We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Food, Fab Welcome!!”
Review of Brace of Pheasants

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brace of Pheasants
Ranked #1 of 1 Plush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food, Fab Welcome!!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

You get a lovely warm welcome, a lovely clean and well furnished, comfortable room and the food is to die for!! Their "Hunter's Pie" was amazing - so lovely I had to have it the next night!! You are truly getting away from it all here as you are in the depths of the Dorset countryside, but with lots of lovely places to visit all around you. We have already booked to go back and can't wait!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the annexe rooms that were lovely - look at the photos and request the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    73
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
198
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a long weekend in a room with a bath that was quite easily big enough for us both. It was spring and everything was pretty much perfect. The countryside is very beautiful - one day we'll return to find the Dorset Gap - and the coast is not too far away.

The bed/pillows in our room were incredibly comfortable. The food and wine in the Brace of Pheasants were very good and the prices decent. One night we headed off to find another pub in which to eat. There wasn't much point as the Brace was better. We'll be back when we can find someone to look after our children again!

Room Tip: Choose the room with the enormous bath - go on, you deserve it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlrobertwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We came back a year after our first visit and still love the place. We had the same room again which is still lovely and the food was epic again. We even had 3 starters between two of us because they were so good. We walked to the Thimble pub in piddle which is about 3 miles away to walk off all the food!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the former skittles alley are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbsy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at The Brace of Pheasants for a 2 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our room (in the converted skittle alley) was wonderful - the decor was stylish, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in and the bathroom was impressive. It had an enormous bath (the only drawback was that there wasn't enough hot water to fill it right up) and the big shower over the bath was lovely. The food (served in the main pub) was fantastic - something for everyone in the evening from fish and chips to whole sea bream and partridge / venison. The menu changed daily with new specials according to what food was available. Lunch was baguettes and breakfast was any component of the full english served in any way you wanted it along with wonderful Dorset muesli, yoghurts, lovely jams and toast. If all of this wasn't enough we have to give a special mention to the fantastic staff - to Sharon who made us so welcome, Chef who cooked so beautifully for us (and gave us some cooking tips into the bargain) and last but certainly not least Phil and Carol (landlord and landlady). We stayed in January and actually got snowed in so had to stay an extra night - our car got stuck up the hill from the pub too! If it hadn't been for the lovely welcoming locals (Bish in particular who gave us a lift back to the pub) and various others (including other guests) who gave us tips and help as to the best way to get home we'd probably still be there! Phil and Carol were so accommodating and looked after us really really well. Thanks for a wedding anniversary not to be forgotten! Highly recommended for a cosy, gastronomic break to get away from it all (but check the weather forecast first!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was part one of my 40th birthday celebrations two nights away with my partner. The pub is postcard picturesque! The room was stunning with a really comfy bed and a hard to get right mix of chintz and modernity... Loved the homemade rusks (as an ex South African) The food and wine was so much better than standard 'pub grub' and the breakfast was great...
We stayed up and drank in the bar with the locals who really made our stay!
We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited The Brace of Pheasants on a very quiet, damp and foggy weekday lunchtime, so it was probably at its least attractive. However, it is a very charming old pub and we had a really delicious lunch. I had scallops followed by venison, both of which were excellently cooked. I would certainly recommend it and would certiainly go there again. (The only minor negative was it was slightly on the chilly side, but I think that was because the fire wouldn't draw propertly).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainbowoverwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently spent a weekend at the Brace of Pheasants and can't recommend it highly enough. We stayed in one of the rooms in the old skittle alley and it was fabulous - big, comfortable, nicely decorated with lovely touches like a jar of biscuits.
The pub itself is lovely and a real cosy, country pub. Plenty of ales on tap and great food - I cant understand previous reviewers saying there is only game on the menu. Although we tried the venison and the rabbit - which were delicious - there were plenty of other choices including chicken, fish, risotto, steak.
Breakfast was also really delicious - with juices, cereals, jams followed by a really well cooked and tasty cooked breakfast.
The staff were very friendly and the area is absolutely gorgeous. Can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plush
5.3 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
179 reviews
8.8 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
876 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
George Albert Hotel
George Albert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Evershot
264 reviews
3.1 mi away
New Inn Cerne Abbas
New Inn Cerne Abbas
#1 of 2 in Cerne Abbas
247 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Poachers Inn
The Poachers Inn
#1 of 2 in Piddletrenthide
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brace of Pheasants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brace of Pheasants

Property: Brace of Pheasants
Address: Plush DT2 7RQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Plush
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brace of Pheasants 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carol and Phil Bennett welcome you to our 16th-century thatched inn located in the heart of Hardy's Dorset. We have converted the old skittle alley and function room into four comfortable and stylish bedrooms. After a good night's sleep, you will be set up for the day with a cooked breakfast to your liking. Local ales tapped from the cask, wines by the glass and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brace of Pheasants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brace Of Pheasants Hotel Plush

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing