We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rockin weekend”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Uppingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2013

a friendly greeting as per normal and pleasant rooms ,place is looking a little tired and could do with a clean in some areas but its cheap and cheerful . and for a quick break in the middle of town its ideal .rooms are well equipped meals are quite nicely cooked by phillipe and the bar staff are friendly .can be noisy after hours outside but our bed was comfy , sunday night was a real treat with a band playing downstairs not everyones cup of tea but a nice end to a weekend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevelincoln1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

The staff certainly make this hotel which if truth be known is perhaps a little tired and jaded.

We arrived on foot around 4.30pm when the bar was relatively quiet and rather dark. The young man behind the bar similarly attired in all black checked our booking and took us to our room, well he tried to as it took him several attempts to find it. The upstairs is a bit of a rabbit warren of narrow landings and fire-safety doors as well as the ladies' loo!

Our twin room was clean and tidy with comlementary tea, coffee, bicuits and fruit. A nice touch. The beds however were a different story. They were basic MFI types with the most uncomfortable matresses with old fashioned springs that poked into your back no matter which way you turned. The duvet cover was so small that it couldn't cover even my slim 5'10" frame. luckily it was a warm night! There was a wardrode in the room but this was positioned so close to the foot of one of the beds that it wouldn't open more than a couple of inches. The en-suite bathroom was by comparison fully up to date.

The young barman had told us that bar meals would be available in the small dining room at the rear of the pub but when we went down at around 6.45pm the room was locked with the lights off and no one was behind the bar. We hung around for five minutes then decided to explore the town instead. We ended up eating at The Vaults pub across the square which seemed popular for bar meals returning to The Crown for a couple of drinks to finish. The beers are well kept Everards staples (Tiger, Sunchaser etc.) and the bar staff friendly though I couldn't help but feel that the bar itself was a gloomy place lit up only by a couple of fruit machines and a big plasma screen TV.

We left the next morning on an upbeat note as the breakfast was wonderful and our breakfast waiter friendly and attentive.

If only the hotel itself were as bright and cheerful as the staff then this would be a great place. I'd give them 5/5 but the accommodation itself is at best only average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich53y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The pub has a lovely local atmosphere with tasty ales and we were given a pleasant welcome by the landlord and other patrons. Room was clean. The toilet cistern was a bit noisy and the twin bed mattresses were lumpy.

The breakfast was tasty, however the sausages were a bit over-done which is a shame as they looked like they were high quality bangers.

For the price it was a very reasonable deal and providing you are happy with pub-style accomodation, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Keep double glazed windows closed if you don't wan to be disturbed by bells through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is just a review of a lunch time meal. Bottle of wine, a toasted roll and a meat pie. All cooked well, friendly staff and great value. Roaring fire helped the ambience and the cold day outside. Locals clearly love it too. Proper pub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just got back today from spending a weekend at The Crown Inn. When we arrived they told us they only had two single rooms in our names. However once I produced the booking details showing we had booked 2 x double en suites, these rooms were then made available. The stairs towards the room spelt of urine (probally because the pubs loo was located on the first floor). The carpets etc were really filthy, the room depressing and dirty. Having said that the bathroom was very clean.The celings in the hallway looked like they were falling down and urgent need of repair. The pub downstairs was a good pub with a nice atmosphere, however the dinner we ordered was very poor, then when we requested pudding the bar man told us it was a bit late to order pudding. This was at 8.15pm and the board in the bar told us food was served until 9.00pm, so we had to go without pudding, even though we had eaten there! Breakfast was also dreadful, teapot for x 3 with just one tea bag in. Luke warm greasy full english, to top it all the pub cleaner kept walking through the breakfast area whilst we were eating with a dirty mop and bucket.Just an awful place to stay. Last time we went to Rutland we stayed at Tithe Barn, yes we paid a bit more, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Situated in a village location, friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable bed and nice clean room. Quiet after eleven o'clock. Their full English breakfast's are excellent, I can also recommend their packed lunches with fresh fruit really nice and convenient. Overall no complaints I would heartily recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frorprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful stay. Enormously friendly staff, brilliant breakfast served with a huge smile by the lovely Phillipe. Clean, modern rooms retaining all the original old character, lovely attention to detail (fruit/water/tea/coffee/ mini products in the rooms). Had a brilliant time and will definitely come back. Uppingham itself is so beautiful and the pub is situated perfectly for everything. Quiet and lovely nights sleep. Couldn't fault it. Felt so welcome and the beer is fantastic and the landlord charming. Stayed 3 nights for a wedding and didn't want to leave!
Open fire, cosy and comfy and amazing value for money. Great Sunday lunches too.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are lovely, I saw two and both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermione c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Uppingham hotels
0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#2 of 3 in Uppingham
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Garden Hotel, Uppingham
0 mi away
The Lake Isle
The Lake Isle
#1 of 3 in Uppingham
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Apples in Rutland B&B
Apples in Rutland B&B
#1 of 1 in Bisbrooke
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: 19 High Street East, Uppingham LE15 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Uppingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Uppingham
Price Range: $94 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing