We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Douaumont
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Fort Douaumont
from $276.20
More Info
from $4.41
More Info
from $269.98
More Info
from $292.67
More Info
Reviews (1,124)
Filter reviews
1,124 results
Traveler rating
622
432
53
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
622
432
53
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide piece of history interesting place interesting visit paper guide worth a visit gun turrets self guided first world war verdun battlefield lives lost german soldiers fort germans site french shells
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,124 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2019

This is a great way to learn why war really is hell and no one wins, but everyone looses. A great experience for a really low price. If do not know what WW1 was about this will help.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mikervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort_Douaumont, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Douaumont, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

Good audio visual tour, explained a lot about the Verdun battle. Wear warm clothing it’s cold and damp. Huge fortress built to repel German attack that ultimately failed due to improvements in weapon technology. Very reasonably priced too.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 454stevef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort_Douaumont, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Douaumont, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019 via mobile

Preservation and restoration of this fort is extensive and well done. The audio guide is detailed and informative. All worth the entrance fee.
However, much more work needs to be done to keep this for the future. The amount of water incursion is forming stalactites and stalagmites. The damp and somewhat musty environment may not be a place for those with breathing problems.
Having a jacket or sweater and socks is recommended.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Knot2Worry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort_Douaumont, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Douaumont, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Thank you for your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

We toured this as a group, about 1/2 history buffs and about 1/2 not. The site is moving to those of us who knew the history of the battle and the fort.

The grounds are stunningly scarred over a hundred years after the battle of Verdun, reflecting the tremendous bombardments sustained by the fort. The surrounding territory is stitched by trenches and bunkers.

Beware of territory marked as "live firing range" for the French Army.

The non history buffs found the tour of the old fort "creepy", but the nearby town of Verdun made up for that.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank NavalHistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort_Douaumont, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Douaumont, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

We arrived too early because we had to catch a flight, but I wanted to visit and I wanted to show my kids. As we were leaving, tour buses started to arrive - I'd guess it was around 8:30-ish. So we weren't able to go inside, but we were still able to see the battle scars, bombed earth, gun turrets, and such. It's a deeply moving place to visit.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank chamdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort_Douaumont, Guest Relations Manager at Fort Douaumont, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2019

Thank you for your interest. See you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews