We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grunau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Guest Farm
Certificate of Excellence
W Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Such a special place”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you are travelling north from the Cape to Namibia or the other way round, you will be hard pressed to find anywhere to break the journey. The White House guest farm really is a friendly and warm stop over that restores body and mind from the long drive. Not only is the history of the place fascinating (we were shown the little museum and given a lovely tour by Kinna de Wet's son) but nothing is too much trouble, dinner arriving to your room from 3 kms away on time and delicious ! We stayed in the side room of the White House itself. It is a compact small room but has everything - you can even cook your own meal in it - including aircon for the heat of the summer. A family with young children were in the main house (as opposed to the balance of the accommodation which is in little cottages) on the other side of the wall through which or over which we could hear everything, so advice would be, unless you are taking the whole house (four rooms) request a cottage, which is why we have to give 3 stars for sleep quality as - although it was not deliberate - we were kept awake by the neighbours. It's not five star but is certainly correct for what it is and terrific value for money. We'd certainly stay there again if the occasion arose.

Lovely walk up on to the koppie and around the farm to stretch weary limbs.

Room Tip: Main house rooms all en suite are large with high ceilings, our room on the side was compact but fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    25
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We booked as one night stop over while returning from Cape Town to Windhoek, and it turned out to be a very comfortable and nice stay. we reached very late and still they gave us warm and tasty dinner at our cottage. very quite and rustic environment and place was well stocked.We would love to stay there again, they have rose quartz mining and can buy them at the reception at very good price.

Room Tip: order the food well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valmiksoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at White House at Gruenau on our trip from Luderitz to Upington.
We found it a little bit disappointing. We planned to stay at the old house, but this was under renovation, so we got one of the lodges. Maintenance could have been better en the bed was old, as our backs confirmed next morning.
Very friendly host.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagu, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Due to unforeseen circumstances, we phoned late the afternoon and got helped for that evening. Although they were full, we were accommodated in their tents. What a lovely surprise?!
Very comfortable beds, awesome ablutions and views to dream of!.
We were even given some delicious rusks, which we used for breakfast.
Dolf and Kinna are exceptional hosts. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinx L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We'd had a long drive from Windhoek and found this place very last-minute, after consulting the guide book just before Grunau.

Wow! It's so great to see people who genuinely love hosting guests - Dolf and Kinna really need to teach the world about customer service and hospitality. From the beautiful warm welcome, to the surprise they gave us with the room, to the food parcel delivered to our room (make sure you take up their offer of a homemade meal) - everything was wonderful.

We only meant to stay one night but extended to four in the end. This is the kind of place where you can really forget about the outside world and relax in beautiful surroundings.

You must experience this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilkoxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this place in August 2013 since it was very convenient and on the way between Fish River Canyon and South Africa. The place is lovely and the owners are very kind. It's a very welcoming place and the food is great too. We had a perfect night of good sleep in a very peaceful and beautiful setting. Breakfast was also very fresh and complete. We will definitely stop there again if we're in the area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles-Noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place to overnight if you travel between South Africa and Namibia on the B1, or visiting the Fish River Canyons. The hospitality of the owner (and active farmer) is always exemplary, which is typical from this part of Namibia and you will feel immediate at home. You have a choice of more basic rooms (but equipped for self catering) outside the main farm house, or a room and on-suit bathroom inside the old restored house, built during 1912-15. The wooden floors and farm style kitchen creates a fantastic atmosphere in this tranquil place. Do not decline the offer to have dinner served in your room. It is an absolute treat of oven-baked roast leg of lamb, pumpkin fritters, green beans, gravy and rice, whatever is seasonal. Bon appetit! Braai/BBQ facilities are available, which is a great alternative to appreciate the outdoors and the millions of stars. This is the perfect end to a long day on the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the main farm house, but for a family with children and if you want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grunau
7.9 mi away
Vastrap Guest Farm
Vastrap Guest Farm
#4 of 6 in Grunau
27 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grunau Country Hotel
Grunau Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grunau
72 reviews
23.6 mi away
Goibib Mountain Lodge
Goibib Mountain Lodge
#2 of 6 in Grunau
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Savanna Guest Farm
Savanna Guest Farm
#3 of 6 in Grunau
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
Alte Kalkofen Lodge
#1 of 12 in Keetmanshoop
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grunau Chalets
Grunau Chalets
#5 of 6 in Grunau
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Guest Farm

Property: White House Guest Farm
Address: Grunau, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Karas Region > Grunau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Grunau
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing