We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Bay Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Michamvi
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunset Bay Bliss”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I've travelled to Zanzibar several times over the years and stayed in different resorts but none has come anywhere near to Michamvi Sunset Bay.

The resort is managed by Brad Cousins who is one of the most accommodating and affable people I have ever encountered in the hospitality business. From the onset Brad (and indeed all of the staff) made our comfort and enjoyment a priority.

Anton arranged trips and excursions (snorkelling, visiting the Colobus monkeys, swimming with dolphins etc.) at the drop of a hat and at very reasonable rates.

The staff were pleasant and efficient at all times (especially Ally the barman!) and the service in general was excellent.

Combining this with the most beautiful sunset display, this is a resort not to be missed if you are holidaying in Zanzibar.

Thank you everyone at Michamvi for making this holiday one of the most pleasent and memorable ever.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    24
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
60
123
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My fiancé and I had a wonderful time in Zanzibar because of our stay at the Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel in October 2012. As this was our first trip to Zanzibar, we really didn’t know what to expect there. We were met at the airport and whisked to the hotel. Once there, Brad and Anton met us with drinks and showed us around the amazing property and told us about all of the activities available to us around the island.
The small size of the resort – twenty rooms – and its’ gorgeous location on the beach really made this trip special. All of the rooms have an ocean view and were extremely comfortable. Each day, Brad, Anton, and Simone helped us to plan our excursions or just make sure we had a wonderfully, relaxing day at the resort.
I was worried about the meals each day, as breakfast and dinner were included. My experiences at all-inclusives in North America left a lot to be desired! I was happily surprised how diverse the menus were each day for a picky eater like my fiancé. The food was amazing, and they changed the location of dinner each night so it felt new and special. We especially enjoyed our last night eating on the beach!
The staff made sure every trip we took was unique and tailored specifically to our needs. Our snorkeling trip arranged and led by Anton was the best snorkeling trip we ever had! Even the famed Safari Blue paled in comparison to our trip with our personal guide Anton from the resort!
Our week spent here was unforgettable and we will definitely be going back! We thank all of the staff for their friendly and amazing service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvongo
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hospitality and personalized service is what makes Michamvi Sunset Bay stand out from the rest. Being small and intimate I think is its magic, as well as being set in the most beautiful, unspoilt and natural tropical surroundings... from the first step you take from your room onto the private beach!!! Such a huge selection of places to visit and experiences to dive into... go for the boat trips and snorkelling ... every day, guys!… and an absolute must is to "swim with the dolphins"! (thank you Tony). Stone Town nearby, is an enormous wealth of history, spices, trade and culture, well worth a visit! The wonderful thing is, you can choose absolute peace, tranquillity and pure solitude… or join the busy social vibe and party as much as you want to. The warm, friendly and experienced staff really go out of their way to make a stunning holiday come together. The food is excellent (especially the braaied slipper lobster!) and is all so well prepared and presented with exquisite detail. The rooms are great …air conditioned, quiet and private. You will enjoy the friendly locals too. Then, after this amazing and enchanting gap… its back to the real world!
Thank you to Brad, Simone, Tony and all your wonderful staff for an amazing touch with Zanzibar!

Room Tip: All very well placed , but ground floor probably better for us as the rooms are right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I can only second the many positive reviews this resort has achieved. After a great, but hot and dusty safari through the southern parks in Tanzania, nothing could be better than a few days relaxing at Michamvi.

The staff was excellent, the service superb and nothing changed when we became two of six people remaining at the Michamvi. Same great, friendly service, same great selection of food, same excellent maintenance of the facilities - even the beach sand was raked each morning.

Is there any way this facility can be moved closer to the west coast of North America!!??

Room Tip: Some people suggest the second floor rooms for their views. We enjoyed the ground floor with easy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besthesda
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent place to visit. This was my second trip to Zanzibar and this resort is so much nicer that the first one I booked last year. The staff is very helpful and always welcoming. The rooms are in excellent conditions. The private beach is great for swimming and jogging around. The internet access is free and quite fast for the island. Menus are enjoyable with a great swahili buffet on Friday night. Highly recommended and we will return for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you want to relax and just enjoy the magical setting around you this is the place to be!
We had the most amazing time and would go back when ever possible! The rooms are beautiful, the food is amazing what more do you need! So if I where you, book your accomodation, the best views are on the top floor, and just sit, chill and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

HI i currently went on holiday to Michamvi Sunset Beach in Zanzibar, i would just like to say what a fantastic time my wife and i had . The staff are so friendly and the food is great, there mind blowing activities for young and old . i would recommend this destination for all who are looking to have a great time , Thank Brad Cousens ( manger) ,Anton a.k.a"Dutchie"( events manger) and to all the Michamvi staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Michamvi
15.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,567 reviews
31.6 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
20.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
16.4 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,583 reviews
0.5 mi away
KonoKono Beach Resort
KonoKono Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Michamvi
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort

Property: Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort
Address: East Coast, Michamvi, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Michamvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Michamvi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Michamvi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Michamvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michamvi Sunset Bay Hotel Michamvi
Michamvi Water Sports Hotel
Michamvi Sunset Bay Resort Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing