We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
132
91
16
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
91
16
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone town infinity pool beach resort high tide close to nature organised taxis ocean view rooms are clean bit out of the way hadn t rooms are big meal times bar area is an amazing place relaxing stay quiet place the east coast
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I give only 4 because there were many works at the resort and the one pool and the restaurant was unable to be used and we hadn’t been informed about that. But I’m sure that when the works will be finished (they said in December) it will be the best and most beautiful place in Zanzibar. It’s a very quiet place, the rooms are big and well equipped. There are tourists from all over the world and the Belgian manager and all the staff have been very kind and friendly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gamby1-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We booked a week at Ras Michamvi through Expedia for the end of July, start of August. £1300 pre-paid, when we arrived a solitary Masaii guard stood on the padlocked gate. He told my taxi driver that the hotel was closed. My family including a young child were left stranded in Africa with darkness falling. It took me a couple of hours to find a new hotel,Dongwe Ocean View which was excellent, but needed a credit card payment in full. Expedia were of no help and even though they say that Ras Michamvi had not told them they'd closed down, a month later neither Ras Michamvi or Expedia have returned my money. My advice? NEVER use Expedia they can't be trusted,and DON'T risk visiting Ras Michamvi - you'll never know if they're open for business until you get there. If you are their only booking I guess they just close down and keep your money.

Room tip: GO to a better hotel
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DylanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This hotel is far away from any activity. Located on a beautiful spot, with good view.
We got a ocean view room, very good. Good air condition. The pool was fine, with some benches. The beach dosen´t have any sand between january-march, we didn´t know that. So we were little disappointed about that. The manager at the hotel was very nice, thumbs up for that! The waitress at the hotel restaurant were annoying, always asking if he could take the dishes, and so on.

Very good food at the restaurant, breakfast was medium.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 660krist_ferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017 via mobile

I really was looking forward to giving this hotel 5 stars but my last night was ruined due to disorganization...

First the hotel itself is beautiful, the location, the grounds, the staff... we extended our stay by 2 nights we liked it so much! The last night for something special I booked a sunset cruise.. this is where it all fell apart....

The sunset cruise is $30 a person, AND they tried putting us in a tiny canoe of a boat, it turns out the real boat hadn’t shown up. They didn’t really do anything other than say sorry for the mix up and take us back to the hotel. I’m sad that this put a damper on an otherwise spectacular trip.

I highly recommend staying here BUT book any excursions on your own or through a different agency to not end up in a let down situation as we were.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sylvansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Michamv B, Guest Relations Manager at Ras Michamvi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Sylvansa

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
It was a pleasure to host you, and we thank you for making a booking with us.
We appreciate all the good feedback you have given us, and once again we apologies on behalf of the Tour Agent that did not satisfy your experience.
We are taking your review as constructive feedback and to ensure that we will not use the same Agent again.
It was very unfortunate that our original contact had an emergency and could not make it.
If there is anything you would like us to do further about the matter, please do not hesitate to contact us

It was lovely to meet you, and we hope to host you again in the future.

Kind regards
Ras Michamvi & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

This is the perfect resort for people looking for a quiet, relaxed vacation combined with great service. The manger ‘Babu’ is friendly and dedicated to making your stay as pleasant as it should. Great chefs with special recipes, try their grilled lobster, it’s to die for!
Located on the eastern side of the peninsular, giving you the most amazing sunrises, beautiful white beaches to yourself, that infinity swimming pool overlooking the ocean and the tip of the peninsular is just 15 minutes walk North. Nothing short of amazing…

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean, best to see the sunrise as early as 5.45
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eunice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ras Michamv B, Guest Relations Manager at Ras Michamvi Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Dear Eunice,

It is always wonderful to read such lovely reviews, and we thank you sincerely for your compliments and highlighting all the good things about the resort.

It was a huge pleasure to host you, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Thank you once again,
Kind regards
Ras Michamvi & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews