We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarrassment for our tourist industry ”
Review of The Eye of Kuruman

The Eye of Kuruman
Ranked #3 of 3 things to do in Kuruman
Attraction details
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An embarrassment for our tourist industry ”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

This is such a stunning natural feature that we should be proudly promoting, however the people in charge clearly don't see it that way.

We found litter strewn everywhere, the toilets were broken and disgusting and everything else poorly maintained. The miserable lady taking our money had no idea what customer service is (no surprise) and couldn't care less about the litter problem. To top it all off, the terraced gardens are completely dead!

A very sad reflection on how much the people charged with looking after our natural beauty actually care about it.

When this is pretty much the only thing worth stopping for in Kuruman, it makes it all the more disappointing.

Shame on those in charge...

Helpful?
Thank cyrenaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    15
    9
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Weekend”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very pretty and interesting - it's amazing that such a little place can produce that much water... take some bread along with you for the fish

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank StevenandTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Beautiful site - shamefully neglected”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

After travelling all the way from Gauteng - this could be a wonderful Oasis-like stopover. Unfortunately - the park is untidy and poorly maintained. Although they charge an admittance fee (although only R 5 - or so...) - nobody seems to be looking after the place. Too bad.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marathon2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Take bread to feed the fishes!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a lovely little spot. Very pretty and tranquil. A visit will take 30min, hour at the longest. Take bread to feed the fish.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“to see the eye we had to pay 14 Rand”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we did not like to pay, just to see a pond, the lady-cashier was very unfriendly and told us to leave, she told us we had to pay; the parking was also private???

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank limburg353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eye of Kuruman also viewed

Kuruman, Northern Cape
Kuruman, Northern Cape
 
Augrabies Falls National Park, Northern Cape
 

Been to The Eye of Kuruman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing