We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies delight”

Lower Street Brasserie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: European, French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Elegant dining in the heart of Stansted Mountfitchet, offering modern French and English cuisine prepared using only the freshest produce. Relaxed atmosphere with an open kitchen, regular specials and attentive service.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Foodies delight”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My husband and I are foodies and decent cooks. The difficulty for us is finding a restaurant that we don't leave feeling disappointed and knowing we could have cooked better ourselves. This is definitely not the case here. So refreshing to find a restaurant that gets it right on all levels of service, food and ambience. The produce and ingredients are clearly sourced from high quality suppliers, because everything tastes super fresh. Totally fabulous ingredients and everything perfectly cooked equals dinning happiness. This is our second visit and we will most certainly be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Talisa777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    55
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stansted
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Management talks down to staff”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We had lovely starters and mains, but it was ruined by the maitre de talking to a waiter like he was 10yrs old. Constantly talks down to him which I found totally embarrassing. The desert was a 'special' raspberry chocolate torte which would have been lovely except it had mint in the base and it ruined the dish. Sadly it wasn't homemade and the maitre de again had never tried it to have an opinion. Night was tainted by management attitude to the staff .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annelise03, Manager at Lower Street Brasserie, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many thanks for your comment. We are sorry that you left us feeling that your evening had been slightly tainted. We continually strive to provide our customers with the very best dining experience and welcome any suggestions for improvement. I’m really glad that despite this you enjoyed your first two courses and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go and try”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

2nd visit as good as the first very friendly staff , good food, good wine in pleasant surroundings the bread is just lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VJac0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I ate here last night to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. We received an incredibly warm welcome and were given the option of sitting inside or outside. We chose the window seat inside. Service was excellent, all staff were polite, friendly and efficient. The food was absolutely delicious. Very tasty, very well presented and good sized portions. We enjoyed the prosecco too! We felt that our bill represented good value for money. We will definitely be coming back here, both together and with friends. I have already contacted a small group of friends about the ladies night deal, 2 courses for £10. The only minor quibble I could have was that the complimentary bread and dipping oil was only given to us about 3 minutes before our starter came out. It would have been nice to have it a little earlier.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honest-reviewer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

With the hype around the £6.95 pie Wednesday, I decided to take my partner down to the Lower Street Brasserie the other evening. I had the foie gras to start which is absolutely stunning following by chicken and asparagus pie. The service was faultless and the staff all seemed to be enjoying themselves. The French bread to start was a lovely touch and I can highly recommend the house red! Definitely worth a visit if you’re yet to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leedeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lower Street Brasserie also viewed

Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
Stansted Mountfitchet, Essex
 

Been to Lower Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing