We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“March 2014” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    145
    110
    57
    30
See reviews for
100
230
14
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely hotel with buckets of character. Though we had a room with a courtyard view and not one of the more spectacular lake views, the room was spacious with good facilities and I had one of the best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time. The food in the restaurant is à la carte, reasonably priced and an absolute treat, you won't be disappointed. The view over the lake from the terraced restaurant where breakfast is served is magnificent. We enjoyed a pleasant evening in the bar watching Sky Soccer along with several other sporty residents. We found the staff friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: I guess a lake view would be desirable, at a price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

If in this location, then Normanton Park Hotel is the place to stay. Great location next to Rutland Water, giving a tranquil, enjoyable experience. The quality and service for food is outstanding, from simple snacks on the terrace to full English breakfasts or wonderful evening meals all at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank JandJ475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I was going to delay posting my review, to give Best Western or the hotel the opportunity to respond, but having delved back further than I normally do on Trip Advisor, I feel it only fair to warn future guests against making the mistake of relying solely on the location of this hotel to have a relaxing stay. The very small room we were given was called the Lyndon - it is in the corner of the courtyard, with only a tiny window, high up and not unlike a prison cell. The carpet was gritty, cobwebs abounded, room smelled damp, toilet seat damaged and would not stay up, shower door leaked, not even provided with biscuits on the tray when we arrived. Staff were in-different at best. We had to put the chair into the wardrobe in order to access one side of the bed - it was previously covering the wall heater...! Health and safety does not rank highly in this hotel - they couldn't even be bothered to fill in the details on the
The only thing we agreed on was that the staff shared the opinion of the room being too small and dingy. There are so many reviews here complaining about poor standards of cleanliness and yet nothing seems to have been done to improve things, which simply shows a complete lack of respect for their clientelle.
Food in the Clock restaurant was reasonable - service was not and the wine we asked for wasn't available. Breakfast was ok - being a serve yourself buffet on one day (do not take the scrambled eggs - ask for freshly cooked) and waiter service the next. Staff treat customers as an inconvenience - this place really is a big disappointment for Best Western, who should really know better than to risk their reputation by keeping it on their books. The only saving grace is the location, but there are much better hotels in the area it would seem. It wouldn't take much to find a worse one.

Room Tip: Try a lake view - in a different hotel. If you do have to stay here, bring a duster, a vacuum, some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karter44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Normanton hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed one Friday night on a wowcher deal. The room was small, A very low ceiling which was quite uncomfortable when getting into bed but it wasonly one night! It was clean and comfortable and the usual amenities(tea and coffe, shampoo and soap) were plentiful The reception was not always staffed so a long wait when we asked a question about dinner which could have been avoided if the information was offered at check-in - we basically had to find our own way, but its not that big so not a problem really just a little disconcerting! We booked for evening meal 'what time would you like?' I asked for 7.30pm.' We only have 7 or 8.30 was the response!? Despite that the meal was fantastic. Really well cooked, plenty of it and a lovely setting. However it is a little on the pricey side if you pay for a full 3 course meal. Breakfast was serve yourself and everything you needed was there but don't go down late as the continental breakfast wasn't replenished after 8.30. Would go again but only on a deal

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romanlady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

When booking we were told there were no standard rooms left, only suites at £100 (B&B). The room was not really what I would consider a suite, not much bigger than standard rooms I've stayed in at other (much less expensive) hotels. Given its location, there really isn't a whole lot else around, and as we were attending a wedding on site it made sense to stay close by. Our bed was not very comfortable, low to the floor and was very noisy with even the slightest movement, making for a poor nights sleep. The catering at the wedding was very good, but I'm not sure if this is comparable to the rest of the food available at the hotel.
Breakfast was subpar, and we saw on at least one occasion staff bringing cartons of long life juice out to fill up the jugs (I'm sure other hotels do this, but it would be nice to keep it a mystery). Quite a limited selection, and although there were bagels available there was nowhere to toast them.
The saving grace of the room was that we had a nice view over the lake, however as the window wasn't sealed very well it caused quite a draft coming in when the wind picked up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xsimx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I agree with other reviews that the bedrooms are a little tired, but they are comfortable although we could hear the noise of the extractor fan in next door's bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff very pleasant and helpful, the young lady on reception loaning my wife her Apple charger.

The location is, however, simply amazing and superb value for money, we would happily go again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normanton
2.5 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.5 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
4.8 mi away
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel
Address: Normanton LE15 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Normanton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Normanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is situated in the picturesque county of Rutland, Leicestershire. Standing majestically next to the shores of Rutland Water, only 8 miles from the market town of Oakham, it offers easy access from the A1 and M1. This is the perfect venue for your leisure break, all your functions, meetings and events. The hotel is close to business centres and local attractions including the Great Hall of Oakham Castle, Rockingham Racetrack, Burghley House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Normanton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing