We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Paradise : The Rock truly rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock

The Rock
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Rock Restaurant, just opened in Michanvi Pingwe, is an extraordinary seafood restaurant, located in a unique position, on a rock in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Serving up to 14 tables, all facing a wonderful terrace on the Ocean, the restaurant is connected to the main land by boat, within high tide, and reachable by foot within low tide. It is also easy reachable by sea if coming by boat from an excursion. Perfect for a romantic dinner for two, or for a memorable evening with friends or family, it is open for lunch and dinner and is available to be reserved for small groups and ceremonies. The Rock kitchen offers a superlative fresh seafood menu, including vegetarian plates and a kid's menu the service is informal but accurate and elegant.
After Life
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Paradise : The Rock truly rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Zanzibar is an amazing island, and this place just had THE best ambience, if you want a feel for paradise in it's truest form. Staff were amazingly friendly, the food delicious, and it is a place where gods would truly eat, as they over-look the earth.
Where else in the world are you being taken out by a small boat, to a rock, to eat and drink?
One of the Phantom Raccoon's favourite places in the world.

The Raccoon has spoken.... this place now has the prestigious PR-star.

PR

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phantom_Raccoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi Phantom Raccoon's , thank you for such a super super WOW WOW review. The Rock hopes to see you soon back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    447
    210
    75
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location, amazing food and just so romantic, Amazing. The best seafood and lovely service. If you are in the area, you really must go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneEarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi Jane thank you so much for your great review all the best from The Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic location with mouth watering food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Rock Restaurant, ooohhh my God it's beyond explanation. As the name suggests it's a restaurant on a rock in the ocean. Nothing more pleasuring than having dinner with a loved one surrounded by water. When the tide is in you have to use a boat to get to and from this impeccably amazing restaurant. The stuff are lovely and friendly. Bakari made our dinners memorable he was very professional and his lovely smile made us want to go back every time. The food was out of this world and very delicious although it was a little bit expensive. However, we did not mind paying more as the whole experience was unforgettable.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leymmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kichanga, General Manager at The Rock, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Dream came true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The rock was my dream, gracious Owner and amazing View and Sea FoodThe Rock is gorgeous! It's billed as a romantic dinner spot, but really, one misses the beauty of the ocean from the rock, if arrive after sunset, which is, in my opinion, the whole point of the place. You can get seafood anywhere in Zanzibar, but you can't get this view. Or the experience of dhowing out to your...
more

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sobeceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We left our visit to the rock til the last night of a 9 day stay in Zanzibar as all the great reviews led us to believe it would be a real treat and end our holiday on a high.
I am really disappointed with the experience we had. It can't have helped that we were the only customers in there but with the exception of our waiter who was an enthusiastic bubbly chap we were really made to feel like we were imposing on the staffs social get together.
There is one non fish dish on the menu - roasted chicken but I asked them to substitute the crab with chicken in one of their pasta dishes and this was done with no problems. Such a shame it was served freezing cold and was oily and bland. Once again left baffled by lack of flavour in zanzibar-ian food with all these spices at their disposal!?
My partner is a seafood super fan (hence why we went) and he said the crab salad and lobster main were just pretty average. The prices are a bit of a joke for such mediocre food and if what you are paying for is the experience then that surely needs to be addressed too. Agree with previous review saying to visit during daylight as the views are totally lost after sunset. Would suggest visiting upendo's instead who have absolutely nailed the atmosphere and innovative menu.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G0lfWid0w81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 
Paje, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to The Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing