We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Welcome”
Review of Brownber Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brownber Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

A superb B&B. Hilary, the owner, came out to welcome us on arrival. The offer of tea and cake was appreciated after our jouney down fromEdinburgh. The bedroom was beautiful and very comfotable. Hilary gave us a list of local places to eat and we chose The Black Swan in Ravenstonedale - only 5 minutes away. It was excellent. After a lovely breakfast we had to get on our journey. We would like to visit for longer next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westminster15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Brownber Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

Fabulous B and B. We were welcomed warmly with coffee and homemade cake.Our dog was welcomed just as warmly and able to share our room - a lovely room not just one that is allocated to people with dogs of inferior quality as with many other'dog friendly' establishments.
Wonderfully helpful owners, superb comfort and decor, great breakfast and beautiful walks directly from the front door. We had a really relaxing stay - wish it could have been longer but we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brysoniles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic B&B. My husband and I stayed there with another couple and they enjoyed it too.
In the evening we enjoyed some wine on the terrace enjoying the great views and tranquility of the location before going to a nearby village for some dinner.
Breakfast was great too; good choice of items for a cooked breakfast and pleasant dining room again with views.
There is lots of local information and maps available so we were easily able to plan a walk from the front door through the beautiful countryside.
Can't wait to go back again soon.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room to enjoy the views even more.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough.
The attention to detail is refreshing; Hilary's outstanding helpfulness is a real breath of fresh air.
The location, is beautiful, with views of the dales from the second room we stayed in, the first was a family attic room, limited view, but very comfortable,
Nothing was too much trouble, the breakfasts were delicious, I shall miss the "perfect" bacon tomorrow morning.
Many many thanks to Hilary and Andrew
xxx

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karanh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just returned from a first visit to Brownber Hall - sadly only for one night because it was fully booked from the following day. I chose this place for the night of my mum and dad's 60th wedding anniversary and it was absolutely perfect. The setting is just beautiful (even in the rain!) and wonderfully peaceful. Hilary's hospitality is second to none - she immediately made us feel comfortable and welcome from the moment we arrived, starting with tea, cake and a very thoughtful anniversary card through to our reluctant departure after a great breakfast the next morning. I just wish that we could have stayed longer and can't thank our host enough for making the occasion feel very special. Both my mum and dad say that they'll never forget it...

Room Tip: It's worth paying the small surcharge for a more spacious superior room with a fantastic view!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hosts put a lot of effort into ensuring guests are very well looked after. The Hall itself and the surroundings are very attractive, and breakfasts are very tasty using local ingredients.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed a night en route from Bristol to Scotland as a half-way stop and as it is only 10-15mins from the M6 but in the beautiful Dales. Drew and Hilary gave us a wonderful welcome and we ate well at nearby Ravenstonedale. After a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast we were suitably refreshed for our onward journey the next day. Many thanks to both and see you again soon! ( P.S. Trust the key arrived safely! )

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbiggin-on-Lune
9.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,629 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#1 of 5 in Ravenstonedale
551 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nateby Inn
Nateby Inn
#1 of 1 in Nateby
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownber Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownber Hall

Address: Newbiggin-on-Lune, Kirkby Stephen CA17 4NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkby Stephen > Newbiggin-on-Lune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newbiggin-on-Lune
Price Range: $114 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brownber Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brownber Hall is a magnificent country house of unique character built around 1860. Set amid beautiful rolling countryside near the village of Newbiggin-on-Lune in Cumbria, it is well away from the nearest main road but easily reached from main routes. Brownber Hall enjoys panoramic views across open farmland to the Howgill fells and North Pennines. Guests can enjoy these views while relaxing on the terrace which extends across the front of the hall. We are licensed and stock a selection of wines and ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Brownber Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing