We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cunningham Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cunningham Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cunningham Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Kuruman B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cunningham Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

After a long 12 hour drive, we received a very friendly welcome from the owners Bernice & Gert. We were shown to our room which was uniquely and exquistively decorated. Felt like a little piece of home and not just a place to stay at. The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious and luxurious. Each room had its own balcony adding to your privacy. We received a lovely hot breakfast, with also the option of cereals, yogurts, muffins, fresh fruit, teas, fruit juice and coffee. You can see that the owners really have your best interest at heart and are there to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. This is definitely a place to stay at if you are passing through Kuruman.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

With about an hour's notice we booked our overnight stay. We were warmly welcomed and showed to our room. The interior decor is definitely far above the general B&B, very tasteful with a lot of attention to detail. The tranquil garden and deck added to a very relaxing rest after a long drive. The hearty and stylish served breakfast set us up for the rest of the trip. This was very good value at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Nicely surprised by the tastefully decorated rooms and added touches.
Very comfy bed, great shower and relaxing large corner bath.
Decanter of port in each room is a very homely.
Bernice & her husband were very helpful.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LdeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were pleasenty surprised when we found this stunning B&B in Kuruman. We are normally not fans of B&B's because we like our privacy and space, but this place offered this and more! The rooms were stunningly decorated and spotless. The bathroom offered a beautiful corner bath, which was such a treat with the complimentary foam bath, and a big shower. They are also very affordable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurethe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solwezi, Zambia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We needed a place to sleep for the night on the way to the Kgalagadi, and followed the signs to this B&B. We almost turned back as you hav to go through quite a run down, old, dodgy looking area. When we persevered on we found the delightful Cunningham cottages and were very surprised.

-Clean, modernly furnished room
- White linen, fluffy pillows and big soft towels (blown away!)
- Small, personal touches that were awesome: sherry in room, toiletries, earbuds etc, complimentary water in fridge. Basically, a lot of attention to detail
- Very reasonable walk in rates (R1400 for 4 people, bed only)

The only small disadvantages
- I felt the area might have been a bit unsafe and the gate was left open all day (though left locked at night). Perhaps Im just used to the big city...
- The room has a security gate though it doesnt actually lock, just closes. So it may be a deterrent but is not very secure. I would not leave anything valuble in the room.

I can highly recommend this place as well as the Kuruman Spur where we found dinner (Absolutley EXCELLENT service and food, as well as management)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuruman hotels
1.2 mi away
Klipwerf Guest House
Klipwerf Guest House
#4 of 13 in Kuruman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kuruman Inn
Kuruman Inn
#7 of 11 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Linge Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Amaziah Guesthouse
Amaziah Guesthouse
#9 of 13 in Kuruman
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
1.4 mi away
Safari Travelodge
Safari Travelodge
#2 of 11 in Kuruman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunningham Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunningham Cottage

Property: Cunningham Cottage
Address: 24 Cunningham Street, Kuruman 8460, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kuruman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kuruman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cunningham Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cunningham Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing