We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food especially yorkshire pud and queen of puddings”
Review of Brace of Pheasants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brace of Pheasants
Ranked #1 of 1 Plush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Its easy to appreciate a Sunday roast after an invigorating walk in the breezy sunshine for the couple of hours beforehand. This hidden-away place certainly delivered it.
Really good fennel and tomato quichy pie to start followed by roast venison and all the trimmings. The meat was so-so but the trimmings - especially the yorkshire and the roast veg - were ace.

But it was teh queen of puddings that made this meal memorable: lovely toasty heap of meringue on a bread and butter pudding base.

Beer good, and I think local, but too cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked a weekend stay in early December 2012 via KGB Deals. This was our first KGB Break so we were unsure of what to expect but we had review the accommodation on trip advisor and liked the good reviews. Well, I can safely say the review rating is spot on. The accommodation was excellent. We booked a room in the original pub building and the room was wonderful. Olde worlde feel with a modern bathroom with a huge bath which my Girlfriend loved! You are stuck in the middle of nowhere so unless you travel out you have to eat there but.......be assured though that the food and service is excellent. The breakfast has good variety and the full English was very generous clearly using good quality produce. The Sausages were lovely. We didn't eat lunch there but we had our evening meals both nights of our stay. The menu is "gamey" Duck, Pheasant, Pigeon Venison etc but that is to be expected considering its countryside location. We had the “bubbly” cheesy mushrooms with bacon and garlic the first night for starter. Something so simple just tasted amazing with nice crusty bread to dip into that molten cheesy garlic sauce! We also both went for the Ale battered fish and chips for our main. It was thoroughly enjoyable and perfectly cooked. On the second night my Girlfriend could not resist the mushrooms again, I this time went for the Scallops on top of black pudding with a sweet chilli sauce. £10 for a starter is pushing it but it was absolutely worth it. I then had Lamb Cutlets for my main. I asked how it would be cooked and was told it would be served medium rare and indeed it was. It was perfectly cooked accompanied by generous helping of veg and lovely rich sauce. We had a few drinks and then shared a cheese selection which was delightful and rounded off our last evening nicely.
We were curious to see the separate accommodation and the manageress happily took us across to show us one of the rooms on the morning of checking out. I can tell you that you would not be disappointed, they are amazing, spacious and the baths (with shower) are huge! If you want a bit of extra privacy away from the main pub these rooms would be ideal. I would thoroughly recommend this for couples for short breaks. It’s about 20 minutes from Dorchester and 40 minutes to the coast, i.e. Lulworth Cove or Weymouth. Get out for the day and then return in the evening to a lovely warming village pub atmosphere, fine food and accommodation. :-)

Room Tip: If you want a bit of extra privacy and quietness, choose the rooms outside the main pub. But bare in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

If you go to Dorset, definitely go to this pub. It is a bit difficult to find, but more than worth the effort. It is in a beautiful village, and when we went it was sadly too cold and wet to sit in the garden. The rooms are super, but if you cannot stay, the food is certainly not to be missed. Everything is sourced locally, excellently cooked and presented. the owners and staff are lovely and friendly, too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanemilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ignore the slightly shabby exterior appearance because inside you will find a warm welcome and more besides .. we were celebrating our wedding anniversary & my husband's birthday and couldn't have been more delighted. Very friendly atmosphere, lovely bedroom (in the old skittle alley), good location for walking and outstandingly good food, both evening meals & breakfasts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freckles60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this after seeing it listed on Sawdays. We liked the look of the photos and booked it. I was impressed that we could book and pay for the room on the web in advance

We arrived late afternoon on a Friday and we got a genuinely warm welcome. It was a cold day and the fire was great. I was impressed immediately with the call ale barrels behind the bar. The Doom Bar was fab.

We spent a few hours just enjoying the bar before we even got to our room, and reserved the table in the old inglenook fireplace at the opposite end of the bar to the real fireplace.

We had one of the rooms in the annexe, which was very impressive. The room was spacious and fitted out to a high standard. The room was clean and made up nicely. The double width bath was a pleasant surprise. The bed was really comfortable.
It was a cold night and we had the room heaters turned right up, and end up walking in the middle of the night boiling hot. This was our issue, not the pub's, just wanted to let readers know that you don't need them on max.

We ate in the pub, and when we went back from our room to the bar at about 8pm, the place was full and buzzing.

My wife had the scallops to start and said that they were some of the best she had ever had. She had the venison as a main and was equally impressed. I am a vegetarian so had less choice, but the chef did not disappoint. The bubbling cheesy garlic mushrooms were a slightly different twist on a classic dish, but were incredibly tasty and moreish. My main was a lentil and chick pea dhal, accompanied by some potatoes. I wasn't sure what to expect from the menu description, but it was gorgeous. The veggie food was actually much better than the vegetarian restaurant that we had visited in Bournemouth the night before.

For dessert we had a treacle tart, which was also delicious.

The wine choice was good for a pub and the price reasonable for this quality of establishment.

Breakfast consisted of typical cereal & yoghurt options supported by cooked breakfast choice. I had simple mushrooms, eggs and tomatoes whilst the wife had the full works. This was good quality and well cooked, although my wife's poached egg had just lost its runny centre (this is being really picky though).

We loved this place and will come back for sure. We were also impressed to see other returning guests raving about it too.

I should explain that I did not give a 5 rating for cleanliness. Our room was spotless. The pub itself is very, very old and full of character so does not, cannot and should not have the same feel as a modern new build, so do not be put off but enjoy the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millsable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We'd booked the dinner, bed and breakfast deal as part of a visit to Mat Follas' restaurant in Beaminster. It had been three years since our previous visit and we were hoping that it was going to be as good as we remembered... And, it was. Sharon was our main waiter and bar server, and she was easy, good company. Both Phil and Carol put in appearances over our two day stay and they could not have been more welcoming.
Our room, in the converted skittle alley, was comfortable and well appointed. The food was simple and delicious, with the bacon at breakfast being perfectly cooked.
All in all, a fine Inn, run by good people. Make the detour and give it a go; you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosandLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My Wife and I stayed with friends for 2 days on voucher deal.

What can you say, just EXCEPTIONAL !!!!!.

GREAT Hosts / GREAT Rooms / GREAT Food.

WHAT ELSE IS THERE ?????

Will be back at some stage.

Well done all at BOF.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseskidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plush
5.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
195 reviews
8.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
926 reviews
6.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
343 reviews
3.1 mi away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brace of Pheasants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brace of Pheasants

Address: Plush DT2 7RQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Plush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plush
Price Range: $137 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brace of Pheasants 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol and Phil Bennett welcome you to our 16th-century thatched inn located in the heart of Hardy's Dorset. We have converted the old skittle alley and function room into four comfortable and stylish bedrooms. After a good night's sleep, you will be set up for the day with a cooked breakfast to your liking. Local ales tapped from the cask, wines by the glass and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brace of Pheasants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brace Of Pheasants Hotel Plush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing