We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort to your Saves list
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for a weekend with my friends who I was visiting in Zanzibar. It was absolutely amazing. The rooms were beautiful, and the view you woke up to on a morning was just like something out of a dream. Real paradise. Our rooms were huge, and clean with lovely bathrooms. Lazing by the pool/at the beach was very relaxed and peaceful and the selection of food and drinks on offer was great. Dinner was lovely and me and my boyfriend even got a birthday cake with the most joyous happy birthday sang to us ever. Really made the whole stay more special. Luckily for us, it was quiet season too so we didn't need to check out of our rooms the next day. We could relax by the pool and leave when we wanted to. I'd most definately visit here again, it really ticked all of the boxes.

Room Tip: Facing the sea gives the most beautiful view and is still very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tails83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    21
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
46
104
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneina, Darfur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is located in a perfect setting on the bay on the SE part of the island. The bay is great for anyone interested in a nice long swim or parents with kids since there are no waves with which to contend. The atmosphere is comfortable and the surroundings luxurious without any fuss. Brad and his team have struck the right balance. The food, service, etc was great. We have traveled far and wide and hope to return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: All are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the good life! The photos show how brochure-perfect the setting is, but so are a lot of other places. The difference here is that the staff are wonderful. Friendly, efficient and helpful, they add an extra dimension to a holiday, making you feel that, albeit temporarily, you have made a connection.

Ali was calm and authoritative and only had to hear a wish expressed to grant it - a fresh coconut from the tree? A sprig of edible seaweed? No problem. He supervised an excellent team. As did Ally in the bar. And Godfrey was a smiling, informative presence in the restaurant - and in the bar for England v Poland! I've mentioned the three we talked to most but all were great and the behind-the-scenes staff provided clean and comfortable surroundings and great food. Brad, the manager, and Simone, the incredibly knowledgable receptionist, were around a lot of the time too and added to the family atmosphere.

Things we really enjoyed - canoeing to the mangrove swamp (do it at high tide to enjoy all the little creeks and at lowish tide to walk over the exposed sands to see the crabs scuttling around); snorkelling with Brad - and his video camera; drinks in the bar watching the sunset; walking on the beach at low tide (it goes out a long way) and seeing all the creatures there, especially rewarding if a local is out there too; chatting to the fishermen as they cleaned their catch.

Excursions are easily arranged with taxis and guides provided. It's a peaceful and beautiful resort but you have a choice of relaxing all day or doing something more active. Either way, the staff will be there to help you enjoy yourself in the way that suits you best.

Room Tip: The rooms are ground and first floor with about 10-15 steps to the upstairs rooms. Upstairs is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyndaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I can't complement this hotel enough. We went there recently with our two children (5 and 9) and had an absolutely marvellous stay. The manager, Brad, is amazing. He took us on a safari with dolphins personally and helped our children swim them them - it was an unbelievable experience and, to top it all off, very reasonably priced. The rooms are great, the food is outstanding (my husband raved about it and he is one of the fussiest people I know) but what really makes it special is the staff. They are fantastic - all of them! For us special mention, has to go to Ali who served us throughout our stay and Ally at the bar who also took care of us a lot. As I said, all were great so it is hard to single out people but these guys were special.

My daughter's 10th birthday occurred while we were there and they arranged a special celebration and cake - without charging us for anything! We even had a trip on a Dhow which was complementary because they liked our children! Also, I have to say, one of the really good points about this hotel is the size. Given they only have 20 rooms, even if they have full occupancy (which they did when we were there), you never feel crowded. There are always plenty of beds by the pool and beach. To top it all off, the views of the sunset from the hotel are amazing!

We would love to go there again - and hope we will have the opportunity soon. It was one of the best places we've ever holidayed - without a doubt. Thank you Brad and staff for a wonderful, wonderful time!

Debra

Room Tip: If you have children the ground floor is good as you can go directly to the pool or beach. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We could not have chosen a better place to wind down after a fantastic safari! Fantastic staff, tremendous food and superb location. My son and I particularly enjoyed "beer o'clock" with Brad while watching the rugby/cricket in the bar, but every aspect of our stay lived up to, or exceeded our expectations. Thanks to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedupwithba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

While planning a family holiday in Zanzibar we picked Michamvi off the internet and am delighted to say it was one of the nicest small resorts that we have stayed at. It's peaceful and stunning location and absolutely everything from the welcome, the staff, the accomodation, food and ofcourse the sun, sand and stunning beaches just made it perfect. I would return to and recommend Michamvi in a heartbeat!!! Thanks again.

Room Tip: View from all the rooms is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just came back from our honeymoon in Tanzania, we spend the last 5 days at Michamvi. The staff of Michamvi really transformed our holiday into a honeymoon. They made us feel very welcome, as if we were guests in their homes. The service is very personal and every single member of the staff feels responsible to make your holiday the best holiday ever. You can really tell they enjoy working there. The food was excellent, the views were amazing, the maintenance on the building is very up-to-date and the tours/trips with Antony are the best on the island!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
2.2 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Michamvi
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
17.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
22.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 166 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ras Michamvi Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Breezes Beach Club & Spa, Zanzibar
0.3 mi away
Boutique Hotel Matlai
Boutique Hotel Matlai
#2 of 6 in Michamvi
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing