We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub grub”
Review of Brace of Pheasants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brace of Pheasants
Ranked #1 of 1 Plush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pub grub”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looked very pleasant on the web site and had some good reviews.
It was well off the beaten track. We had adjoining rooms in the annex which was just at the back of the pub. Rooms were average to large - cushion fest everywhere. Bits of random furniture, but a good settee. Bathroom good - bath huge, but completely negated as minimal hot water - basics! Creeper over windows needed a good trim. Bar doubled up as dining room. 1 guest beer sour, the other flat. Food was pub grub - no more. Breakfast was in a smaller room that could have been a lot cleaner - "rustic" does not equate with "dirty".
No reason to return.

Room Tip: Annex was Ok, but no hot water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    74
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
200
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had been wanting to go to the Brace for a while. Both the accommodation and menu looked ideal but we never seemed to be in the area. The opportunity came in late August on the way back from Devon, so we booked for one night. The Brace of Pheasants is located in the typically English village of Plush, in Dorset. Upon arrival the location didn't disappoint but we did think that the pub did need a bit of TLC on the outside and the thatch was a bit threadbare in places.
The room we had booked was spacious and airy with a very comfortable king-size bed and large en-suite bathroom with a bath that you could almost fit a small car in.
Having seem the menu on the website, we had booked in for dinner. Great locally sourced ales and the Wine List was extensive but fairly expensive. The dinner menu on the other hand was pretentious for a small pub. The venison was tough and the Trio of Lamb cutlets minuscule and expensive at £21. And the breakfast, well it was as if we had travelled back in time to the 1970s, the breakfast room was a bit dingy and we were amazed that from order to service was extremely quick but the toast took ages and was cold. It just needed a bit of refinement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Itchy306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stay in Dorset quite often but our usual stopping spot was fully booked so we decided to try this lovely looking pub. And we are so glad we did. We would definitely recommend the Brace of Pheasants and will certainly come back here. Really good 'pub' accommodation - our room in the annexe was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Would be lovely in the summer as it has a little terrace & table outside. The bed was extremely comfortable and a good night's sleep was had. The menu in the bar was quite varied - we only had the fish and chips but they were the best we'd had for ages - especially the chips! Good cooked breakfast in the morning too. Staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked last minute but still got a great room in the main building. Very spacious bedroom, big bathroom with a fantastic monsoon shower over a double bathtub. So quiet, no traffic noise at night, remote location which is nice. Go just to see the stars! We were concerned rooms in the main pub would be noisy as they are over the bar, but its no problem at all. Piping hot full English breakfast and cereal options too. Very friendly staff. We ate in the restaurant one night which was nice, make sure you book a table as they do fill up. Good ales and cider on tap. Local fare such as partridge and rabbit on the special's menu too. Ample parking. Good for exploring Hardy country, Dorchester and the Dorset coast. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ms24sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for one night and should have made it longer. Great rooms in converted annex ,would be fantastic in the Summer. Great food with local ales. Will go back. Tricky to find but rewarding
when found ,lovely hosts.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiffy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here for 1night and had wished we could stay longer was so relaxing. The staff were fantastic. We had on of the annex rooms which were great. Food was superb, they had a party on the night we were there and staff organised for all guests were fed before the party.
The only thing I would advise is it is a little difficult to find signage is hard to see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kryan727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My partner and I visited the Brace of Pheasants at the end of April 2013.

The room was located down an old skittle alley and it was very spacious and had clearly been decorated very well. There was a table and chair to sit outside too but it was a little chilly when we were there but we did sit outside briefly one evening and very nice it was too.

The bathroom had the largest bath I have ever seen and I did manage half a bath but with the bath being so large it was difficult to fill as it ran out of hot water. This is my only negative point and as it had a very large shower head fitted above the bath so this was not an issue.

There was a television with free view which was very nice to have as after a long day it was nice to just collapse on the bed and relax with a little television. The bed was comfortable and much larger than a standard bed so it was nice to luxuriate and stretch out.

The car park was more than adequate and despite this being a public house as well we never had any trouble parking.

The breakfast was lovely but it was the dinner which showed off the level of service one can expect at the Brace of Pheasants. On one of the evenings the item I wanted on the menu was not available and the other item I would have liked did not have a sauce I liked and the chef came out and offered to make a marmalade and fortified wine sauce and this made the chicken one of the nicest meals I have had. It was simply lovely and from one of the other nights I can also recommend the Dorset lamb. When I go back I want this chicken with this sauce again as it is definitely a treat.

I would recommend a break at this hotel. The meals were excellent and there were also some fantastic places to visit such as Clouds Hill and Hardy’s Cottage which were both within easy reach.

Room Tip: The Skittle Alley rooms were a joy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JelloRezillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plush
5.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#2 of 6 in Dorchester
181 reviews
6.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
267 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
889 reviews
3.1 mi away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
252 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brace of Pheasants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brace of Pheasants

Property: Brace of Pheasants
Address: Plush DT2 7RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Plush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brace of Pheasants 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol and Phil Bennett welcome you to our 16th-century thatched inn located in the heart of Hardy's Dorset. We have converted the old skittle alley and function room into four comfortable and stylish bedrooms. After a good night's sleep, you will be set up for the day with a cooked breakfast to your liking. Local ales tapped from the cask, wines by the glass and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brace of Pheasants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brace Of Pheasants Hotel Plush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing