We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish at good price”
Review of Crown & Anchor

Crown & Anchor
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Crown and Anchor is open for daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner 10am till 9.30Pm. Private dining on request. Function room available for hire.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh fish at good price”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had a lovely meal sitting outside by the river. The 2 course Fish Plus menu is excellent value and offers a good choice for both courses for £10.95. We had whitebait, mushrooms mornay, Smoked haddock with mash and spinach and Thai crab cakes and it was all really tasty. Service was prompt and friendly. Only gripe was the price of the wine. £15 for the cheapest bottle of white wine to accompany the fish was way too much in a pub.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SussexRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    93
    37
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Totally different inside”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the front it looks like it will be a not great pub. You walk in and the decor is lovely and the atmosphere warm and inviting. We sat outside the back, overlooking the boats. Great baguette and great service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LFS1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“perfect place by the river”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

just had a delicious crayfish & prawn baguette made to my order Cheers to the staff & chef. very friendly pub.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daju66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
Level Contributor
236 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice food, good views.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have been here several times, food always been good. This visit however, it wasn't so great. Nice starters of chowder and mushroom gratin. Mains were a bit bland and we had to wait a long while. Waitress was apologetic though! I apreciate they had been frantic as a festival was on in the area today. Not bad prices, starter and main for £10.95. Will visit again one day as I love the outlook over the water and a nice laid back feel about it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Princess90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great terrace over the river”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went as a family and the staff were very helpful in getting my partially sighted mother-in-law to the table. Lively atmosphere, without being over noisy. Good food and a fantastic view over the river.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown & Anchor also viewed

Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex
 

Been to Crown & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing