We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox Inn

The Fox Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Felpham
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Fox Inn is a traditional English village pub with oak panelled walls covered in historic pictures of village life and a large beautifully kept beer garden. If you're a real ale lover than you won't be disappointed, as there are six real ales on offer and a cask cider. There is also five lagers and over a dozen wines available by the glass, so there should be something to suit everyones! As well as good beer this pub is known for it's food. It serves great traditional pub favourites for between £6 and £12 plus there is a specials board where the chef can show his creative side. If you are looking for a traditional pub that is not a chain or gastro pub then look no further.
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food was good. There was a choice of meat free dishes. Don't let the menu outside the door fool you, the specials board was good and so were the deserts.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    106
    43
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wide choice of food compromised by penny pinching regarding accompanying extras to the main meals. For example with our steak meal which was served with chips we had to choose between mushrooms OR tomatoes, not both !!!!! With another meal substituting salad for peas added another £1 to the overall cost.
Quality of the food was good and service was prompt.
There was a pleasant garden area which was spoilt by having to access it via the smoking shelter which incidentally appeared to contravene the enclosed smoking area regulation !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couzensclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxFelpham, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We feel we should explain with regards to your comments on "extras" . The steak dish you refer to was originally served with grilled tomatoes however we had a lot of requests to swop the tomatoes for mushrooms because they didn't like tomatoes so we decided to offer the customer the choice of tomatoes or mushroom on our new menu, as we thought it would be more helpful, looks like being helpful has not been helpful for us in this case!
With regards to changing your peas for salad, most places will charge you for a side salad which is normally around £3. Salad is a lot more expensive than peas, so to give you a worthwhile portion (no just a garnish size portion) we charge a £1 . Again trying to be helpful and more flexible with our menu has given you the wrong impression.
With regards to the garden access, there are two entrances to the garden, one at either end of the pub. It is difficult to please everyone, we are not smokers oursleves but as a village inn with a good regular local clientele we had to consider their needs. When the smoking ban came in we had a large number of smokers who used the salon bar, so this is why we have the area off of this bar.

I hope this has explained the niggles you had and hopefully you will now understand the reasoning behind the decisions we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been many times, never once a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Its so nice to feel you have got value for money with a friendly service, they have fresh sea food on the special boards as well as the usual pub grub. I had linguine with clams and mussels this week which was amazing. I would recommend this pub to anyone who is looking for good honest fresh food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Another visit when staying at B/B's. Took grandson this time who enjoyed the Fox Cub menu. Good food served by very pleasant staff.
We always eat there when staying in Felpham.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shee37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great family meal had here when we stayed for a short break Summer 2013. They have a kids menu but also have some dishes from the main menu, but for smaller appetites. The sea food platter and scampi and chips are definitely worth trying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Din B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox Inn also viewed

Bognor Regis, Arun District
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing