We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KonoKono Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Beginning of December ....simply wonderful..peaceful,friendly staff,quiet,delightful cuisine and astonishing views on the beach and sunset from every part of the resort and by the pool!!!! Worth it

We wish you very good luck for the future of the resort!!

Room Tip: By the sea and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmadevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    56
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
274
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I'd like to keep this place as my little secret but it wouldn't be fair to you. This is a true gem. The accomodation is flawless, the staff super friendly, helpfull and motivated and the cuisine is worthy of a top restaurant. We had an excellent stay. We were allmost alone,due to the low season ( the weather was perfect though) and recent restart of the hotel, but that didn't mean we got less service. Go to konokono !!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Emma and Wouter, thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad that you relaxed in Konokono and that you shared the pleasure of your stay with us! Kind regards, Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Kono Kono. After nearly two weeks fo safaris on mainland Tanzania we enjoyed some days at this quiet and comfortable place early November. Only recently opened there were not many guests yet. Perfect pool villa at the beach front with romantic sunsets made the stay unforgettable. Excellent cuisine, service and interesting choice of affordable wines served by glass (at correct temperatures!) were the guarantee for relaxing days. The only detail we were missing was the possibility for do sailing with a hobie cat. Maybe there will be such facitlities in the future?

Room Tip: beach villa recommended (unfortunately only 4 available). Otherwise as close as possible to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter_t_xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Peter, it was a pleasure to have your wife and you here at Konokono. As a sommelier, I am very glad that you enjoyed our wine list! We really hope to see you again in the future, kind regards. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Konokono is a beautiful resort with beautiful villas and beach! The hotel comes with half board which was good cause the food is amazing! We had lunch ag konokono almost everyday too cause there is not much next to the resort which is great if u plan on relaxing (as we did on iur honeymoon) the stuff is really nice and always trying to help although some of them dont really know how to pour wine etc but they are all trying hard! The resort (re)opened at the end of september so it is basically brand new and so are the villas etc.! We did enjoy our stay very much!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank student75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Martin, thank you for taking the time to write a kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon. All the staff and I wish you and your wife all the best, hoping to see you again in the future. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in Kono kono for seven days then Essque zalu for three days and it was the best decision ever. Essque zalu is a beautiful hotel and the sea water is very clean but we found it to be very crowded with little privacy for relaxation.


Kono kono has ample space and their villas are private that you don't hear, see or notice your neighbors. Each villa has a splash pool so it gives an option not to mix with the crowds if you are not up to it. The staff was very helpful and attentive. You can arrange a massage in your own villa. The rooms are big with a nice sizable covered patio. The food was great, especially their Swahili menu. I must warn you though; the common pool is very deep that I almost drowned and thanks to Andrea who jumped in to save me.

The hotel is a bit remote but worth the trip. If you want to get away from it all, I definitely recommend this hotel.



To all the Konokono staff and their managers Peter and Romina; thank you for the hospitality, you made our holiday stay wonderful and memorable. A big Asatne!



S Mdhluli

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Mdhluli Sisters, thank you very much indeed for your nice review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the very near future! Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Oberosterreich, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have spent four wonderful days in this gorgeous and quiet place. Our aim was just to relax after our wedding and the Kilimanjaro trip and what shall I say...it was just beautiful. The villas have just been renovated and are very luxurious. The staff is very polite and the food is just delicious. The restaurant is only few meters away from the beach and you can enjoy a wonderful view while having dinner. It is the appropriate place to relax and enjoy holidays without too many people. The journey to stone town takes more than one hour and the streets are quite bad, so it is not recommendable to make a lot of trips to the capital, but it is really not necessary because you get everything you need in the resort...thanks a lot...we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Christoph, thank you very much for your nice review. You and your wife were our first guests the day of our re-opening: we will never forget you! We really hope to see you again in the future. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you need a holiday, like no music,no people, no mobile, but if 5 star service by the sea is a must, then here is the right place with a perfect service, lovely helpfull staff all around, very comfortable villas by the ocean are gorgeous. White sand beach and the blue sky and sea take you away from the rest of the world. And the hotel is very close to a fisherman village, which you can walk by the beach but no food there.
Konokono is very far to the center Stone Town it takes around 1,5 hours..and the hotel's private road is terrible, you waste 20 mins when coming ang going.
Instead of the road we had a great time great food, all 5 star in good quality service.
Thanks a lot to the manager Peter and his lovely italian assistant.
You must go there and taste the nature!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asante2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konokono Beach R, Guest Relations Manager at KonoKono Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Alper, it's been a pleasure to have you and your fiancee' among our guests. Great news: the new road to get to Konokono is almost finished, you must come back in the future and try it! We wish you all the best, thank you for your kind review. Romina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
31.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
17.0 mi away
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
#1 of 6 in Pwani Mchangani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 10 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KonoKono Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KonoKono Beach Resort

Property: KonoKono Beach Resort
Address: Michamvi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
#1 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — KonoKono Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kono Kono Beach Resort is located on the south eastern coast of Zanzibar; these 24 luxurious villas are only an hour's drive away from the Zanzibar International Airport. The breathtaking beauty of this side of the Island offers arguably the best beaches in Zanzibar. The property covers 48000m² and more than 40% is under the resort’s conservation program and has the rarest fauna and flora including wildlife such as monkeys, local deer, endemic bird species and supposedly the discreet Zanzibar leopard, which is believed to be extinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your KonoKono Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kono Kono Beach Villas Hotel Michamvi
KonoKono Beach Resort Michamvi, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing