We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paradise where you may isolate yourself totally”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kichanga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kichanga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A paradise where you may isolate yourself totally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

No tv no telephone no ac in the room that is decorated like Africa of the 1950's . Everything is made on site from the environment - ecology at it's best . Excellent staff and very relaxed atmosphere . Good kitchen staff and excellent meat dishes especially the grill . Very nice beach quiet and almost exclusive .
The mattresses are ancient and curve in towards the centre so you may end up having low back pain . The "sofa" on the veranda is also very uncomfortable ...you cannot sit and read a book for more than half an hour before your back starts to ache . I have brought all this to the managements attention and I am sure they will remedy the situation . If you are there for more than 4 days you start to feel the "pinch" i.e. the discomfort of the bed and sofa ..
Expensive if you compare it with other luxury hotels but I did enjoy my time there .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    128
    18
    11
    10
See reviews for
107
202
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed whilst on honeymoon for 4 nights. The hotel is lovely and the rooms and nice and very clean with good showers. Breakfast was good and dinner was ok but lunch was terrible. We had the pizza which was disgusting and very over priced then a salad and burger which were equally bad.

The drinks in this hotel are really expensive, it really put us off staying there as they were so much higher from the other places we stayed on Zanzibar they were even more expensive that back home!! They also had all the prices in dollars which made them even higher. Even soft drinks were way over priced, you expect that in a 5 star luxury hotel but not a hotel of that standard. Bit disappointing as the rest of the package was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dea Andrea,
thank you so much for your review. For your lunch I am really sorry , we are Italian so to say that our pizza is really bad for sure I will need to get back into the kitchen and see what has to be done.
Regarding the prices, Kichanga Lodge is a very remote place from town it is 70 km, so when we go and buy anything it is KM 140 , so prices maybe are a little be higher than town but anyone that stays here can understand that you don't just walk out the door and buy from a shop.
Our prices are for Kilimanjiaro Beer 500 ml is Usd 4.5 a cocktail is Usd 6.5 and a bottle of wine from Usd 21 giving a service a smile and everything you lived staying with us. I am happy you enjoyed all the rest of Kichanga Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent overall 7 days here in August, moving around a bit due to last minute booking and hence availability. Location is great, swimming super even at low tide in the lagoon, food excessively good (this was a problem as we overindulged as somewhat depleted after 9 months in Tanzania!) and it is really well managed. The bathrooms are outdated, toilet flush not working, showers very iffy and I really thought that the place and the great management Could make this a great possibility to develop an eco lodge and inspire the neighbours. Living in Tanzania it was pretty disturbing to see how excessive the tourist consumption and impact here in Zanzibar is - and this place is surely one of the better ones. Please please don't touch the marine wildlife on the snorkelling trips, the reef is dead enough already.

Room Tip: Talk to reservations and tell them what you are after. They were really helpful to us both in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beets, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

5 days in paradise! The flower leafs on our bed, the privacy, the silence, the beautifull cottage at sea/ with seaview, excellent food and services, private beach, blue water and white sand made our stay perfect! What a great place to hide, rest and absorb the beautifull nature in silence. And when we were into action the friendly staff in the hotel could recommend or facilitate all kind of activities like walks, biking, snorkeling, good restaurants, transports, daytrips, nice sunset bar/ dancing for in the evening and more... I was suprised by the possibilities as it seemed isolated at first sight. We really could create our perfect holiday in Kitchanga lodge. I wish I had bought a few more fabrics in the lodge as they were beautifull and were for good prices. But the inhouse tailor made a very nice skirt for me.. We can recommend this place!! And want to thank the people from Kitchanga for our beautifull memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mireille d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Mireille asante sana for such a nice review hope to see you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights/3 days and as soon as I arrived I regretted not being able to stay longer. You are welcomed with smiles and Jambos (hellos) as soon as you get there. It's extremely peaceful and relaxing, much needed after I had travelled through beautiful, but dusty, Tanzania for three weeks and had climbed Mt Kilimanjaro.

I was upgraded to an Ocean Lodge which was stunning. Food and staff were great and very accommodating. I was exhausted from the trek and was just looking for a nice place to relax by the beach and chill, and Kichanga Lodge delivered.

One negative I have to mention is they charge for wi-fi (and it's quite expensive), and they charge PER device (i.e. you are charged twice if you want it on your iPhone AND iPad) and you can only access wi-fi in the lounge by front reception. With all the free wi-fi throughout the country and the world, I was a bit alarmed by how expensive and limited it was.

The other small negative I would say (and I'm being picky here) is that the staff can be a little TOO eager to serve you. Management would ask me multiple times a day if everything was good and it wouldn't be unusual for me to be eating my meal with a staff member standing right beside my table staring at me as I ate. I'm all for great service but it was a little intense and off-putting at times. That said, I had a super relaxing time and would highly recommend the hotel. Very professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jc8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wow, what an experience. We stayed 6 nights in August and will always remember this place as very very special. Stunning beach and beautiful white sand. Fantastic food at all times, the warmest of African hospitality was extended to us by the staff and management constantly. The rooms are great, try for a beach front bungalow. The staff are beautiful. So helpful and kind and lovely to chat to. A special mention for George in the dining room who was so very kind to our friend who had hurt his back. The common areas are fantastic with big comfy day beds and chairs that once in are very hard to move from. Totally relaxed within hours of getting to kichanga. Great value for money. Thank you Nigel for this beautiful place you have all created. We can't stop talking about zanzibar and kichanga lodge. We will be back. P.S. a meal at The Rock restaurant is essential. Great seafood

Room Tip: Try for beachfront bungalow for the amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Robyn, thank you so much for such a nice review my staff and i are all very happy that you had such a great and relaxing time. I hope to see you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having stayed in similar places in Bonaire (Dutch Antilles) and Samal (the Philippines), we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. Kichanga is located in an enviable situation with a fascinating beach which stretches out for what must be half a mile at low tide. This gives exciting opportunities to explore the reef looking for starfish, sea urchins and to watch the fishermen catching that night's barbecued octopus or kingfish and creates a natural sea pool for daytime swimming. The service is excellent and carefully overseen, the difference between here and some other local hotels is palpable and all the better for it. There's a charming lady (Loveness) offering beauty treatments in a hut on the beach and you can walk for miles along the shoreline - a must is a visit to the Rock restaurant for lunch. We had a very pleasing few days and were sad to leave, I rarely feel so relaxed!

Room Tip: A beach front villa gives the sound of the ocean as the tide ebbs and flows, a garden villa the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at Kichanga Lodge, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review and it was great to meet you and see that you enjoyed your holiday in Kichanga . asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
1.3 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
1.5 mi away
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
17.7 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kichanga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kichanga Lodge

Property: Kichanga Lodge
Address: Michamvi 2424, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kichanga Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little resort with a private beach and beautiful charming cottages, surrounded by a luxuriant tropical garden. In perfect harmony with the natural environment, Kichanga Lodge is an unforgettable place for those who love nature and romantic atmospheres......... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kichanga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kichanga Hotel Michamvi
Kichanga Hotel Zanzibar
Kichanga Resort Zanzibar
Kichanga Lodge Michamvi, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing