I had to pay for the bus between the hotel and the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do love to hear from all our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

It is a delight to see that you had a lovely stay and we look forward to seeing you soon,

Kindest Regards,

Melwin Fernandes
Guest Service Mnanager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stopped for one night before flying on holiday. We chose the Holiday Inn as they offered a good airport parking + 1 night's accommodation package. The car drop off & collection (7 days later) was straight forward. The room was adequate and included the travel cot we requested. We also dined at the hotel. Surprised there was no room service, but we could take our meals back to our room (as travelling with our 6 month old son). Food was good, but a little over priced and the service was fine. If catching another early morning flight out of Stansted, we'd definitely consider this place again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clownf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to see that you found our hotel to be a 'safe choice' and we do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

As a Brand Standard Holiday Inn Express does not serve room service, however should this be a requirement for you in future please to enquire with our sister hotel - Holiday Inn.

I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to seeing you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Summary:
Great location on site, but the Premier Inn across the road is a better option. Bar is average, food is very poor. Don't bank on a good nights sleep with doors slamming 24/7.

Pro's:
On site for the airport, some good deals around 4 day parking which is ideal for short trips

Con's:
Food is dreadful - all microwaved and mostly inedible. Downside is there is nothing else nearby either. No room service either so make sure you eat before.
Shuttle - convenient to and from the terminal but at £4 each way is worth noting for families. You can't walk it either.
Rooms: All tiny rooms, malfunctioning TVs and dirty bed sheets
Wake Up Calls: The hotel refused to give me a 0500 wakeup for "liability reasons" - not ideal for an airport hotel!

If you absolutely need a room, make sure you have low expectations. Even as a loyal Platinum PC member I would rather stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allan P, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We do love to hear from our guests to ensure we continue to maintain our usual high standards.

A Shuttle Bus Service operates from 04.00am – 12.30am, every 30 mins from Hotel to Airport, and from 04.15am – 00.45am from Airport to Hotel. £3.00 each way is payable to the bus driver and children under 16 years travel free.

We do offer a wake up call service which can be set within your room. This is done by either using the telephone, or television during your stay with us.

I am sorry that our menu did not meet your expectations. Holiday Inn Express as a Brand Standard sadly does not provide room service however for future reference our sister hotel Holiday Inn does should this be something you would like to see during your next visit within our brand.

Your comments have been passed onto our team who all share the same vision as myself to ensure we continue to provide great hotels guests love!

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Chris Whiting
Senior Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews