We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Daphne's Cottage

'Daphne's cottage'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Daphne's cottage'
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
'Daphne's cottage'
Bedroom 2, with two single beds with the option of Zip and Link together to make king size bed!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stretton, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great cottage in a lovely little village with a great pub 100 yards away, the cottage has everything you need so comfy Fantastic shower. Little the owner is lovely and carnt do enough for you Will definitely recommend and will be going back soon

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre G
1 review
“great comfortable cottage”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My daugher and I have been delighted with our stay at Daphne's cottage and recommend it: comfortable, quiet, efficient shower, all really to make you feel like at home !
Liz has welcomed us and kindly gave us more information where to go. We have enjoyed visiting NT properties: Belton house, Woolsthorpe Manor, Hardwick, Tattershall castle, Gunby and Calke estates. We have also seen where Marguaret Thatcher was born. There are more properties around (not NT) that we would have liked to visit, hopefully next time :-)

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I had a lovely Christmas here in Stretton. It is a quiet village, though near to the A1. The house was cosy and the owners friendly and helpful. The nearby pub does great food and it felt like a home away from home. I had a great rest and found I had everything I needed.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good welcome and great facilities”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

On Rutland round ,walked to Pickthall and back.Great village pub ,the Jackson Stops.
Easy to get in to Oakham. /

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue N
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Liz was there to meet and greet us and made us feel welcome. The cottage has recently been done up and modernised and is very well-equipped . We couldn't ask for more. The location is handy for exploring Rutland/East Leicestershire and their small towns as well as Rutland Water.

Would certainly stay there again and can't recommend Daphne's Cottage highly enough.

Thanks Liz.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself.
Liked least: The A1 is close by and could be noisy. However, we couldn't hear it once inside so not a bother to us.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtr...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daphne cottage was the perfect place for exploring Rutland”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a very warm, friendly welcome and help was on hand. The cottage was spotlessly clean with a welcoming basket. For two elderly single ladies it was perfect – quiet and restful, with ample parking; easy access to the A1 and within a comfortable distance for Stamford, Rutland Water and Melton Mowbray. Food at the local pub was excellent and we'd love to visit again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing