We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoe bed at Red Sands”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuruman
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Sands Country Lodge
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at chalet 36 on 23 Dec 2013 and had a canoe king size bed(bed sagging towards the middle and not very comfortable). I reported this to reception and the owner and all I received was a joke about it. Not even a "Thank you sir, we will attend to it!"

I am disappointed after Red Sands came highly recommended by friends and family.

Food at the restaurant was excellent though!

Room Tip: Any one but chalet 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Simple but spacious accommodation, lovely setting. The breakfast was more than adequate although the lamb at dinner was a big disappointment. Drove around the small estate looking for the game but couldn't really find anything. Will definitely stay there again if travelling to the park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We arrived exhausted from Jhb en route to Mabuasehube to join family. We were welcomed & directed to our chalet to wash up before dinner.
At our chalet we were again greeted, even more warmly if thats possible, by a small tabby cat. She was friendly & very sweet but made no move to enter the chalet.
Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. The chalet was clean & spacious, the beds & bedding very comfortable, with Dstv for the kids & small verandah overlooking the area.
At breakfast we were joined by a very well mannered little bird who really liked the muesli. Unfortunately breakfast was not included in our package but was very enjoyable if a little pricey.
All in all a delightful stay, I would recommend it wholeheartedly. We felt truly welcomed by the staff, the other guests and of course the charming little cat. (who could resist?)

Room Tip: chalet 5 has the friendly little cat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We only stayed one night but what a fantastic experience!
The chalet was roomy, clean, well equipped and had a wonderful view.
The restaurant was a bit small but you can sit outside which is what we chose. The service was friendly and the food superb, if a touch on the expensive side. The vanilla milkshake is a must!
The highlight for me was a young cat that greeted us upon arrival at our chalet. As we pulled up, she came tearing out of the bush, meowing at the top of her lungs to get noticed. After devouring our leftovers and milk she went back into the bush but returned for breakfast with the usual fanfare. The kids fell in love with her immediately and they are already demanding that we return just to see her.
Overall, it was a fantastic experience and one that I intend to repeat numerous times.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed in a chalet, which was very clean and well equipped. Beautiful African design with a high thatched roof. Bed was comfy and warm. We also ate in the restaurant, which had a good selection of meals and fantastic salads. Breakfast was also included in the price. I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first stop en route to Namibia and we were so impressed with the clean facilities. The name is so apt because the scenery is a magnificent red colour. We were just sad to only see ostriches on our game drive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruPassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed over for one night en route home from Kgalagadi and it was a very welcome stopover. I agree with other posters who have mentioned the great staff but would especially like to mention Portia. I was astounded to note that she was a trainee because customer service from her was exceptional. The buffet is good enough to make a special trip for and the breakfast is also good and sustained us through the drive home. Accommodation was clean, comfortable and with everything that we required.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller55KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuruman hotels
0.0 mi away
Kuruman Inn
Kuruman Inn
#3 of 16 in Kuruman
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Klipwerf Guest House
Klipwerf Guest House
#3 of 13 in Kuruman
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cunningham Cottage
Cunningham Cottage
#1 of 13 in Kuruman
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Linge Guesthouse
#8 of 13 in Kuruman
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amaziah Guesthouse
#9 of 13 in Kuruman
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hedge Guesthouse
The Hedge Guesthouse
#4 of 13 in Kuruman
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sands Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Country Lodge

Address: N14, Kuruman 8460, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kuruman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Kuruman
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sands Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Sands Country Lodge is nestled amongst the Kuruman hills. Just 15km west of Kuruman, you will find a peaceful place to stay whether you are here on holiday, or on business. The Lodge offers camping & accommodation with it's renowned continental a-la-carte restaurant -'Kaufmann's Kitchen', serving some of the best food in the area. We also have a swimming pool to cool off on those hot Kalahari summer days. We are situated in a 1800 ha private reserve with 17 different game species. Guests are welcome to explore the reserve with their own vehicle or discover our bush trails on foot or by mountain bike. Red Sands is a bird watcher’s paradise with over 50 different species identified on our property. Red Sands is ideally located between Kuruman and Kathu, offering an excellent stop-over point for travellers heading to Namibia, the West Coast or the Kgalagadi National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing